One Four Challenge – Nov wk 2

Hello and a big welcome to week 2 of our November One Four Challenge πŸ™‚

Edit 11th Nov: Just in case you missed the Introductory post – this is a perpetual challenge – that is until we’ve had enough πŸ™‚

We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.Β  Thought I’d better mention that, so be looking for December’s image too – Play along in the months you are able.

It’s been a crazy, fun week with lots of interest in this project – thanks for joining me – I think we’re going to have fun and hopefully learn plenty along the way!!

**For those still interested in knowing more about this challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post. Β PLEASE READ the details -thanks.

If you’ve only just found the challenge and you want to join us – Begin with week 2 and move forward from here.

For my image this week… I decided to start with the base image I created last week.Β  That wasn’t necessarily my plan, but I liked the progress I had made so far.

Seedhead_Warm_OneFourChallenge_Nov2_2014_RobynGosby
– tiny seed head

So to create this image this week, my additions and changes were:

– Curves to lighten and darken in areas

– Add a warm photo filter to take the sweetness (my word) off the image

– Sharpen and crop

– Add a subtle vignette.

– I did also experiment with taking out the bottom hearts touching the edge – but I didn’t like it.Β  It left the seed head kind of floating in space.Β  I read in one of my drawing books, that touching an edge creates interest and tension.Β  I prefer it for this image.

I’ve had fun learning and experimenting with different things this week.Β  I hope you have too!!

Here are my 2 processes so far.Β  I’m still trying to keep it light and soft.

Now it’s over to you again πŸ™‚Β  I’m really looking forward to seeing what everyone has done this week and how you have gone about things.

If you can, share your 2 images with us this week – to compare progress, changes, edits etc.Β  It will be good to see the 2 together.

Did you start again from the beginning with your image?Β  Did you keep going from where you left off like me? Are you planning a monochrome version or have you already done one? Tell us a bit about what you did.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.Β  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.

Links and Ping backs:

Link your week 2 post to this week 2 blog post. This will create a ping back (link) from WP blogs.
You are also very welcome to leave a comment with your post link for the week.

Tagging for WordPress blogs:

Please include the One Four Challenge tag on your post.

By creating this tag on our posts– we will be able to find all WP challenge players in Reader.
If you go into your WordPress Reader and look for Explore TAGS, you can create and enter the tag in this area.

This brings up all posts with the One Four Challenge tag.

Ok… have a fantastic week!Β  So looking forward to seeing everyone’s 2nd edit this week.

Robyn x

90 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Nov wk 2

  1. I agree the colour shift and the warmer tones are a nice addition to this image, you generally get seed heads in summer so now it feels like a summer image, the first one was quite cool. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I agree with the other comments, the warmer hues work really well. I like the natural browns that come out in the middle cone too.
    How exciting for you to see your challenge blossom into something many are participating in. Congratulations! I am so happy to be a part of it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Carrie… I’ve enjoyed seeing more detail and colours come out through this 2nd process.
      Glad you like it – I always appreciate your thoughts and comments.

      I thought this challenge might be a great learning curve and fun… but Ive been blown away and delighted by the response.
      Lots of us, do like to experiment and ‘bounce’ ideas around 😊
      I’m also glad you are part of it x

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Hopefully I have also created a pingback and tagged my post correctly! Posted 2 processed versions since I missed week 1. This is going to be great fun…I have already checked out lots of posts from week 1.
    Love your flower seed head Robyn…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Marsha – Welcome 😊
      Both ping backs have been received..Im so glad youre excited about this idea. I am too!!
      Thanks, so glad you love the little seedhead… Its like a teeny frilly petticoat.

      Like

    1. Thanks Sabrina… I really like both your edits. Such different moods in each image. Wonderful processing and subject 😊
      Im very glad you like my image this week also – thanks!

      Like

  4. As you already know by now I have cheated and will have 5 versions of my image. I created a b & w on Monochromia to which I post every Tuesday! (SHAMELESS PLUG!!) And I don’t call it cheating, really. More like a liberal interpretation of the rules! Anyway, Robyn, I’m enjoying your subtle variations. Both really suit your image but I think I prefer this weeks version best so far with the yellow tint to the highlights.

    Like

    1. I love that you have so many versions Emilio πŸ™‚ Sometimes I’ll do the same (hence this challenge) – although most don’t see the light of day.
      Go for it!! Lol.. love your shameless plug and I enjoy your contributions. Actually I enjoy your photography.
      Thanks so much! I’m glad you like the warmer version…and in my mind, this teeny flower needs subtle. I’m going mono (I think??) this coming week!

      Like

      1. Same here, most don’t see the light of day. The black and white was an afterthought but once I saw it, it quickly became my favorite. I would agree with you that your image needs subtle- though if you’re anything like me you have or will try something off the wall. Maybe just for yourself.

        Like

    1. Thank you so much Elizabeth. Im really glad you’re having fun exploring and experimenting. The raw images do have so much more info in them.
      Being inspired by others and the community that develops in these challenges is amazing!
      Thanks for your comment on my flower 😊
      Pretty sure I’ve decided on this next week’s edit, but week 4 is still a mystery presently ..lol

      Like

    1. Welcome Moondust πŸ™‚ It’s a pleasure and so happy to have you joining us in our challenge.
      I totally agree – I think many of us do multiple edits without ever sharing them.. this way, we can share them if we want to and experiment lots along the way.
      Check out the Introductory post https://robynsfineart.wordpress.com/2014/10/28/introducing-the-one-four-challenge/ and this week’s post for all info.
      Thanks for linking up.
      Be sure to add a TAG of One Four Challenge to your posttoo, so others can find you in Reader πŸ™‚
      Welcome aboard!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

