One Four Challenge – Dec wk 2

Hello once again to the One Four challenge!! Our second week in December 🙂

I’d like to warmly welcome our new players and am looking forward to visiting around all of the blogs.  You’ll notice it’s taking me a bit longer to visit now – so many have jumped on board with us all – it’s awesome!!

So looking forward to seeing what your 2nd process looks like this coming week.

Could I please ask everyone to TAG… WP has been having some issues with pingbacks, which means myself and others are unaware of your post – Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.

As well as your link, in your own post, would you mind leaving a link on my blog too please – in comments if you could, this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

**For those still interested in knowing more about this challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post.  PLEASE READ the details – thanks.

Ok, onto my own image:

When I chose this image, I knew it was going to mean work – fun – but also work, as I hope to make it worthwhile and learn some things along the way.  Man O Man, have I done heaps of learning this past week and even still today as I write (Sunday).

I really wanted to isolate the image from the background or completely take it out of the background.  That was sooo not to be for me this week, but I will persist 😛

Blah, blah, blah… ok onward 🙂  Here’s my result for this week.

##1_In the Shadows_OneFourChallenge_Dec2_2014_RobynGosby

I did lots of experimenting this week and have a few discarded processes in my One Four Challenge folder.

To arrive at the end result for this image, this is what I did:

Contrast and Clarity first.  Then I desaturated all the colours except Orange.

In PS, I added a Colour Lookup Adjustment layer of Teal and Orange, then played around with the Sponge tool, saturating and desaturating specific areas.

Then I went looking for ideas and found a tutorial on splitting my image into High and Low Frequency and erased most of the High frequency from the background. I have never done this before and it was really interesting. I wanted to bring the truck forward and I found this worked.

Dodging, burning and cloning.

In CEP4 again, I added a Neutral Density layer @ 23% and then to finish a Photo Plate layer to give and old look to the image, with scratches, aging etc.  That’s it.

So here are my 2 processes so far:

..and Now it’s over to you!!

Tell us about your image and what your processes were this week…. I look forward to hearing all about it!

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Links and Ping backs:
Link your week 2 December post to this week 2 blog post.
You are also very welcome to leave a comment on this post, with your post link for the week.
Tagging for WordPress blogs:

Please include the One Four Challenge tag on your post.

By creating this tag on our posts– we will be able to find all WP challenge players in Reader.
If you go into your WordPress Reader and look for Explore TAGS, you can create and enter the tag in this area.

This brings up all posts with the One Four Challenge tag.

Have a fantastic week.  Here we go again 😀

129 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Dec wk 2

  1. REally like what you’ve done this week Robyn, with the desaturated background the truck comes to life. And I’ve never heard of most of the things you were using in PS. but I like the effect you finished up with so will have to go searching 🙂
    My post is up on Beyond Purgatory but I haven’t yet worked out how to put a link in a comment. I can do it on my own post just not here. Very slow learner with all things digital but I’ll get there. Got the tag though, yeh!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Lisa and hello!! Great to hear from you 😀
      Really pleased you think it was worthwhile – The low and high frequency was the most interesting. Realising the digital file contained frequency was a wow moment. Very new to me!

      Like

  2. You did a great job bringing out the truck. I see that you don’t say that you tried to use blur for the background, so I’m guessing that the high frequency removal is what caused that? Sounds intriguing, do you have a link to the tutorial that told you how to do high/low frequency splitting?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nic – I did try the blur tool first but it just looked messy, so I undid that. I tried many things here.
      Im on an iPad presently, but will happily share the link later when Im on a computer.
      The tute was actually about healing and bringing out texture, but I thought if I tried the Erase tool to get rid of the high frequency, if it would erase the detail. It did 😃
      Honestly I have no idea what it did to the digital file – good or bad? – but I got the result I was hoping for.
      A good learning curve.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this week’s better than last week’s. I think you did a great job on the colors! This week the background – in fact the back and foreground generally – are stylistically more in keeping with the colors and texture of the truck. The picture hangs together better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Joanne 😀
      I agree – I think this is better than last weeks. I approached it, as I would a drawing – helps me to think differently.
      I really appreciate your comment too!

      Like

  4. WP having trouble, they seem to be having lots of problems lately, things not working properly. I just did mine Robyn, it’s a bit weird, but that is what this is about isn’t it. Love yours, you did a great job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Changes do bring issues apparently and there are certainly some changes happening. Thanks heaps Leanne – looking forward to seeing yours too 😃

      Like

  5. Whoo, I love the colors you have on the truck and the blurred background is nice too. Like you said, not messy, just less there. I was just introduced this week to saturating/saturating individual colors, mind blown! What a powerful thing. I really like how this week’s image looks, I do miss a bit of the green to the grass, or at least a bit of color in the grass? I am not trying to be overcritical at all. That is me looking for realistic colors in an image…and the grass stands out a bit to me.
    This image looks challenging, looking forward to next week! I love seeing this truck’s personality and “face” come forward too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hiya Carrie – love hearing your Wooh!! ..and am happy to hear your opinions. I appreciate your thoughts and suggestions and why you say what you say.
      All taken on board – thank you!! 😃
      I had a blast with this and am happier with the result than I thought I was going to be, but I put on my drawing hat and got fiddly.
      I have no idea what next week holds as yet and I guess it will be more research and experimenting that finds my result.
      So happy that you’re enjoying your new discoveries in editing. I can hear it. Will pop by your blog very soon xx

      Like

    1. Hi Stacey – glad you like the truck this week. I knew I wanted to simplify the image.
      I don’t know if my blurring technique is really a thing – Im sure someone must have done this before.
      I was using a tute that was about healing texture and the idea hit about using it to remove detail. I think it worked 😜
      Looking forward to your BW. I know your image will look great in BW.
      Wonder what we’ll do next? I have no ideas presently! 😄😄

      Like

    1. Hi Woolly, I really appreciate this comment and so happy to be of inspiration.
      I think its definitely worth learning – I think we always are anyway.
      We all start somewhere 😀😀

      Just a bit of info for reference for yourself:
      A couple of good and affordable places to start are GIMP (free) and Lightroom (free trial) then paying.
      Adobe are now doing subscriptions of a Photographers package (Lightroom & Photoshop) for approx $9.95 per month. Corel also offer an affordable package of Paintshop Pro.
      All of this is just FYI for when you are ready. Hope its of help at some point.

      Looking forward to your image this week.
      Thanks again for your comment.

      Like

  6. Playing more with the desaturation brings the subject of the photo in more focus..old, decomposing, abandoned car blending in the nature..the effects this week are subtle but still works well M😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My idea this week was to make the truck the focus. Thank you 😀
      I do agree, still subtle, but usually I will lean towards subtlety with some realism – unless of course I am going completely the other way! Thank you Diana 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. From summer to winter in few short steps. I love how they look differently, last week was a very warm image and this week you managed to convey a sense of coolness. It looks like the middle of the winter, with grass covered in frost. Or is it my imagination that is running wild here? You never know with me. 😀 Nice work, Robyn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely your imagination and I love that! 😃
      Actually this is a much cooler image – I agree and last weeks much warmer.
      Always enjoy hearing your thoughts Lore. Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Robert – and many thanks.
      Im glad you agree and I too will be interested to see whats next 😃
      Your thoughts are always welcome and appreciated!

      Like

    1. Thank you Michelle 😀😀
      Im really pleased you like the result for this week.
      Looking forward to seeing your image also!
      Im thinking next week should be simpler – This week was a leap and a jump for me, with research for ideas. It was fun 😀
      Back in the comments there is a link to the tute I found on frequency in case youre interested.
      I really appreciate your comment – thanks heaps!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sue 😀
      This week I did some research and exploring. Some of this I had never tried or heard of either, before this week. All fun.
      Looking forward to your image again this week!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I just play around with apps as my Mac is being held to ransom with it’s Photoshop. Your work is really impressive and I love that the colour is now really adding to the old truck as well as bringing it out from the background. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Morning Raewyn 😀
      Is your Mac in the shop or being used by someone else?
      I like the creativity you show by adapting to what you can use – you certainly do a lot with Apps.
      Thank you for your comment. Im very glad you like my image for this week. I had fun this week. Thanks! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My ex-hubby is holding it to ransom. I will only get it back if I don’t ask for a settlement. Not going to happen as it is only a computer and at least with Macs my photos are on my Time Capsule and a hard drive. He is just a A%$#*&. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Eliza – Im glad you are enjoying the aging process.
      I think Id like to keep going in this direction – for at least another week.
      Think it does sound complicated, but really is just a step by step process 😃😃
      Learning is almost the best part of the fun!!

      Like

  9. When I first saw this image in the reader I though you had stolen one of my shots. This is so like what I would shot and how I would have processed it- except I have never heard of splitting an image into high and low frequencies. That is my rather long winded attempt at a compliment. I LOVE THIS IMAGE!!! And that’s all I have to say. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well thank you Emilio 😃
      I accept your compliment with a big smile😃
      I had never heard of frequencies either, but it was a fun and enlightening experiment.

      Like

      1. New effects, but you’ve used them excellently to get the aged look and the subject-background separatuon. The concept of frequency in colors is interesting; something that I’ll be learning more about on a free evening. And next week’s one would be a simple one? Aw… (Kidding. I’m looking forward to it.)

        Like

    1. Thanks very much Sarah. I appreciate your considered comment here 😃
      I havent tried the Lasso tool, but I shall. I tried the Quick Selection tool, but presently am only using a mouse 😜 This is about to be amended. I find with the mouse I have I dont have fine control. Thanks for the tip – there are so many ways of doing things in PS.
      Will have a play with this in a couple of weeks!! Tablet on the way 😄

      Like

      1. Thanks for the info. I will definitely try this and am always happy to work through tutes. You learn so much.
        Your montage is fantastic Sarah!!!!! Very effective and so well executed!
        I did a presentation on the Industrial Revolution in 2011. Mind boggling the leaps that were made in that time. So many feats of engineering and ingenuity that would easily rival today.
        Thanks for your time here – I love our community 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was such a momentous time in the evolution of mankind! I’m fascinated by Brunel. Travelling his railways and seeing extraordinary constructions like Iron Bridge is amazing. The engineering genius of the time changed everything! We’ve been going through a technological revolution for the last 20 years or so. The speed of developments is just extraordinary! What amazes me is how fast people adapt to new technology and integrate it into their lives. I wonder if people living during the industrial revolution adapted so easily, almost unaware of the dramatic changes happening around them?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I definitely agree! I think V&A were real innovators too – at least he was.
        Travelling and seeing must be amazing, although I do look at things out here and think the same.
        My study was actually on the Crystal Palace – a glorious structure and an amazing undertaking.
        We are moving ahead in leaps and bounds now, but as you say technological, and not in such a physical way as these periods were.
        My thoughts personally are: Some of us appreciate our technologies, but some don’t know any different and its just a regular part of their lives without much consideration, unless its not there 😜
        Oh this would be a good conversation over a cuppa!

        Like

      4. I would just love to actually be able to meet up and chat!! I need a TARDIS 😉 Crystal Palace is stunning and I completely agree with you about V&A! Although I have never been enamored of the British Empire (land grabbing!) you can’t deny that engineers and explorers in India and Africa did some truly extraordinary things that helped to spread the industrial revolution across the world. I remember doing a fair bit of study about the impact of early photography on the art world. Some of the fiercest early critics like Degas, were very quick to start using photographic techniques like the idea of a filled frame or a crop with fore/background movement. They embraced the technology behind closed doors and used elements to expand the use of their own favoured medium! Plenty of modern photographers now have such a similar attitude to digital art. Embrace the new and enjoy it, I say 🙂

        Like

    1. Thank you Ben – Im glad you like it 😃
      To be honest, I have a feeling this will be the best of the four.
      No idea really what’s next – trying a few different things so far.

      Like

Comments are closed.