One Four Challenge – January week 4

Hello and once again, a BIG welcome to week 4 of the January One Four Challenge – and the end of our third month already!  I’m so amazed at how quickly the time has passed.  Feels like only yesterday, we were beginning with this new idea 😀

Grab another cuppa and read on 🙂

Note: Please click images for a better, sharper view..

January - week 1
January – week 1

I do hope you’re enjoying yourselves – I know I am – and once again, welcome to all new players!

I’ll say it once again too – thank you for tagging.  It’s great being able to find everyone in one place. (If you are new, you’ll find a tutorial on how to do this here.)

January - week 2
January – week 2

Joining the Challenge:

**For those still interested in joining us / knowing more about the One Four Challenge, you’ll find the ‘how to’ further on in this post.  PLEASE READ the details – thanks.

Tag your posts:

Tagging your post means you’ll show up in the WordPress Reader ( that is if your total of tags and categories for your post (inclusive) is less than 15).

Myself and others can find you… easily… and everyone is accessible in one place.

The correct spelling and format for our challenge tag is One Four Challenge

January - week 3
January – week 3

I’m so enjoying making my way through all of the challenge posts (tagged posts in Reader) and the posts that have linked up (left in comments on my blog post). It’s obviously taking me a lot longer now, with many participants this month 😀 ..and it’s so great seeing what everyone has done for the week.

This past week was an especially creative week! Lots of artistic and fun editions this week, with new ideas!! How good is it experimenting, playing and trying new and different things???!!  Each week I learn something new and I’m loving that! I hope you are too 😀

My Image:

Well, lots of you know I’ve been having some pretty big issues with blurry images on my blog this month.  In part I think I’ve decided it is also my image this month – I strongly suspect I had motion that I wasn’t aware of – not sure really, but I do think so… I have changed back to my old theme for now and I think the images are showing up better – I’d love to know if my images are showing up better for your viewing please.. thanks heaps.

Ok, enough of that 😀 Moving to this week….

Mount Panorama at Bathurst (this image is a small part of the whole) is an iconic Australian car racing track.

I love that this image falls on Australia Day – which is today- Happy Australia Day Aussies!! 😀

Many of us stop on the Sunday of the October long weekend and watch The Bathurst Races – in person or on the screen.  For all of my growing up and now – it has been a part of my life.  These races have had many names over the years – most of us just call it ‘The Bathurst Races’ – but one thing for me was true.  I always watched the race on television (tv). It was just what we did on that Sunday. Race day. We still do 😀

With this in mind, I decided to try and emulate that feeling of seeing the race on those old screens… well they were more like a box..  In those days we didn’t have a crystal clear picture.. so based on all of that, here is my 4th edition for this month 😀

January - week 4 - "Watching the race."
January – week 4 “Watching the race.”

~ Please click on any of the images for a clearer view ~

This week I went back to the original image – cropped in a bit closer and cloned out a light post that made no sense after the crop.

Next I went into Color Efex and used Lighten Darken Centre – this lightened the centre and darkened the edges.

Analogue Efex was next as I wanted an old feel using Photo Plate – I like this effect to create an old feel.

Once out of both of these Plugins, I masked out the building itself to keep the clean bright  feel of the building and used Color Burn as my blend mode.

Next was adding a Color Look-up Adjustment and Curves, which gave me this result.

The original image:

Here’s where this image started at the beginning of January…

- original image -
– original image –

..and once again – below, my gallery from original to the 4th and final image for January’s challenge.

Click to view larger versions of the images.

I’ve enjoyed this image this month with it’s possibilities – NOT including the issues with blur.

Ok I fixed my poll 😀 Here ’tis..

 

Kind comments and feedback are always welcome.. and I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has done again this week 😀

Your image:

..and once again, it’s over to you!!

Share your complete gallery of edited images with us this week and your original.  It will be good to see them together and where you began this month.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a perpetual challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.
If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post), in your own post, would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could, this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!
Have a great ahead with all that you’re doing and have fun checking in to see what everyone has done this week 😀
Robyn x

95 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – January week 4

    1. Thanks Robert 😃 glad you like it!
      This challenge has made me push myself and I have learned things that I may or may not have ever tried. Id like to say yes to your question, but I know it would have taken me sooo much longer.
      Its been a brilliant learning curve with much more to learn. Love that! 😃

      Like

  1. Hey Robyn, love your process this week, it totally looks like an old scratched up photo found loose in the back of Dad’s photo album from his wild and single days 🙂

    Really like how you vignetted the sky more evenly on both sides, it really brings the focus on the building nicely 🙂

    While I was folding sheets and towels last night I remembered the process I had done for one of my images for today, I am going to see if I can resurrect it tonite so wish me luck!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Have a great Australia Day Robyn! Like the closer crop and love the scratches just like the old tellies used to get with us kids poking at it, but prefer the ones where the clouds are more ominious.
    My offering this week is here https://wordpress.com/post/44648656/4424/
    I will be unable to participate next month as I will be away for most of it some spent on an island with no internet connection 😦 I think I’ll cope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great selection of images Robyn. I voted on your poll, but it already has a lot of votes on it, I think it may have last months totals still on it. Thanks for running this challenge, its very thought provoking and fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Robyn, I love how you have turned the most mundane part of the venue into a powerful image without a motor car in sight! Yet, immediately I picture Moffat, Brocky, Lowndes et al racing round in the earliest to the latest models of sports cars. I love all your images!

    Like

    1. D, I love this comment. Thank you! You understand the history and Im so happy this image brings our favourites to mind 😃😃
      Having been thinking of you lots just lately.
      Thanks for your encouraging words!

      Like

  5. Love this week’s! To be honest, whenI first saw this image several week’s ago, I wondered what you were going to do with it. But you’ve developed some great approaches to it, all creative, all great. But this week’s is the best (IMO!). Thanks for coming up with and managing the Challenge! You’re great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Joanne – I really appreciate your thoughts.
      I too wondered where I would go with this image – its not my usual subject choice, but I have enjoyed it and its surprised me 😃😃
      Photography for me is very strongly embedded with my art – So I do come at it from an arty direction.
      Thank you 😃 Im so glad you’re enjoying our challenge and thanks for your generous comment!

      Like

  6. Wow, your fourth edit is really cool. You succeeded in taking me back in time, I feel like I’m looking back on history. When I first saw it I thought it very well could have been the original. Actually, it looks like a still taken of an old video of the Bathurst Races you speak of. I think that one is my favorite, it stands out among the rest. Seeing the original now I’d have to say you did a great job amping up the drama in the sky; the added contrast and texture even works really well. Well done from tip to toes!

    Ironically this week I wanted to take my image back in time as well, though not in quite the same way. And I’m seeing here that the pingback didn’t not go through so I will just post my link again. Cheers, and while I’m not in Australia, Happy Australia Day to you all!

    http://littlefacepublications.com/2015/01/one-four-challenge-wk-4-jan-2015/

    Like

  7. The last one is my favorite. I like seeing how the images evolved over the month, from modest changes to over the top atmospheric edits. It seems to me participants are more comfortable stepping out of the box with each month and I hope this translates into their experience on the field. That’s what I was always trying to point out in my crazy edits. Why I flip or rotate images? Because next time I try to take an image, I’ll remember how different POW can look better and I’ll tilt the camera, break out of conventional framing.

    Like

    1. I love reading your insightful comments Lore..( I’ve forgotten how to do the accent again – too much going on in my brain this month 😛 )
      Thanks so much – I do appreciate your kind comment – at the beginning of January, I wasn’t sure what or if I could do with this image.
      It has surprised me and I have really enjoyed it and the new stuff I’ve learned this month.

      Yes I agree – folks are becoming more comfortable with changing things up and trying new things. It’s fantastic! A positive environment and seeing others doing ‘crazy’ things helps to encourage that. Love it 😀 You’re a wonderful encouragement!! Thank you x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Kate 🙂
      Popping the reds and bringing attention to the building and not the sky was my project for this past week.
      Glad you like the format and this version. Thank you!
      So pleased you’re learning – we do learning by applying ourselves to any task regularly and we are doing that. It’s a pleasure and hope you’re having lots of fun with it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Just a small question: you described that you used a Lighten Darken Centre filter. I was playing around with textures and found that they worked best if the centre was lighter and the edges darker. Does your filter also work in reverse with a darker centre and lighter edges? Does this work?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Robyn, I like the effects you have used this week. Certainly makes the building stand out from the crowd. However, for overall colour, week two is my favoured image this month. Really they are all spectacular images and have their own features, but Week 2 tones would suit our walls – if that makes sense.
    Enough waffle. Mine is here for this week:
    https://woollymuses.wordpress.com/2015/01/27/one-four-challenge-january15-wk-4/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Week 4 for me Robyn. As I was flicking down the different edits I liked each one as I went but couldn’t pick between then the last one was it. Coming from that area, with the nostalgic scratches on the film, it had to be that one. Perfect! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love this weeks version! It really gives it this vintage feeling with the scratches over it and all 😀 Looking forward to next months challenge and thanks for this fun project and all the work you invest in visiting everyone and give feedback (I have to confess I am not visiting each and everyone of the Blogs participating and I feel sorry for it)!

    Like

    1. Thanks Sari – I had fun creating vintage for this week 😀
      I’m really pleased you’re enjoying our challenge.
      Don’t worry too much about not getting around everywhere – I’m finding it takes me most of the week now to visit (hopefully) everyone.
      How fun is that? So many interested in the challenge!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I like what you have done here to turn a relatively plain initial image into something really interesting and even dramatic. For me the 1st image is a a little ‘false’, but I loved the second image. Really good and moody – I can almost feel the throb of the engines roar. At first was not sure about image 4, but the more I looked the more I liked. Not surprised that 2 and 4 are top of the polls. Great work and remember I am only expressing an opinion (that of little ol’ me). MM 🍀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your opinion is welcome John 😃
      Not everything we do will appeal completely to everyone, so Im pleased I evoked the sound of the engines with my image… and that you were happy to have a second glance…and that it grew on you 😃 I did enjoy the challenge of this image. Thanks John!

      Like

Leave a Reply

