One Four Challenge – Nov Wk 1

Nov 6th – There is much interest in this project – thank you!!

Please read this post on how to play if you are joining in. For us to ‘find each other’ it is important to link up and tag – see how to below.

Have fun, Robyn x

Welcome to our very first ‘One Four Challenge’ post πŸ™‚

If you’re playing along.. I hope you’ve had some fun deciding on your image.Β  If you’re not… you are welcome to join in, or cheer us along!!

This new challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.Β  We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.

Process it however you like…and tell us a bit about it. You don’t even have to show the original image unless you’d like to.Β  Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.

My own image – Nov week 1

Seedhead_OneFourChallenge_Nov1_2014_RobynGosby

I found this wonderful little seed head when I was out walking.Β  It measures approx 3/4 to an 1 inch at it’s widest point and I couldn’t believe my eyes… little hearts and a pollen filled, felted centre!!!Β  I had to bring it home and then sneezed and sneezed in between photographing πŸ˜‰

As this is a delicate little ‘flower’ – I wanted to try this week for a delicate feel and have limited the colours and also tried to keep it fairly light. The original image was more colourful.

I’ve decided that I’m going to share my original image in week 4, alongside the 4 altered images… and I also think it might be fun to compare our 2 versions next week.

A bit of news on how this works –

You can read the Introductory challenge post here – this explains the format and idea.

Links and Ping backs:

Once you see this post – you have until the following Sunday ( Aussie time – currently GMT +11 hours ) to create your own challenge post.Β  Include a link in your post to this blog post. This will create a ping back (link) from WP blogs.
You are also very welcome to leave a comment on my blog with your post link for the week.

Please make sure that your Nov 1 post is linked to my Nov 1 post etc… so that we are linking to the same week.

Tagging for WordPress blogs:

Please include a tag on your post.

By creating a tag with One Four Challenge on our posts– we will be able to find WP challenge players.
If you go into your WordPress Reader and look for Explore TAGS, You can create and enter a tag in this area. I typed in and added One Four Challenge (capitals and spaces) with the + button. This brought up my posts with the One Four Challenge tag.Β  Hopefully it will bring all of ours up in our reader when we start tagging.

Play nice policy:

I’d love this to be a friendly and encouraging challenge please.Β  Be kind.Β  All of us are at different stages in our learning.. some are beginners and some are very skilled.Β  All are welcome.

I’m really looking forward to seeing all of our entries this week and the progression that follows each week until the final gallery in the 4th week… don’t forget to include a poll in the Nov Week 4 post too – if you’d like to.

Most of all have fun creating!! πŸ˜€

133 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Nov Wk 1

  1. It’s not Monday overhere! πŸ™‚ I’ll publish my post tomorrow.
    It was intersting to pick the first image, to find something I’d want to spend so much time working on. I’ll include the original image from the start, it’s funny to see how other participants compose their posts.
    Very soft and gentle image from you, my nose is tickling just from looking at it. I simply adore the macro world and you are very good at capturing it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Morning from Australia Lora πŸ˜„
      It really was interesting choosing the first image – at this point I’m not at all sure where mine will take me, but it will be a fun experiment!
      Looking forward to your post and to seeing what you’ve chosen and how we all decide to present our images with this challenge.
      Thank you 🐞

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I realized yesterday that you would post this on Sunday (for me)! So, I was prepared πŸ™‚ I don’t know that I will be in weeks to come, but I was excited to start this challenge I guess.
    Your image is beautiful, as usually is the case. I LOVE the purple highlights in the background and all the subtleties captured in the tiny seed head. The delicate feel of this is just lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He he… Carrie, Im so excited, that you’re excited! I hope this will be a fun and inspiring challenge πŸ˜ƒ
      Looking forward to seeing what you’ve chosen.
      Thanks for your comment on my image – I couldn’t believe my eyes! Fun.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful image, love your description of it πŸ™‚ I’m afraid I’ll only be a cheering on participant for the time being, but am certainly looking forward to seeing all the entries. Great idea for a challenge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Lisa and many thanks!
      No problems at all… we do what we can – and we’ll love to have you cheering us on… Thank you!!!
      It will be great to see all the other entries for this first week… Hope it proves to be fun πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Morning Robyn, here we go, I have taken the plunge! God, even setting up the links was a challenge πŸ™‚ Hope it all works!

    I love your chosen image and can’t wait to see how it changes over the next four weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Chris – yes here we go πŸ™‚
      It does all take time initially and then we get really good at it πŸ˜‰
      I’m really glad you like my image – many thanks – it will be interesting to see the changes over the next weeks.
      Thank you Chris!

      Like

  5. I was abel to find an image as well and I will post it later today as I am on europe time and it is monday morning now over here πŸ˜‰ will check out the other posts later as well!

    Like

    1. Hi Sari, that’s really great!!
      So glad you’re able to join in with us πŸ™‚
      Looking forward to your post and yes visit the other posts… will be fun!

      Like

    1. Good morning Lora πŸ˜„
      Yes there is – this is done through tagging our posts with One Four Challenge.
      See my post about ping backs and adding it in your WP reader as well. Each tagged post shows in our Reader.

      Like

    1. Oh this is great Sue! Welcome πŸ˜„
      The only other thing to do is to create a link in your post to my Nov 1 post – this will create a pink back (link).

      Like

    1. Hi Katie..
      The ‘idea’ has been floating around for a while and it finally gelled πŸ™‚
      We’ll be glad to have you following along… it will be interesting to see how it all evolves. If you feel like jumping in at any point…please feel welcome.
      Many thanks for your comment on my image. I’m glad you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello Robyn, I have joined in but not sure how to link back since I don’t use wordpress.
    But here is my link…let me know if this is not what I’m supposed to do.

    Like

  7. Hi again Robyn, You mentioned that if we create the tag with One Four Challenge, and search in the reader on this tag, it should pick up all the challenge participants… It’s not picking any up in my reader, not yours, mine, Lore’s, SueJ…. How does this work again? Chris

    Like

    1. Hi Chris 😊
      If you go into your Reader… On the left, go down to Explore Tags and where it says Enter tag, add One Four Challenge, then click on the + button.
      Once you’ve done this, click on the tag you’ve just created. This brings all the tagged posts up.

      Like

  8. I love this idea. Good thing I visited Susan Judd of WordsVisual or I doubt I would have heard of your challenge. How long have I been following you and didn’t have a clue? I think we tend to get notifications arbitrarily because I’ve heard of other people having the same problem on wordpress. Anyway, I will be joining in! Love your image. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning from Australia 😊
      We started only this week on Monday, so its still brand new!!
      Im glad you like the idea – its been formulating for a while. Really glad to have you joining our crew. I think you like to experiment as much as I do.. Many thanks too – glad you like my image.
      Welcome aboard Emilio!

      Like

  9. I saw this on Leanne Cole’s blog. If I can think of (or take!) an image by Sunday that I think I could process four ways, I’ll join in. It’s a great idea, thanks for hosting the challenge!

    Like

  10. Robyn I hope I’m not too late to join in. I haven’t been out to take photos this last while due to my injury and the horrible weather so am using an old one I haven’t published before.

    Like

  11. My Week 1 Entry to the One Four Challenge

    https://lensaddiction.wordpress.com/2014/11/08/my-one-four-challenge-entry-week-1/

    Really inspired by this Robyn, thanks for coming up with it. Im doing some intensive study through Nov for an exam in early Dec so this will help give my brain a break from the text books and do some fun stuff πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to see what everyone else has come up with – found it a bit of a challenge to come up with the ‘right’ image but am pretty happy with my choice now I have had a couple of goes at it πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. oops just found this in Spam!
      So happy you are inspired Stacey – I think it’s important to ‘bounce off’ and inspire each other. Makes me smile knowing that πŸ™‚
      Wishing you every success with your exam and study prior to Dec.
      Looking forward to sharing in everyone’s inspirations.

      Like

    1. Hi Marsha – just wanted to add.
      With the One Four Challenge – its ok, to start with week 2 😊
      It means you’ll show 3 instead of 4 images at the end of the month, just for this month.
      Sounds like you enjoy some similar interests to myself. Once again, welcome!!

      Like

    1. Hello Joy – yes we do have a December challenge and you are welcome to join us πŸ˜€
      Go to my home page and scroll down for Dec week 1 or use the One Four challenge category on the menu.
      All skill levels are welcome πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Your latest December 2015 post lead me back to this little beauty that I missed because I started the following month. This is one of my many favourite weeds, the little stamens forming a halo around the centre. Now I have to see what you’ve done with it…

    PS. You don’t have a search on your site so to find it I had to scroll waaaay down your One Four Challenge link and that was a fun experience in itself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Here hee glad the search itself was fun – but yes only yesterday I realised that my search bar had disappeared with my change of template. Will amend that shortly. Thanks for persisting πŸ˜ƒ
      I’m so glad you like it – Julie from Frog Pond tells me it’s a Plantain variety. They are so amazing up close πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

      Like

Comments are closed.