One Four Challenge – Nov wk 3

Welcome again …to week 3 of our November One Four Challenge πŸ™‚ .. and a friendly welcome to our new players as well.Β  Glad you found us here!

This past week has been another fun week with most of us trying something different and perhaps even something we haven’t tried before.

It’s been great visiting around the blogs, seeing what everyone is saying about each other’s images and processes too. We learn things and encourage each other!

I’m so happy that people are interested in this project – thanks again for joining me.

Ok, something I need to mention is this:

Just in case you missed the Introductory post – this is a perpetual challenge – that is until we’ve had enough πŸ™‚

We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month, so be looking for December’s image too – Play along in the months you are able.

If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.

**For those still interested in knowing more about this challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post. Β PLEASE READ the details – thanks.

If you’ve only just found the challenge and you want to join us – Begin with this week (3) and move forward from here.

My image: I knew this week I wanted to do monochrome – this is my result. Put your sunnies on!!

##Seedhead_Mono_OneFourChallenge_Nov3_2014_RobynGosby

What did I do with my editing this week?Β  I tried lots of things, until I got a result I was happy with.

I started out using a B&W action (preset steps), but it was way too bright, so I reduced the brightness, added some more detail, some diffusion, another vignette… and then changed the tones. That’s basically it.

So, here are my 3 processes.

Now it’s over to youΒ  πŸ™‚Β  I’m really looking forward to seeing what everyone has done again this week and how you have gone about things.

Share your 3 edited images with us this week – to compare progress, changes, edits etc.Β  It will be good to see them together.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.Β  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.

Links and Ping backs:

Link your week 3 post to this week 3 blog post.
You are also very welcome to leave a comment on this post, with your post link for the week.

Tagging for WordPress blogs:

Please include the One Four Challenge tag on your post.

By creating this tag on our posts– we will be able to find all WP challenge players in Reader.
If you go into your WordPress Reader and look for Explore TAGS, you can create and enter the tag in this area.

This brings up all posts with the One Four Challenge tag.

Inspiration?

If you’re looking for some extra inspiration on what to do for next week – go over to Stacy’s and check out the Anniversary post of the AB Forum this week – all the players edited the same image – just for this week.Β  Very inspiring, but also really great to see the different treatments given to the one image.

Also, some of our One Four Challenge players participate in the AB forum, so pop over and cheer them on!

Ok… have a fantastic week!Β  So looking forward to seeing everyone’s edit again this week.

Robyn x

112 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Nov wk 3

    1. Morning to you Joanne and many thanks.
      I’m very glad you like the texture… this little flower was such a surprise, with a very felty centre.
      Yes choose another image for December πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you Sarah – I was going for soft and I’m glad you think its remained delicate.
      With this 3rd one I wanted to keep that soft feel. Not so sure about the next one πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WordPress actually makes me feel like I’m part of an art college community again πŸ™‚ I had such basic instructions at college on film photography that we all collaborated and experimented together to learn. I think that actually worked in my favour! I’ve never seen any form of art as having restrictions πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. We think alike on this Sarah. Art people need each other and… We find each other.
        My art buddies inspired me and I loved collaborating with each one… All of us! I miss those days, but not the study πŸ˜‰
        WP does offer community like no other Social platform. We learn from each other and its a very generous community!!
        I was lucky to do BW film – I didnt want to do it…lol.. But it became one of my fave subjects. Funny!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. B&W turned my thinking on photography on it’s head and I’ve never looked back really. Before, all my photography was prep for paintings! Then I integrated it and started working quite abstractly which I’d never been able to do with oils or other paints. Maybe I should go abstract next month πŸ™‚ Back to my roots!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Morning Robyn, really like the softness of what you’ve done. In B&W with the soft vignette, the focus is totally on the seed head; there is no distraction through colour. It’s quite interesting to see the impact.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning to you too Chris πŸ™‚
      Thanks, yes I’m happy with this image… it was the result I was going for as straight B&W.
      Glad you like it.. What I love about this project are the very different results.. even subtle ones..on the same image.
      Thank you!

      Like

  2. I really don’t remember what I said last week and I’m too lazy to look it up but, for the record, I like week 1 the best so far. I seem to be missing a splash of color on this one. Yes, I know it’s a black and white. And I’m not saying I don’t like it! If I had seen it first maybe it would be my preference, who knows. Can’t wait to see next week’s. This is so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning Emilio πŸ™‚
      Last week you couldn’t choose between the two… and I’m inclined to agree with your comment this week.
      Yes it’s B&W and I really like it as a stand alone too, but I agree with the splash of colour.
      I’m playing with next week’s presently and am headed in a direction I like so far.
      Thanks for your comments.. they are appreciated and I’m really glad you’re having fun. I know I am πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you Cybele.. I really appreciate this comment. When I’m editing I actually approach my work as I would an artwork.
      I’m very glad you think it’s graceful and delicate πŸ™‚ Fun!!

      Like

  3. You did a beautiful job, again, Robyn. Not like I had doubts πŸ™‚ I appreciate your continued dedication to the sweet delicateness of this image. I also like the black swirl in the background, it adds some oomph to the image. Looking forward to seeing the final version next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thanks πŸ™‚
      I always appreciate your thoughtful comments!
      I think this image needs to be delicate… anything else would ‘swallow’ it up.. I think.
      The black swirl was in fact another flower…. once!
      Might have a good direction for next week’s image – hope so anyway, but it sure is fun experimenting!

      Like

    1. Thank you Bastet.. so pleased you’re enjoying yourself.. I know lot of us are πŸ™‚
      I appreciate your comment on the processes of my image. I’m enjoying trying different things and stretching.

      Like

    1. Thanks heaps Lisa.. I was hoping for soft, so I’m pleased you think so.
      I’m really glad you’re enjoying the challenge as well as seeing the different steps we are making.
      Yes.. the polls that will be fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Robyn, what inspires me about your 3 images is that in each one of them, the background is an integral part of your photograph. And in this one, I think, the mono emphasis the light and shadow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Doris, Im very glad you think so 😊
      Great to hear from you again this week!
      Hope you received my comment on your blog for last week – I tried a couple of times, but haven’t been back to check again.

      Like

      1. Hi Robyn, we had an hour or two on Friday night when we were on emergency warning because the wind changed direction, and the area was encountering ember attack. That was literally a few streets down the hill from us. Thank goodness the weather eased the next day and although the fire is still burning there is no threat to properties. I’m getting to the point where I don’t know if I can take the stress of the fires anymore and seriously considering moving out of the area. But we’ll see. Yes, our internet seems to go down every evening…we’ve sent an email off to our provider so see how that goes. I’m enjoying the challenge, which I imagine is keeping you very busy! How is your back? xxx Doris.

        Like

      2. Doris, I imagine it would be incredibly stressful with the fires and Im very glad youre ok now. Internet is a hassle out here to some days. Hope you sort it out.
        The challenge is wonderful. Yes a little busy, but its all about creating, so Im happy πŸ˜€ I love it when we inspire each other!
        Making progress with my back thanks and driving a bit now πŸ˜€ Another lunch date is in our future. Yippee!

        Like

    1. Thank you Lore 😊
      Im very glad you like it.
      The challenge – we are having fun, lots of people joining us and yes helping and supporting each other. I love that !!

      Like

Comments are closed.