One Four Challenge – Jan Week 2

Wow, this week flew by so quickly!!  Did you find the same?

Welcome to another fun week of the One Four Challenge – week 2 of January… and a very warm welcome to the new players joining us this past week.  I hope all of us have been able to visit some of the blogs (or through Reader) to gain some inspiration and to leave some encouragement along the way 😀 There are some fabulous images happening. So exciting!!

I’ve been very busy reading all of your posts this week!!  I do hope I found you all 🙂 Please let me know if I missed you.

Tagging

This week I’d like to talk about tagging… again

For those of us who are tagging – it’s working.. thank you!!

I’ve had a few requests for help this week, regarding how to add our One Four Challenge tag to Reader to find all of our posts, instead of having to hop around all of the blogs – so I’ve created a small tutorial – one I hope, makes this an easy process.

I want to talk about tagging for a couple of reasons.

1. If you tag – you’ll show up in the WordPress Reader ( that is if your total of tags and categories for your post (inclusive) is less than 15).

2. Myself and others can find you… easily… and everyone is accessible in one place.

The correct spelling and format for our challenge tag is One Four Challenge

You’ll find the tutorial here.

Joining the One Four Challenge:

**For those still interested in joining us / knowing more about this challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post.  PLEASE READ the details – thanks.

My image:

For me this week was one with a few distractions and not a lot of time for the computer. It’s been my last week of holidays… they are never long enough of course 😉  I spent some time at the beginning and end of the week, but didn’t really hit on an edit that I loved this time, but I do have a result.

I’ve experimented in some different directions, so will try and remember some of what I did.

Here is this week’s image – click for a larger, sharper view.

##1_Mt Panorama Bathurst_OneFourChallenge_Jan_Wk 2_2015_RobynGosby

Funny… sitting here typing I can’t remember any steps presently… so I’ll tell you what I was trying to do.

I was trying to achieve more drama and I wanted to saturate the reds a bit more. I added a blur to bring the focus to the building, but I’m not sure that I achieved that, this time. I think trying a different composition has made the building and the clouds compete with each other.

What are you thoughts on this?  Kind thoughts and comments are greatly appreciated.

One thing I do love about this challenge though, is being able to experiment ‘out loud’ and knowing that I don’t have to win every single time – none of us do.. as long as we are learning along the way… and I have certainly learned some great things again this week 😀 I hope you have too!!

I do have a techy question for those who are technically inclined… Ben. Robert. 😉

I’m wondering why my images are showing up ‘not sharp’ in the post? If I click on them, the clarity is there – is there a reason (eg file type, size, perhaps my blog) that this is happening? I wonder what I’m doing… mmm  I’d greatly appreciate you thoughts on this, if you have any. Thanks.

Ok, it’s late – I’d better get this post scheduled!! 😀

Your image:
Looking forward once again to seeing what you have achieved/discovered this week.

 

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post), in your own post, would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could, this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!
Have the best week everyone!! 😀

96 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Jan Week 2

    1. Thanks heaps Robert.
      Glad you think I achieved the sense of drama 😃

      When Im adding media, Ive been trying ‘full or large’ image sizes.. perhaps its just my theme? Ive had this happen before with WP.. Images look fine and then a period like this one…
      Your thoughts are appreciated.

      Like

  1. You have definitely got more drama in this week’s edit with the increased saturation in the colours. I like the way you have got the eye to focus more on the centre of the picture by blurring the edges, it has made the sign stand out a lot more. The lighting is very nice in this picture, sort of Hopper-esque!
    I’m not sure if my pingback will work this week, so here is a link to my post…
    https://katieprior.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/one-four-challenge-january-week-2/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Katie – those are the things I was trying to achieve and I wasnt sure I had done so.
      Im glad you think this comes across in this week’s image and that you like the light!
      Any Hopper reference is appreciated 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t believe I forgot it was Monday! LOL

    https://lensaddiction.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/one-four-challenge-jan-week-2/

    I really like what you did this time round, bringing out the red made the building pop out from the sky, now it has that real feeling of that crazy light you get just before a storm hits which makes things really stand out for just a moment.

    Regarding the softness, I find sometimes if you upload images to other programs they appear soft, I find that a lot with WordPress and Flickr – I know they are sharp on my computer and screen but appear softer when uploaded.

    No one has ever commmented about it so not sure if it is a permanent thing but yes I have noticed it and find it annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol… Holiday mode 😜 ..hope you enjoyed it Stacey.
      Thanks heaps. Glad you think it works. I was wanting to make the building the focus (pop) but add more drama to the sky.

      The soft image thing really is annoying – glad youve noticed it too.
      I cant work it out!
      Enjoy your last days of holidays 😃😃
      Im back to work today. So never ready 😜

      Like

  3. Your focus might have been to saturate the reds, but personally I find whatever you did with the clouds to be much more effective in making this a really interesting picture to look at. One question: were you trying to blur the edges of the picture in order to direct the eye to the middle? If so, the vignette effect works very well.

    Here is a link to my week#2 edits…..tagged and linked, as usual. http://exploretheworldwithyourkids.com/2015/01/11/bwletravel-shutterbug-notes-one-four-challenge/ Looking forward to the comments and reactions from the community.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this image Robyn, again taking me back in my memories. It evokes power with the stormy clouds looming and a feeling that anything could happen, which is how the race usually goes. Really great shot of a memorable place 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh thanks Joanne – this was one of those weeks that I had looked too many times in a short period and needed to walk away and come back with fresh eyes.
      I appreciate your comment very much!

      Like

    1. Hey Cee, welcome aboard – really pleased you’re joining us!
      It is a fun challenge – I hope you enjoy it too 😀
      Look forward to seeing your chosen image…and hosting is a real pleasure.

      Like

  5. I love the deep red in the sign and the sky! Wow, that is an angry looking sky. Maybe play around with keeping the winding road in focus and the sides of the image out of focus? I think, your eye will travel with the road well, right to the building. Just a thought.
    It is a very dramatic image, looming winds and rain, really impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your thoughts Carrie – I might have a play keeping that in mind this week.
      I never know where I’ll end up.
      Glad you like the red and the sky 😀

      Like

      1. Oh good, glad to hear. I totally know, how can you know where you will end up, that is the fun of this challenge 🙂
        Hope your first day back to work is a smooth transition for you…getting back into the groove is always challenging after a great holiday 🙂

        Like

      2. 😀 I never know where I’m going to end up… bah ha ha!!
        Thanks – 1st day back was good – getting slowly back into the swing, so that’s good.
        Holidays are never long enough 😛

        Like

    1. Hello Georgia – feels like only yesterday we were doing week 1!!
      Glad you made it again and wishing you speed in getting your internet sorted.
      Oh thanks – I’m glad you like it – I kind of had doubts about this one – not huge doubts (but still doubts) – but it seems to be ‘reading’ the way I was hoping, so that’s good!
      It was a very stormy afternoon 😀
      Looking forward to seeing what you’ve done this time ’round.

      Like

      1. Well the job is well done .. you can really feel that storm brewing … I’m still limping connection wise but at least I can connect so … won’t complain!

        Like

  6. so let me see if I have got this right. I take an image I have taken, edit it 4 different ways, perhaps colour filters, monochrome, crop etc to see it from a different perspective? Is that right?

    Like

    1. Hi Dave 🙂 Yes that’s right. One image 4 different ways – edited however you like – over the 1st 4 Mondays of the month.
      Tell us a bit about your process (if you want), link to my corresponding post and tag 🙂
      You’ll be most welcome if you decide to join.

      Like

  7. You’ve certainly achieved drama here, Robyn…..that sky is amazing! I like the vignette effect, our eye is definitely drawn more to the centre. Now I’ve got to get working on my image!

    Like

  8. Hi there! Janis checking in: http://turtlemoonimpressions.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/january-one-four-challenge-week-2/
    Robyn, great edit this week. In saturating your colors, my eye was immediately drawn to the whites of the tires, which brought me right to the building – no competition with the sky, although it is quite a bit more powerful this week. And the white side of the building on the right drew me right back into the main idea once again – success!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Lynne 😀
      Yes that was my feeling as well – I appreciate your thoughts here.
      Tension creates drama. Ive just realised its working for the image and not against it. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning Lee – the clouds really have been amazing!! Towers and layers – Cities in the sky. I love watching them.
      I appreciate your comment. I had wondered if the ‘competing’ was a bad thing – but now I realise from yours and other comments that it works in this image to create the tension and drama I was looking for.
      Thanks for your thoughts 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow, the challenge is really taking off Robyn and there are some excellent submissions here. I definitely think you achieved the sense of building drama in this week’s photo. I think the blur as well as the shape of the clouds direct the eye to the building, well let’s face it the road as well directs the eye. I wondered if you did crop it or zoom in a little more what would that do?
    I too have wondered about the transference of quality in photos from phone to the wordpress and put it down to re-sizing, but it appears to change the quality of the colour and light in the photo as well, no matter which device/desktop computer I view the post in…
    Here is my “saturated” version for this week!!
    https://forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com/2015/01/13/one-four-challenge-week-2-january/

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Amanda – I so agree with you – there are some wonderful images coming in and yes, it’s growing!
      Surprise! I thought maybe a few people would join me in my explorations… ha ha… who knew and fun fun fun!!!
      I appreciate your thoughts – yes I’ll try a crop to see what I think.
      This time I started with the original again and as I said to Carrie, I never know where that will take me 😛 It’s usually a mystery to me until I’m there 😀
      Still coming to leave you a comment – have popped by quickly, but didn’t stop – it is verrry saturated! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. The reds are what bring my focus to the building, but you’re right Robyn, the clouds then compete for attention! 🙂 Like so many others here, I do think the sense of drama is pretty strong in this edit.

    Like

    1. Look forward to it Dave 😃
      Don’t worry about your level of expertise or the software you’re using – we have all skill levels here and you are welcome!
      One of the things you’ll pick up is what a lot of other participants are using. There are many free programs to use. GIMP, fotosketcher, Picasa and more Im sure.
      Have fun with it. Glad youre joining us!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Your image is still striking for sure as that sky man is intense. The red definitely calls attention to the building making it very much a centerpiece. They (sky and building) seem to be competing with each other but in my opinion I’m not sure it’s such a bad thing since the sky looks like it’s going to swallow the building up! There’s certainly drama. 🙂 Too when you look at it and how the track runs towards the building it’s like racing into the storm. Who will come out on top?!

    I went a little more animated, graphic arts looking this week. It’s very different from the first and the original. It’s fun learning and experimenting. 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.