Alfred Sisley – Impressionist Painter

Over the past few days I’ve been perusing artworks from the very broad timeline 1750AD – 1920AD.  My reason for doing this was to help a friend with a survey to find my favourite artwork from this broad period.  It’s very difficult to choose a favourite… there are so many!!! ..and of course they are so varied.  I did choose one for the survey… Van Gogh’s ‘Lane with Poplars‘. I like it a lot.

While perusing, I was reminded of an artist whose work appeals to me very much, Alfred Sisley.

Alfred Sisely (30 October 1839 – 29 January 1899) was an Impressionist painter.  Some of his friends included Claude Monet and Pierre-Auguste Renoir. He was very consistent with his dedication to painting landscapes, en plein air, not often deviating from this subject matter, although there are a few still life paintings sprinkled throughout his body of work.

Sisley painted some 900 paintings in his lifetime.

His painted skies are amazing and I find it very hard to choose a favourite from among all of his paintings.  I have had the great pleasure of viewing a Sisley artwork up close, at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra, earlier this year.  I enjoy his use of colour and consistent use of brushstrokes.

Here are a couple of his artworks to share.

Sisley, Flood at Port-Marly, 1876
Sisley, The Terrace at Saint-Germain, Spring, 1875

To view more artworks and to read more about Sisley, pop on over to alfredsisley.org

13 thoughts on “Alfred Sisley – Impressionist Painter

  1. “It’s very difficult to choose a favourite…” – this must be the understatement of the century! 😉
    I wouldn’t know where to start – I suspect it would be difficult to pick a favourite artist, let alone a favourite artwork!
    One of my favourite pieces, simply because it had such an impact on me when I happened on it in London’s National Gallery, is Paul Delaroche’s “The Execution of Lady Jane Grey” – I left the gallery but actually turned round to go back for another look to make sure I’d seen what I’d seen. On the other hand I also know of a small work in York museum by an artist called T. Barthel entitled “An Aside at the Theatre”, 1892 which has captivated me.
    Good luck with your deliberations (I hope it doesn’t keep you up at night)!

    Like

    1. Hi Stephen… yes difficult 😀
      I never imagined I might need to one day pick one for any reason. However, it’s so good to research, to even try.
      Thanks for the comment and your thoughts on those you like. I’m excited to take a look now and find out more. Appreciate your thoughts.

      Like

    2. Hi again Stephen,
      I’ve been investigating the Paul Delaroche painting “The Execution of Lady Jane Grey”
      Thankyou for bringing this to my attention… it’s not one I’m familiar with but am glad I know about it now.
      It would have been amazing and possibly distressing standing in front of this artwork. I can see why you looked twice.
      To know that this really happened (like many other historical paintings) albeit possibly varied from the artist’s portrayal is a far cry from our world and she was so very young and seems to have been a tool used in a cruel game.
      It is a magnificent painting and in style reminds me of Caravaggio’s work with his amazing realism and dark surroundings.
      I’m sleeping fine thanks 😛 and now I’m off to investigate the other painting you mentioned.
      Robyn 🙂

      Like

    3. Me again 🙂
      A quick look at T. Bartel’s painting. Another beautiful painting, a really interesting compostion, wonderful brushstokes and use of light.
      Wish I knew more about the painting itself and the story if any behind it.
      Thanks again for making me aware.
      Kind regards,
      Robyn 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, I’m not sure it could be classed as a masterpiece, but it was the composition that grabbed my attention, it seemed very much at odds with everything else that I had been looking at from that time period. Almost modern and ‘real’.

        Like

      2. 🙂 – as with many images, it’s best to leave it open ended as it allows the viewers imagination to weave a story for the picture. If we knew (which we don’t) that the girl was simply turning to her sister to comment on how boring the opera was, it wouldn’t be quite so exciting as guessing something altogether more clandestine.

        Like

Leave a Reply

