Do it Yourself

This past week or so I’ve been taking things quietly and loving that.  Going back through some of my older images I found this one – a mobile phone shot from 2011 – I loved this old house when I saw it… a real ‘Do it Yourself’.. a fixer upper!

Do it Yourself

Seeing it again has reminded me of a direction that I enjoy with my photography.  Grunge, texture detail, (sometimes) decay and a story are all things that I enjoy…. and while I don’t tell a story very often, I hope images like this one speak loudly… and leave you pondering.

At the time of taking this photo, I suspected this old ‘Do it Yourself’ had been sitting for quite a while.. and I know for a fact it’s still the same right now.  Interesting 🙂

18 thoughts on “Do it Yourself

  1. I don’t think you are alone with that Robyn, many of us like that sort of thing. I couldn’t imagine buying a house like that, I wouldn’t know where to start, except maybe to find the yellows pages and demolition people.

    Like

  2. An interesting subject, a good photo, and an excellent story! Plus the laughs provoked by Leanne’s comments! Wonderful job, Robyn! Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  3. I, too, am all for texture, decay, abandonment and dilapidation in subjects for images. Not, I hasten to add, in my life if I can avoid it…… 😉

    Like

    1. This post has received some great comments!
      Thank you Sue…lol.. I completely agree… I too, simply like finding it to photograph and enjoy visually 😉

      Like

  4. Wonderful work with the mobile phone shot Robyn! I love the idea of fixing up such a great old building that has a real soul. Just I’m not sure I’ll ever be ready to take time away from everything else (that I love) to do it. I hear it takes quite an effort, and time to fix something like that up. 🙂 I enjoy your photography and stories a lot!

    Like

Comments are closed.