Day 114 / 366 – Gardenia

Another end of the day photo…

I picked this less than perfect, but still gorgeous gardenia the other evening… I was outside with my camera and I thought I’d experiment to see what I could capture in such low light, with no tripod and just the car to lean on… πŸ˜‰

- Gardenia.. low light, no editing -

Once I realised that I wasn’t going to get a gorgeous photo, I decided I’d do some editing in GIMP.

- Edited using white balance and equalise buttons -

I like the way this brings out some colour in the flower centre and on the ‘imperfect’ spots.

- Edited using White balance and colourise -
- also edited using White balance and colourise -

I quite like the coloured ones.

The photos were taken at 1600 ISO, so they are quite grainy, but it was fun to experiment πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Day 114 / 366 – Gardenia

  1. It’s hard to know what to do sometimes, isn’t Robyn? I think editing can give some beautiful variations, just like you have achieved. Perhaps, it’s a matter of “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”…
    Without having seen the subsequent photos, I thought the first was perfect, with soft colours, and then I saw the others with much sharper images.
    Still I love both the first and the last! Beautiful work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

