Age before beauty?

Today I noticed this gorgeous daffodil… sitting with the light behind it, showing all of it’s wonderful detail.

Transparency

I picked this daffodil about a week and a half ago… and it’s only with age and light, that I noticed the ‘real’ detail.

I wasn’t intending for this image to be black and white.. but it tells the story much better than colour πŸ™‚ It shows the true delicacy and transparency of this beautiful flower…

…and then I started ‘philosophising’.. about age and beauty etc.. πŸ˜‰

β€œIt`s not how old you are, it`s how you are old.”
Jules Renard

PS I know I’ve been missing… a little… the sun is shining and it’s Springtime and I’m outside every opportunity I have πŸ™‚Β  The weather is gorgeous presently and there’s colour, glorious colour!!!

The daffodils are bright yellow and the plum blossoms are pink and white… The grass is ‘sweet’ green, the sky is blue and the sunsets are glorious!Β  It’s amazing!

38 thoughts on “Age before beauty?

  1. Spring is glorious isn’t it? Love this shot, it really shows the delicacy of the flower with that backlighting. I had wondered where you were and hoped your back was OK, glad you’ve been outside and not laid up. And love the quote.

    Like

    1. Just loving this season… Its invigorating and so pretty!
      Glad you like the flower and the quote.. Thanks πŸ™‚
      Im outside walking whenever I can.. getting stronger πŸ™‚ and knowing that summer will be here too soon and a different story again.
      Thanks for checking on me Lee x

      Like

  2. You have described this image so well, and I love it in black and white. Happy to hear your enthusiasm for your changing season. That is just as beautiful as this image πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Great image Robyn – yes B&W allows for the texture and detail to be the main focus here. Glad you are getting some better weather – we are beginning to have some colder nights – the heat is not on yet, but it’s just a matter of time.

    Like

    1. Thanks Robert πŸ™‚
      The weather is very nice. The days are gorgeous but the nights are still cold, with the occasional frost – the fire is still needed overnight presently.
      Hope Autumn is nice where you are and that you get plenty of shooting done before winter comes.

      Like

    1. Thank you Julie – really pleased you like the image and my thoughts and its so nice to be missed! πŸ™‚
      Spring has really only just arrived here… Hope it comes for you soon too.
      The days are warm in the sunshine and the nights are still cold, still with a coating of frost some mornings.

      Like

  4. I agree. You don’t realise just how beautiful a flower is until you have seen it in light. I was enjoying photographing flowers in Toowoomba a couple of days ago and the ones I love the most have the sun shining through the petals. πŸ™‚
    Your daffodil is divine. πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.