Altered book project

I’ve been working on my first altered book πŸ™‚

We’re down to the last 2 – 3 weeks of the year with my course and it’s all happening.

As I said, I’ve been working on an altered book…something for my course… and to be honest it’s not something I would choose to do for myself, simply because I consider books a treasure and not something I would ‘alter’….often…However…. I’ve been inspired by the beautiful work of Justin Rowe.Β  His work is elegant and timeless…and amazing… at least the ones I have seen…and did I say I’m inspired? πŸ˜€

So after being inspired, this is my effort. It is titled ‘Treasure Books’.

Treasure Books-sigMy concept is that books are to be treasured… There is a little treasure chest on the left front side with teeny books inside.

The book itself IS Treasure Island… simply because it has treasure in the title. It had to relate.

While this was a very mental exercise to begin with, I must say I enjoyed creating a new treasure from an old one.

Every part of this book sculpture is paper, except for a few little treasure beads πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Altered book project

  1. That’s a really interesting piece. I’m like you, I treasure books, so I don’t know if I could have done this assignment. Unless maybe it was a copy of something I truly hated – but that would be hard to find!

    Like

    1. Hi Suz and thanks for the comments.
      Yes this was very hard… It was a real mental block to start with.
      As it was for an assignment, I knew I needed to get it underway.
      The first few cuts were the hardest… Then it became a project πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.