Happy 2015 and… One Four Challenge – Jan Week 1

Hello and a very Happy New Year to You – one and all!! Thank you all for your wishes for the New Year.  I wish you the same – a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

I do hope you’ve had a very relaxing Holiday and New Year break. We’ve had a fun, busy-ish time with family and visitors with bits of holidaying in between. It’s been very nice to relax.

If you’re still on holidays – have the best time!

January’s One Four Challenge

Well, here we are – onto Round 3!  Wow, I’m amazed at how quickly we have arrived here.

Thank you for your patience with my replies for our last week of December – it got busy, very quickly at my house, with preparations for Christmas and New Year celebrations and visitors.

I loved seeing everyone’s 4th version for December – we seem to be doing lots of experimenting and learning along the way with this challenge now – it’s great to see – and I really appreciate the encouraging feedback and kind words that are being left for each other 😀

I think I made it around all of the blogs – if I’ve missed visiting you for Dec week 4, please leave me a comment and I’ll pop by.

Tagging: this is definitely working! Everyone who tags with One Four Challenge can be found through WordPress reader – it’s an easy way to find all of the challenge posts in one place.

Joining the One Four Challenge:

**For those still interested in joining us / knowing more about this challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post.  PLEASE READ the details – thanks.

My Image:

This month, my image features the main buildings and pit lane at Mount Panorama Bathurst, NSW AU.  Mt Panorama is known as Australia’s premier racing circuit.

Click for a better, sharper view.. (not sure why – on my monitor, this is showing as blurry, but the image is sharp).

##1_Mt Panorama Bathurst_OneFourChallenge_Jan_Wk 1_2015_RobynGosby
Mount Panorama, Bathurst NSW, Australia

 In 1938 the Mount Panorama Scenic Drive was opened to the public and became the home of motor racing in Australia. It may have started its career as a dusty country track but Bathurst’s Mount Panorama is now one of the world’s top three motor racing circuits.  Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit is 6.213 kilometres in length and 874 metres above sea level.

Source: Bathurst NSW

For this image, the initial changes were done in Camera Raw – Reduce exposure slightly, change Clarity and Levels. I then cropped and applied lens correction. Next I added contrast using Curves and a new B&W layer (blend mode – lighten at approx 50%). There were more little tweaks, but these are the main changes for this week’s version.
It was a fabulous stormy day and the clouds were amazing!
Kind comments and feedback are welcome.
.
Your image:
..and once again, it’s over to you for January. I’m very much looking forward to your image choice and 1st version this week.
.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Could I please ask everyone to TAG… WP has been having some issues with pingbacks (unsure if this has been resolved yet, but best to be sure), which means myself and others are unaware of your post – Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link, in your own post, would you mind leaving a link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could, this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!
Have the best week everyone!!  Really looking forward to seeing what you’ve done this time ’round 😀

130 thoughts on “Happy 2015 and… One Four Challenge – Jan Week 1

  1. Happy New Year Robyn. Not the normal shot we see of Mt. Panorama, more the overview and no people! I like how you have made the storm clouds moody and would never have thought to use a B&W layer to help emphasise this, so already I’ve learnt something in the new year 🙂 The dark clouds also make the reds stand out, and what a leading line ! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with to do to this image for the rest of the month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Lee 😀
      Thanks so much! I agree – not the usual sight of Mt P. The storm clouds were very moody – it was a great day.
      Will be interesting to see how this one evolves.

      Like

    1. Hello Katie and many thanks! I love your description of the clouds – that is exactly how it happened on the day. It is wonderful seeing that beautiful light.

      So pleased to see that you’re joining us this month! Welcome 😃
      By the way, I am Robyn Gosby (not Robyn Graham) 😜 although both Robyn and I have chuckled about both being Robyn G. Just thought you should know..lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Chris and hope you’re still enjoying your break 😃
      The BW layer changes it up for sure – by choosing Lighten as the blend mode, it affects the colours in the image too.
      Also looking forward to the month ahead 😃

      Like

  2. Hey Robyn, greetings from hot and sunny CHCH (tho not as hot as you guys are getting at the moment)

    I haven’t even picked my image for this months challenge yet! Been down with a head cold for the last week and brain has been a bit fuzzy.

    LOVE the sky in yours, I adore great clouds and you made them look very moody and present, I can feel them hovering right above me, just waiting for the right time to let loose the deluge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Stacey 😃
      Feel better very soon xx
      Join in when you are able or cheer along – whatever you are up for.

      Yes its summer here in full force, although we are having a lovely reprieve from a Southerly change today.
      Glad you like the clouds. It really added interest to my image for this month.

      Like

  3. Happy new year! I was hoping to join in this month with an image from my first DSLR that I got over the holidays. Then I realised the camera is wayyy harder to use than I expected. And so are Lightroom and Photoshop. I don’t think I will be able to edit 4 different ways. I can’t wait to join in when I’ve got the hang of things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year!! ..and thanks for your comment and your interest.
      I do understand your hesitation, but would like you to know (just in case) there are many others in the challenge at the same stage.
      You are most welcome to jump in right now, with limited skill and Im sure you’ll find encouragement and plenty of ideas.
      Many use Picasa and other Applications to get their results – using whatever they can, wherever they are.
      I do understand its a big step – but I believe this challenge will help you move forward – no pressure of course 😜
      The choice is yours and if you decide to sit out, we’ll be glad to have you cheering us along 😀😀

      Like

  4. Happy new Year and great image Robyn! I am still working out something for myself. I was out yesterday evening and I am hoping to find some nice picture in there to use for the January challenge, but I didn’t had the time to get them out of my camera yet. But as you said so nicely in your explanation of the challenge, I still have a full week to process them 🙂

    Like

  5. Robyn – love what you did here. It has such a Fifties feel to it.
    This am, I thought your site was hacked but fortunately for you, it was my PC that was hacked! Glad I have a laptop but all my good stuff **photos** are in the PC and it’s still a threat so I’m hoping for the best! I do have another back up hardrive but that may be infected too…not sure yet. Anyhoo…my pics are here: turtlemoonimpressions.wordpress. com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Im really glad you like my choice this month.
      The BW layer is surprising and varies according to the image, the blend mode and opacity.
      So sorry you’ve been hacked. What a pain.
      Do hope you get it resolved soon with no loss of your content.
      Having a backup laptop is very handy!

      Like

      1. Thank you Robyn. I was hoping there was an easier way than going into the WordPress Reader. I have a Reader app but I don’t know how to get to them from there. Someone just told me I could go to WordPress.com/tags. I might see where that takes me. Thank you!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. PJ if you are on your iPad, you can use the WP app. I use it and find it pretty good 😃
        If you already have it, navigate to Reader on the bottom left of the iPad, within the app. Once you are in Reader, click on the tag top right, then enter our tag One Four Challenge and all the tagged posts will come up.
        Its worth doing 😃😃

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I finally figured out what I needed to do in order to view it in my Reader app. I had to go to the Reader in WordPress first and add One Four Challenge there. Now it is showing up in my Reader app. Thank you so much for telling me about getting to it this way!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Georgia and Happy New Year.
      Glad you got your connection issues sorted. That happens here too. Very inconvenient at times.
      The sky in my image was amazing on the day. Storms were brewing all around.
      Looking forward to seeing your image for this month too 😃😃

      Like

      1. It was super … there’s nothing like a storm to create dramatic skies! Yes … connection issues are really a bother and what’s worse is I can’t figure out if it’s the computer, the modem or the server! Anyway ..

        Like

      2. Storms definitely create drama! 😃
        Good luck sorting it Georgia – its such a pain. Good internet is so useful and bad connections can be such a hinderence!

        Like

    1. Oh thank you Kaz 😃
      Im so glad it takes you back and brings those familiar memories to mind. Bathurst (the race) has been a big part of many of our lives here in Oz.
      Will be interesting to see where this image goes!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sue 😃😃
      I dont think the BW layer created the moodiness – the blending was set to 50% and Lighten, so it probably didnt darken much at all. The changes I made beforehand account more for the clouds.
      I had a look at the original, so my changes in RAW with clarity contrast, levels and exposure would have been a big of it the moody feel.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sue, try GIMP. Its like a mini PS with heaps of tutorials and its free, as its open source… Or you can go the way of Creative Cloud for approx $10 per month for both LR and PS. Food for thought 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have an old version of PS that I use but haven’t worked out how to fix the sky in that one yet. LR isn’t as expensive as PS so I will wait until finances are looking healthier in this home and then I might get it.

        Like

  6. Forgot to loop back in and post the link to this comment thread! Here is my picture for this week. It’s actually a color picture, but the day was cloudy so it looks B&W. I intend to play with it extensively and some of the photographers above have given me ideas on how to go forward with the picture over the next weeks. Yes, I provided hints again and will reveal the location (and some information about it) in week 4. Looking forward to ideas from the community on how to play with the image.
    http://exploretheworldwithyourkids.com/2015/01/08/shutterbug-notes-bwletravel-photography/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks again Amy… it was an amazing afternoon… storm clouds everywhere!
      Yes I’m from Australia and live here 😀
      I never really know what comes next – it’s quite a progressive and experimental process for me. It will be interesting to see.

      Like

      1. I have never asked where bloggers are… I apologize to ask. I have a number of blog friends who are from Australia, and have seen so many beautiful photos they have posted. Looking forward to seeing your editing results. 🙂

        Like

  7. Hi Robyn, Apologies fior being late this week…I intend to catch up. Last week’s link is right here:

    https://woollymuses.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/one-four-challenge-january15-wk-1/

    Bathurst is on my bucket list…sort of. Television tends to spoil many sporting event with better coverage than can be seen on the day…and the seats are generally more comfortable.

    It is one of those days where l must watch Holden win…not so fussed if Ford are leading 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Woolly, so pleased youre in again this month 😃
      No apologies necessary – we do what we can!
      Look forward to seeing your chosen image this time.

      There’s something simple and wonderful about Bathurst – not simple on the day of course. I haven’t actually been to the races myself, but I do love it when its just an ordinary day. I love it when they’re racing to – a must watch in our house, with Holden winning too if possible 😃😃
      The views are breathtaking and its just neat to be there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

