One Four Challenge – Dec wk 4 – Polls.. and January’s challenge

Ok, jumping right in again and posting a few details for our challenge players to read about our challenge.

I thought this was going to be a quick post – turns out it’s a book – grab another cuppa 😛

We’re up to week 4 of December – Phew! ..and sharing our last image for December… we’re also including Polls – if we want to – for our readers to vote for the image they like best, of our 4 December editions.

Welcome to week 4 of  the December, One Four Challenge!!

Feedback:

Something I really want to touch on this week is the topic of feedback.  I can honestly say, when I started this challenge, I really didn’t give any thought to feedback. My thoughts were, simply a friendly way of being able to share our trials, experiments and wins, with other like minded folks, through the challenge.

Almost 2 months down the track, I can see that this is a very valuable place to leave feedback for each other…if we’re looking for it.

Because we are all at different stages in our learning and expertise, I thought it might be good to set in place, some guidelines for feedback.

What I’d like to ask is this… IF you would like feedback on what you have done for the week, please leave a comment at the end of your post that says something like – “I’d appreciate your thoughts or feedback” OR “feedback is welcome”.

Then and only then, leave feedback and please give kind and constructive comments. I think we are all doing this anyway.

Respectfully, if people don’t ask for feedback on any post, please don’t offer it – encouragement is always welcome though.

I hope this makes sense and that everyone is in agreement on this.  Thanks for reading this blurb!

Just want to share Neil Gaiman’s quote again – this is what I think the One Four Challenge is all about.

“Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here.”

Neil Gaiman

Let’s continue encouraging and inspiring each other in all that we’re doing!

January’s challenge:

It goes on!! 😀  Our first challenge post for January is on the first Monday (5th), Aussie time.

I will be away from the computer for some of January, but I will be scheduling posts and will keep approving comments and will pop in when I can.  Stacey has generously offered to hop around the blogs, which she usually does and I know so many of us do this and I love it! Thank you all!! 😀

My image:

Once again, this is something new to me – that is, the extent that I’ve gone to, to create this image.  It took me a while, but it’s been a huge and fun learning curve. Yes! 😀

So here is my December week 4 image… click for a better, sharper view..

##1_In the Shadows_OneFourChallenge_Dec4sml_2014_RobynGosby
In the Shadows at Golden Hour

As you can see I’ve ‘plonked’ the truck on the side of the road, on the side of a hill, under some overhanging trees at golden hour.  The shadows are completely the opposite, so there was plenty of fiddling to do. I decided to keep a touch of light on the shadow side to show some of the details.

Many many things were tried here.  To cut out the truck, I used the Polyagonal Lasoo tool as suggested by Sarah – I hadn’t tried this tool before – thanks for the suggestion Sarah 😀

To place the truck I used the Perspective tool – tricky tricky!!

Yes the sky is big and bright, but it was big and bright on that afternoon.  You can see the golden light truly covering the landscape. There is a Graduated Neutral Density filter used on the sky as shown in the clouds, which has toned down the sky to an extent.

The truck has a touch of grunge and fauvism about it and I like it like that – I did this (the truck only) mainly using Topaz Adjust 5. The rest of the image has more of a natural feel about it. Having said that, I didn’t want this to be completely realistic.

Again, I’ve approached this 4th image as more of an artwork and I’m happy with what I’ve achieved this week!!

The original image:

Here’s where this image started for December…

##1_In the Shadows_OneFourChallenge_Dec_Original_2014_RobynGosby

..and below, my gallery from original to the 4th and final image for December’s challenge.

Click to view larger versions of the images.

The old truck has proved to be as tricky as I thought it might be, but I’ve done a few things now, that I hadn’t tried before 😀 Yay!

If you have a favourite from my images, please feel welcome to vote.  Thank you.

..and once again, it’s now over to you!!

Kind comments and feedback are always welcome.. and I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has done again this week 😀

Share your complete gallery of edited images with us this week and your original.  It will be good to see them together and where you began.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Thanks to all who have added a link to my post and have tagged – it’s made my visiting a lot easier this past week. I’ll include the same request here again this week. Thanks again.

Could I please ask everyone to TAG again… WP has been having some issues with pingbacks (unsure if this has been resolved yet, but best to be sure), which means myself and others are unaware of your post – Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.

As well as a link, in your own post, would you mind leaving a link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could, this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Have a fantastic week everyone… and on the 5th January we go again 😀
If you celebrate Christmas, or however you celebrate (or not)… Seasons Greetings to you all.
Robyn

115 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Dec wk 4 – Polls.. and January’s challenge

  1. Definitely number 2 for me, though it os great to see all the other trials too. There is plenty of fun in making lots of mistakes too (though this time I think I played a bit safe, just messing with colours and tints really). Have a great Christmas Robyn, MM 🎅

    Like

    1. Thank you John! Yes definitely some fun and trials here.
      Weeks 2 and 4 had big learning curves this time around.
      Looking forward to seeing your image for this week too.
      Merry Christmas! 🎄🎄🎄

      Like

    1. Thank you Robert 😀😀
      I’m glad you like it. I knew the sun would draw the eye, but decided that was a huge part of the story here… Glad you think you work your way to the truck in the shadows. Thank you!!

      Like

    1. Morning Raewyn 😃
      This week, I like that you kept going in a direction youre happy with! Actually cant decide yet, which edit I like the most – I like the lovely subtleties in the original and your changes throughout the month.
      So glad youre enjoying the challenge and using it to experiment. Fun!

      Like

  2. Oh, I love this version…super cool, and definitely a story here. You’ve cer tainly spent some time on this. Sad to say, mine’ll be a quick fix again, hopefully by midweek.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Robyn I love what you have achieved with this week’s processing. As you said you have created a work of art which I would happily hang on my wall. A close second is the original photo…in my opinion.

    I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, Robyn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow you really did go all out with this one, great job on the compositing. Love the blue tints in the windows, for some reason they make me feel like this is a character out of the Cars movie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Stacey – I had such fun this time around.
      Glad you like the blue windows 😃😃 I like them too 😜
      You’re the second person to comment about this car being like a Disney character. Fun!

      Like

  5. No 4 for me Robyn, although it does have a somewhat apocalyptic feel about, which I suspect is unintended. It’s been a fascinating and educational month. Thanks for hosting. Happy holidays 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Andrew – pleased you like #4 with its apocalyptic feel 😜
      Glad you’ve enjoyed the month too. I know I have!
      Such fun seeing everyone’s images evolve. Happy Holidays to you too!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, VERY nice! This latest edit makes the truck look like he’s in Old Truck Paradise — I love it!
    BTW — FotoSketcher has been WONDERFUL — I am enjoying it so much.
    And for the record — your input and advice is always welcome. Thanks for offering this prompt — it’s great 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Jen 😃 – thankyou! Really pleased you like it!
      How great that youre enjoying Fotosketcher – as I said, Id never used it, but had seen others playing with it. Very glad to be of help 😄
      Thank you x

      Like

      1. Oh, I’ve been using it all week to edit photos for other prompts — I never let a haiku go onto my page “naked” — LOL! — and FotoSketcher brings a range of tools that are so much fun. Couldn’t decide which effect I liked better this week so there are two FotoSketcher effects. 😉

        Like

  7. Wow … loved this last process. Lovely trick and something I’d really like to learn to do. Here’s my contribution for Wk Four: https://bastet1952.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/one-four-challenge-wk-4-december-22-2014/

    I was wondering if you might not take into consideration using a linking app to regroup all the participants in one place which would help seeing what everyone has been up to? Happy Holidays Robyn … and see you next year! Hugs! Georgia (Bastet)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Georgia 😀
      Sorry for late reply – in the midst of Christmas preparations presently. Will pop on over asap.

      Regarding the linky app – that was my first consideration, but I realised by tagging with One Four Challenge, this would achieve the same thing. All those who tag can be brought up in Reader in the same way.
      Create a new tag to view, being One Four Challenge and all those who have tagged will show up.
      Happy Holidays Georgia!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting I hadn’t realized one could search by tags. For the mo I’ve been going back and forth through your page trying to read the various link posts.

        Like

      2. Morning Georgia 😃
        Yes you can. Its great!
        If you go into Reader, Create a tag with One Four Challenge with caps and spaces, you’ll have all the tagged posts pop up in your Reader 😃😃
        Enjoy and Merry Christmas!

        Like

  8. I love how you pushed the boundaries in week 4..it came out as a glorious image ..by miles my favorite ! Its been a great journey and lets meet again in 2015! Merry Christmas and happy New year!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. FANTASTIC! So impressed. Have to agree with the others that week 4 is the clear winner. Our picture will be done tonight, but there is no way it will be this impressive. Well done!

    Like

  10. I LOVE 2 and 4! But I really really liked the other edits as well. What a great collection! So many things that I love that range from the colors on the truck to the details in moving it into a new background. Wow! Now, to check out all the other submissions! Here is my attempt for week four: http://wp.me/p58fTH-nC.

    Like

  11. Wow. Did I comment on this yet? Love week 4. I think there’s just a little too much sun for me, but the rest of the image, overall, is fantastic. I love the composition, how you’ve placed the truck, and the textures are really appealing. Have enjoyed all four edits. Great work!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Nic – Yes the complementaries always work 😃
      Looking forward to your number 4 version – will pop by soon.
      Its been a busy week! Merry Christmas 😃

      Like

  12. Hello everyone and thank you for your encouraging comments – Just want you to know I am busy with Christmas preparations here presently. Will reply soon and pop around the blogs asap 😃😃
    Have a wonderful Christmas one and all xox

    Like

  13. This week’s one looks like a lot of work, Robyn! What you said about the light and shadows in the original needing to be adjusted for this view — so true. Phew! Just for that, it’s my favorite for this month! 🙂

    And it looks like the pingback issue still remains from my blog to yours, so here’s what I did for this week — https://halfaphotograph.wordpress.com/2014/12/23/one-four-challenge-the-path-4-night-light/

    Happy holidays to you!

    Like

  14. What to say when WOW is not enough? I’m speechless with what you have accomplished. And created. I loved the truck before but now? Shoot, how to explain…. I love this image more than love! Nope, that’s a bit weak. Let me think on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is a great Challenge RobynG, I have been following a few of the other bloggers who participate and each week we seem them take on something new to challenge their ideas and skills. it is a great way to learn. I love the 4th image. I will continue to follow along for the inspiration! all the best to you and your family in 2015

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment Janice.
      I’m very glad you’re enjoying watching along. There is much to learn and it’s an exciting and fun challenge 🙂
      Wishing you a very Happy New Year as well… to both you and your family x

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Truly amazing final edit!!!!! We are back, belatedly, with the final edit to our picture….and the BIG REVEAL on the location. There is one last hint in the first half of the text…..the choice of the Photoshop oil filter setting was not random…..

    We look forward to comments, feedback, and poll participation in the next week. Thanks for the inspiration on this challenge! Here is the short link to the new post, published just now: http://wp.me/p3wV0m-Ha

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.