One Four Challenge – Feb Week 1

Another new month and another fun challenge.. we’re into February already – can you believe it?!  Once again, welcome to the One Four Challenge.

Blackberry Shimmer
Blackberry Shimmer

Grab your cuppa and read on! Do hope you’ve been enjoying perusing through Reader and the blogs and checking out all of the posts for the previous week. We’ve had many wonderful entries!

Please keep tagging so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too 😀

Art in all it’s forms.. and comments

This week I’d like to talk about the topic of art, relating directly to our challenge…and us, the people in the challenge – supporting each other in what we are doing, with contact and comments.

Within our challenge our starting medium is photography – but our weekly results may turn out to be something quite different.  Perhaps, not photography at all.. and we may or may not like some of the results we see… and that’s ok.  Consider though, we may not understand the artist’s full vision – they / we may not even understand ourselves.. but we can share in the journey. Each of us are at different stages in our development (artistically and personally). There simply isn’t only one way to do things – in this instance.  There might be 4 ways or more.. 😉

My continued hope is to allow ‘safe’ room for people – for all of us, to experiment. I’m asking again – please consider carefully what we say.  Words can have such an impact…and someone noticed that this week, hence my mention. Words can encourage or discourage.  Comments can easily be left with an uplifting tone.. or not at all.. that’s ok too. My hope for the One Four Challenge is to host a friendly space where we can experiment freely with our successes and perhaps even failures, without criticism or critique. Friendly, constructive feedback of course is welcome, if asked for.

Process our images ‘however we like’… To try new things and experiment…and to be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.

Please note: this is written in a friendly tone 🙂 I’m very excited about the way you’ve all embraced the One Four Challenge!!  Let’s continue to make it great. Thank you for listening.

My image: This month I really needed to get back to nature.

I’ve spent the last 2 challenge months on man made things, which I do enjoy, but I’m ready to focus on nature again for another month..or more 😀

This is my image for February.  I was wandering around outside last week and found these lovely (to me) little beauties.. ‘dewdrops on blackberries’.. almost a suggestion of what you’re really looking at 😀

Please click for a larger, sharper view

New Blackberries
New Blackberries

This was a pretty simple edit.. A little contrast and clarity in Camera Raw, then I adjusted Curves, but also Levels to get what I wanted, played with the Hues and applied a Neutral Density in the right hand top corner only. That’s it!

I am so happy playing with some lovely sparkly light and colours this month – it’s a breath of fresh air for me.  I know what I love!!

Kind thoughts and comments are welcome!

Your Image: ..and now it’s over to you again… looking forward to your result for this first week of February!

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

One more thing… I’m thinking about making April a review month, instead of the usual – we would show a gallery of all of our images or simply our favourites.. and use April as a month to revisit previous images.  Hit me with your thoughts… what do you think? 😀

Have another great week and looking forward to seeing your chosen images for February!!

159 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Feb Week 1

    1. Thanks Stacey – looking forward to it too 😃
      Oh Im very pleased you like the idea of a review month. Thanks for your input!
      Looking forward to your image – you found one 😜

      Like

  1. So very very pretty 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing the different versions – is it just me or are these little signs of autumn early? I’m seeing things that shouldn’t be there yet, though saying that it looks like it will heat up again this week.

    Like

    1. Good morning Lisa 😃 Thank you – looking forward to working with this ‘light’ image for this month.
      The cooler nights and heavy dews are here already. I think things will turn very quickly from now, at least here. Its so pleasant after the heat of Dec/Jan.
      Wishing you some cooler days, although not sure if you ‘need’ them yet.

      Like

  2. Love this image and it’s colors Robyn and I am looking forward to what you will do with it over the month! I have my image ready but I will not post it before tomorrow evening 😉 what exactly did you had in mind with the review month? You mean we take a different picture each week that we posted before and try to work on it in a different way? Just try to wrap my head around that… 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Sari and good morning from here 😃
      Im glad you like my chosen image – its going to be another fun one this month.

      My thoughts on having a review month are:
      Instead of starting with another new image – we use April as a month to review our previous works. There may be 1 or 2 images that you’d like to revisit / have another go at OR simply use it as a month to share all your work so far in a gallery. This might be only once or each week. Your choice.
      I hope this makes sense 😃

      Like

  3. Lovely sparkly image with beautiful bokeh. Very subtle edits Robyn but a clearer version.
    A review month in April would be great.
    I’ve decided not to participate this month as I will be travelling for most of the time and without internet access. So looking forward to rejoining you all in March.

    Like

    1. Thank you Lee – Im glad you like my sparkles 😃😃
      We will miss you this month and look forward to you rejoining us in March.
      So pleased too, that you like the idea of a review month. Thanks.
      Have the very best time Lee!!

      Like

  4. Morning, Robyn! Ripe blackberries are an automnal sign aren’t they! I like the sparkles on the unripened fruit and leaves. Are the little hexagons the result of the macro lens flare? I like how it echoes the shape of the individual berries.
    An April review is a nice idea. We have learned a few things along the way, so another interpretation of some of our images would be worthwhile.

    Like

    1. Morning Chris! 🙂
      It is good to see the little blackberries (in their proper place 😉 ).. the cooler weather is surprisingly on the way in the higher country.
      All the little hexagons you see are light shining on water droplets.
      It’s created by the aperture of the lens and the shape is determined by the amount of blades and how far open the aperture is. Fun!
      This one was captured using my old favourite 60mm 2.8 @ f5.6.

      I’m so pleased you think the April review is a good idea. I think it’s really good to review and revisit.
      Thanks for your input Chris 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. First I like the blackberries this month Robyn. The dew on plants makes for a great photo. Second it brings back memories of learning to swim in the Moyne River, Dad would go off picking blackberries from the bushes all around. They were beautiful to eat. Not photography related but…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Woolly 🙂
      The light caught my eye and I knew I had to try for it.
      Sounds like good memories – blackberries bring back good memories for me too – camping, blackberries, being purple by the campfire in my teenage years.
      These days if I can get enough, I like to make blackberry jam 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Jules and good morning!
      I needed some colour and sparkle and thought this suited my mood for Feb 🙂
      The days are much nicer than they were… thankfully.
      Oh yes, blackberry jam – yum!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Georgia – hope it brings you some fresh summery-ness ( a new word?) 😜
      By all means change it up if you’re not happy or feel limited. 🌄

      Like

  6. What a beautiful image to start with, I can almost taste the berries. I think you’ll have fabulous edits every week. I see you started with very small adjustments. That’s how I start every month and end up with some wild version. 🙂
    I like your April review idea, I think I’ll do something every Monday in April. And for the last Monday, I’ll probably create a poll with my favorite edits from all the previous months.
    I am sorry to hear someone’s feelings got hurt. It is tricky to leave an honest comment, without sounding too harsh. But we should always try to be kind in giving and receiving feedback.

    Like

    1. Thanks Loré 🙂 I’m glad you like it and I hope I do the image justice and have some fun with it too.
      Will see where I end up with this one.
      So pleased you like the April review idea – thanks – I think it will be a good idea and it seems quite a few people are for it.
      I like your idea of posting on Mondays as usual and then doing a poll. I hope people will use the review month to suit themselves, within the challenge 🙂
      The person was more concerned for others, so I thought I’d touch on it. I believe there is always a kind or gentle way to say things.
      As always, thanks for your comment and support xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, what a pretty, colourful, delicious shot! Looking forward to the variations.
    Hoping to join you in your challenge this month, but out my window is lots and lots and lots of white… ah well, perhaps a good time to stay inside and experiment more with processing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fruity Bokeh 🙂 We could be wine tasting Robyn! Seriously though, this is a truly beautiful image that reminds me of the glories of Autumn sunlight. The bokeh is fabulous with the smaller sizes sparkling on the leaf and the larger ones echoing the shapes on the berries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very fruity 🙂 I couldn’t resist them Sarah and yes we could be wine tasting!
      The image does feel Autumnal and we are certainly having some mornings that feel like that, with heavy dews already. I couldn’t resist those beautiful drops – so so many – on the leaves and fruit. I did have to look twice at this image though.. and use my imagination to decide this was the one for this month 🙂
      The bokeh decided me.
      Thanks Sarah! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeah, best bokeh I’ve seen for quite a while on here! It’s such an inviting image 🙂 Finally posted mine! Oh, and a review for April could be really interesting. I will have to take a bit of a break at the end of May and into June what with the wedding so a review month leading up to that would be great for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks Sarah – I’m so glad also like the idea of a review month – looks like we’re doing it 😀
        We’ll miss you of course at the end of May June, but do so hope your wedding goes well and that it’s a beautiful day for you both.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your work Jake! 😃
      The One Four Challenge is about editing one image in four different ways over the month.
      You are most welcome to join us. If you feel you’d like to submit your image another 3 ways over February, Let me know 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah I’m longing for spring here, and it will be a long time yet till I see those lovely little berries. I appreciate your sharing them with us. 😉 That said I think it’s an elegant and artistic image. The simplicity is working for you. I like the blurred background and surroundings as well.

    Thanks for the remarks in your post as well. You’re right that in a big way this is about more than photography, as I know I certainly discovered in my first month with you so far. It’s an excellent challenge to our imaginations and creativity. I hope that people aren’t being personal but rather appreciating the images and aesthetics of others for what they are period not just what they are to us individually.

    In other news, I posted my first edit for this month on Saturday however the tag didn’t go through again. So I’m here now with my link:

    http://littlefacepublications.com/2015/02/one-four-challenge-wk-1-feb-2015/

    Thanks so much, I look forward to seeing how this month goes. 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks for your encouraging thoughts and comments about my image and my ‘mention’ in last week’s post. All is well 🙂
      We do begin with our photographic images and who knows from there? 😉
      Will pop by asap to check out your images.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely! 😀 Glad to hear ‘all is well’.

        Sometimes I love the process then sometimes I’m mostly just satisfied with the end result. As a writer too I often wonder about the creative process for artists of all kinds. How much do they vary, how much are they the same?

        Thank you. 🙂

        Like

  10. Hi Robyn! I have to say it’s really nice to be visiting your site once again. I dropped out for a couple of months in order to build a new web site and blog. If you haven’t had a chance to take a look and reconnect as a follower yet, take a look at:
    http://www.lauriemerritt.photography/blog/. I hope you find some things you like! But back to you – your macros are stunning… am off to look at more… Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laurie – great to hear from you 😃
      Your new site looks great! Wishing you success in your ventures.
      Thanks so much for your kind words on my images – they are appreciated 😃😃

      Like

Comments are closed.