Reflections on timber..

More experiments with light… this time with reflections πŸ™‚

Colour and light are endlessly fascinating!

Glass_reflections_timber

This image (above) was taken yesterday – a sunny day.

I was so surprised at the (mainly) warm purple reflection thrown by the cobalt coloured bottle. At first I thought it was my camera white balance… but I checked and it was set correctly for the setting.Β  This really made me wonder why.Β  The sun was emitting (not directly) light onto the surface through UV filtered glass (which roughly speaking, stops to a certain point the blue light).. making the warm timber surface ‘red’ of sorts, giving this fabulous reflection.Β  The reflection really is this colour!Β  As in my last post too, the light on the surface is picking up the texture.

What do you think?Β  Any theories here?Β  I’d love to hear your thoughts, but please offer them in a friendly fashion… thank you πŸ™‚

Moving onto today.Β  This image was taken today – a grey overcast day.

Lavender_glass_reflections

This is the same setting and the same subject matter. The image was taken 3 hours earlier than the previous day.Β  Still a touch of that warm purple reflection, but such a different result.

These are just my ponderings… not any sort of proven theory… but it’s so interesting.Β  I love light and colour!!

On a very different note, I’d like to say – “Rest in peace, Robin Williams.”

17 thoughts on “Reflections on timber..

  1. Hey lovely ..gosh I don’t have any theories on the light ..they would be made up if I did! All I know is those pics are gorgeous. Especially the second image. Love your work. Such a sad day to have to say goodbye to a wonderful talent. RIP Mr Williams ..

    Like

  2. It would be interesting to work with a prism with the different spectrums of light that emit through it from the sun (or any light source for that matter). I find it interesting that you are experimenting with different lighting and reflections. I think it’ll help you see things better in the field. I know that when I focus on one thing and experiment, then it really helps to see things in a different perspective when just walking around.

    One thing that I want to work on more is to find small items to focus on as the main subject with a larger item in the background just out of focus enough that it doesn’t take away the attention of the small subject, but in focus enough that the viewer knows what it is. I guess if you were to put a theme on it, it would be capturing the small things in life. I’ve done a few photos like this but want to get some more and possibly do a post about it at some point. All these ideas but not enough time. lol. Always not enough time… Maybe someday!

    It is sad about Robin Williams. It’s a sad thought that we don’t always know how someone is truly feeling as it’s so easy to hide our emotions. I was fortunate to have met him in person during my tour in Kuwait. I thought he was a great person who was very talented. I know that he’ll be remembered for a very long time.

    Like

    1. Hi Justin, thanks for your thoughts and time in answering.
      The prism is actually at the core here really.. All of this stems from my love of colour and what Ive learned about Colour Theory. A fascinating subject and one I love.
      Yes you’re correct… It has application everywhere! πŸ™‚

      I like your thoughts too on your new theme… A great idea and one that will become very absorbing!! Go for it. Never enough time, as you say…lol… Do little bits here and there.

      Robin Williams – he will be remembered. How neat that you met him πŸ™‚
      We all have our stuff to overcome. So sad that he felt he couldn’t go on.

      Like

  3. Beautiful Robyn! I am so enjoying your experiments πŸ™‚ I agree, changing light and colours are so fascinating, just this last week I’ve noticed a definite change in the texture of the daylight, spring is not far away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

