Introducing the ‘One Four Challenge’

Ideas have been swirling around for a while now, with regards to another πŸ˜‰ challenge… the idea finally seemed to gel when posting this flower image a few posts back.

Stitched_Soft Brown_ Robyn Gosby_2014My idea is to take 1 image (our own) and process it 4 different ways – sharing it over 4 weeks ( on our own blogs) – one image per week.Β  This sounds like a challenge and hopefully some fun too!

I’m starting this challenge on the first Monday of November ’14 (Australian time) and you are very welcome to join me!!! πŸ™‚

This is how it will work, if you are interested ( I may update this post as needed for clarity).

I will post on the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Mondays of each month and then you have until the following Sunday to share your image on your blog, for that week. Link up to my blog with the corresponding post ( eg. Week 1, 2, 3 or 4 ) and tag your post with one four challenge.

Choose any 1 image that you are happy to spend some time on.Β  This can be as hard or as easy as you’d like – the process is up to you.

This image will be shared on our own blogs over 4 weeks – with each week showing different processing of our own liking and choiceΒ  –Β  there is no particular order to this – show them as you please.

If you only want to join in for two weeks – that’s fine.. Play along. Do what you can, join in when you can – with the idea being at least 2 weeks or more to compare the results.

Here’s an example of one month:

One Four Challenge – Nov Week 1

Stitched_colourInclude linkΒ  and whatever you’d like to write about your image.

.

.

.

One Four Challenge – Nov Week 2

Stitched_PurpleFor this week’s image, I lifted the Magenta saturation and this was the result.

.

.

.

One Four Challenge – Nov Week 3

Stitched_BWMono… blah blah blah

.

.

.

.

One Four Challenge – Nov Week 4

Stitched_Soft Brown_ Robyn Gosby_2014Include week four’s image andΒ  I think it would be fun to include a gallery of the month’s four images too.

.

.

It’s also been suggested that we could include a poll if we’d like to, on our week 4 posts..

.

If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.

This will be a perpetual challenge – we’ll keep going through the months until we’ve had enough πŸ™‚

These are my thoughts and my challenge – to myself and to you, if you’d like to play along.

Ready. Set. Go!!!

102 thoughts on “Introducing the ‘One Four Challenge’

  1. Oh the magenta…that is gorgeous. Well, they are all really beautiful, that flower is so interesting. I like the poll idea at week 4 and I am only a dabbler in processing but always looking to learn something. This sounds fun, I will join you in November I think…now to find an image worth posting 4 times, that is certainly a challenge!

    Like

    1. Yes it is a challenge Carrie… Lol
      I do think we’ll learn things along the way… Hope so.
      Im so excited that you’ll join us!! ..and thanks as always for your kind comment πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Hi Chris – in this instance, we’ll make it personal choice. It is something I wondered about… but decided to leave all options open.
      Some folks may like to do that.. and others may have different ideas of what they’d like to share.
      It would be very interesting to see the progression, so if you decide to join us – by all means go for it πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m in also! I love what you’ve done with your photos ..
    My question would be: can we be as creative as we like or shall we stick to the original as much as possible ?

    Like

  3. That is really one interesting flower, it turns out beautiful in every version.
    As I told you before, I like your idea and have already thought about how I am going to do it. It’s going to be hard to pick one image to spend a month working on it, but I am curious to see where that will push me. Hope we have many participants, because I enjoy seeing others sharing their post-processing choices.

    Like

    1. Hi Lora – yes Im sure some months we’ll make good choices and others… Well… We’ll see. πŸ˜‰
      Looking forward to seeing your choices and how you are going to do this.
      Thanks for the comment on this flower… Its quite surprising as a subject.
      It will be fun to share this with others and hope that it will spur us all onwards.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No probs at all Cardinal πŸ™‚ I think it will be interesting… And if you find yourself with images that fit – you are always welcome! If not, I completely understand – there is always ‘much’ going on. Appreciate your comment!

      Like

  4. Hi again, Robyn! It looks like my first comment did not come through. So if you have already got it, just delete, but if not here is my original response: Great idea! I am not very well versed in photo editing, so this will be an excellent exercise and I will definitely learn lots. Count me in! Chris πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. It didn’t come through Chris.
      I’m delighted you’ll join us and I hope of us will learn through this challenge.
      There are so many ways to process and each of us will have our own approach.
      This should bring about some unique and inspiring results πŸ™‚ Glad you’re in!!

      Like

  5. Sounds interesting! I will think about it, but have to see if I can find the time πŸ˜‰ I will keep my eyes open for a nice image. And really nice example that you posted!

    Like

  6. It’s hard to pick a favourite, I love all your edits on this photo Robyn! It really sounds like a fun challenge, I hope at some point I’ll have time to join. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Hi Robyn, I’ve been neglecting my blog & those that I follow…I need a challenge at the moment to inject some life into my blog…I love your idea and would love to join.xXx

    Like

  8. This is a great idea Robyn! I’ll try to do this but can’t make any promises. I’ve dropped out of Monochrome Madness due to just not having much time to keep up. I still take monochrome photos but just don’t have the motivation to get the post ready on time and everything. I wish I could keep up with posting a new photo each day but that hasn’t been working out either. Can’t wait until I get caught up with things so I can get back to where I was.

    Like

  9. Well, I have NO idea how this is going to go but I’m taking a deep breath and am going to take the plunge this week and attempt your One Four Challenge! One question – when the original photo actually revealed? Is that the first week or kept until the last week? Joanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joanne, thats great news! Welcome πŸ˜ƒ
      You can reveal the original when you want to. Some share it right away and some like me, wait for the last week. Its up to you πŸ˜ƒ
      Be sure to tag with One Four Challenge, so we can find you in WP Reader.
      Jump in and enjoy the fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.