Monochrome Madness Wk 34

Some images just make you (me) work hard.. and this is one of them!

I’ve been watching this ‘Spathiphyllum Petite’ bud and flower for many months now and I’ve been pondering how I would photograph it.Β  This was / is my first attempt and it’s my entry for this week’s MM – week 34!

MMC 34_Marbled_Spathiphyllum_Robyn Gosby _2014

Whatever I did when I was photographing this image, I ended up with low-ish resolution and a noisy file… it was low light. Lots of work, so I’ll try it again πŸ™‚

I ended up with posturising on this image – I suppose I did it in the post editing.. a bit of a mystery really and a learning curve – I like that – although I haven’t solved it yet… always much to learn – I love that!Β  I decided to go with it and enhanced the image with sepia tones, which showed up as pink marbling… so I called it ‘Marbled’ πŸ˜€

Many thanks to Leanne for hosting and to Laura for cheering us on!Β  Pop on over to Leanne’s to check out this week’s wonderful gallery.

I’d also like to take the opportunity to say a BIG thank you to all of you who follow, comment and are generally interested in what I’m doing. It means a lot to me – thank you!!

28 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness Wk 34

    1. I really appreciate that Robert. Always happy to hear your thoughts ( a fellow creative ). Thank you.
      Its the bigger file that shows it. Im happy with my start πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. This is a wonderful image. The focus point is perfect, the diagonal composition introduces a nuanced element of tension, the sepia tone adds a feeling of nostalgic romanticism.

    Like

    1. You’re very generous… thank you Cybele. Glad you like it πŸ™‚
      I have some catching up to do on your blog… I seem to be running out of hours presently.

      Like

  2. Great shot Robyn! I don’t think I could have gotten a better shot of this flower myself. Perfect composition and DoF. And also great post processing. Although the focus is in the middle, I think it works really well with this photo. You’ve proven that sometimes rules are meant to be broken. πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.