AB Friday – One Photo Focus – February

Today I am joining in with the AB Friday crowd again for One Photo Focus, hosted by Stacy.

This month we are editing an image taken by Manal Ali.  The scene captured by Manal, immediately made me think of an artist whose work I admire – Alvaro Castagnet and I knew I’d like to try and take the image in this direction.  The dark wet streets and long light reflections are so appealing and mysterious in Alvaro’s paintings.

This is my interpretation of Manal’s image.

RobynGosby-One-Photo-Focus-February

I wasn’t sure whether I should be going in this artful direction or if it should have remained photographic – so I did also try a photographic interpretation.  I didn’t like this one as much, but here it is so you can see the things I tried.

RobynGosby-One-Photo-Focus-February-Photo-Manal-Ali

..and here are all three together in a gallery.

– click for a larger, sharper view –

Once again, I’ve really enjoyed this process, knowing that there are others working on the same image – You can view them all on Stacy’s blog at Visual Venturing.

I hope the link will be correct (I am scheduling before Stacy’s post). If not for some reason, click here 😀

57 thoughts on “AB Friday – One Photo Focus – February

    1. Thanks heaps Lynne – yes a different approach, inspired by Alvaro’s work. I would have liked even more looseness, but thought perhaps I should stop there 😉
      Wasn’t so sure about the leaves – so I’m very glad to hear you like them.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning Robert.. and thank you 🙂
      Yes, as you know I do enjoy experimenting and there are plenty of starts that go onto the ‘cutting room floor’.
      I’m learning a lot and while I’m not out with the camera as much, this satisfies the enquiring mind, until I’m out again.

      Like

  1. I just love your artful approach, Robyn, because it’s so different. I also love how it accentuates the headlights and the lights in the store in the foreground. But then I look at your more photographic approach, and love the light trails there, an area I cropped out of my photos. So interesting to see the different takes! Thanks for contributing to the fun of One Photo Focus! (And FYI, the link I sent has proved problematic in some of the transfers. Here’s the shortlink, which I’m going to be using from now on: http://wp.me/p14eaH-17H.)

    Like

    1. Thanks Stacy – I enjoyed this one. It really made me think and I learned some great things too 😀
      The headlights, light and wet ground were something I was aiming to enhance.. glad you like it.
      It is interesting to see all the different versions… love that!
      I fixed the link… thanks 😀
      One Photo Focus is fun Stacy.. thank you x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a new challenge this year Raewyn and just once a month for One Photo Focus – pop over to Stacy’s and check it out. They also do a weekly challenge 🙂
      Glad you like my painterly interpretation – thanks. It’s such fun learning and there is always room for more.

      Like

  2. I love your artful interpretation! this challenge is great because we can do what we like, it encourages us to try new things, and each photographer has something we can learn from. It was also nice to learn about your inspiration as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the watercolour image esp how it looks like the tree has leaves with that effect. So different and creative. The rainy day image is also excellent but doesn’t stand out quite so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Stacey – the painterly version is my preference. Im not fussed on the other, but thought Id share it showing another ‘thought’. There were plenty of scraps 😜

      Like

  4. I love the more artful technique. Whatever program it is I just love what it did to the leaves. I’m not sure if you masked the building or not but it doesn’t seem to have any- or has very little- of the painterly effect to it, which is as it should be, I think. What a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Emilio 😃
      I used Topaz Simplify to simplify the image to a ‘still recognisable’ level and did all the other fiddling and diddling in PS.
      No masking at all, but plenty of other adjustments to different areas. I think what you and Ben did by turning the lights on was clever!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the explanation. I was puzzled how you got those leaves on there. I love the look – really interesting and not anything I would have thought of!

        Nancy

        Like

      2. Hello Nancy – thanks for commenting 😃😃 ..and Im glad you like the look. Thanks 😃
        Its amazing the things, the different types of software we use, can add or take away.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I liked both the photographic interpretation and the water color effect, but the water color effect is really special and very different. Thanks for participating and letting us see your work!

    Nancy

    Like

  6. Great one Robyn, I really liked it and it might just be the best one…. I had so much difficulty with this image, it was hard to know which way to go and I tried different filters in photoshop but wasn’t fussed until I found the blur but then that wasn’t great either. Lovely to see your painted look which really adds some interest 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kaz, thanks for your vote of confidence – I appreciate it 😃
      It was an image that could be taken in so many directions and I thought your girly take on it was fun. My painted version was inspired my a fave artist of mine.

      Like

  7. Your interpretation certainly stands out. I like it very much. You gave some brief hints on the tools and techniques. It would be great to hear some more details, if possible…

    Like

    1. Hello Bearly and thank you for your comment and request.
      I will try and remember some of what I did with this one.
      Here goes:
      First into PS Camera Raw, making the typical adjustments like contrast clarity etc.
      Then out to PS and into Lens Filters? I set the lens to the lens shown in Camera Raw.
      Topaz Simplify plugin was what I used to create the painting… not sure which preset this was – perhaps a watercolor preset.. sorry I don’t remember.
      Once I was reasonably happy with that, back out into PS again.
      Here I worked with burning to bring up the darkness on the streets and the sky and to knock back areas I didn’t want to bring attention to.
      Painted in a bit of colour like the red stop lights and saturated (sponge tool) areas that had lost their colour.
      That’s about it really, apart from possibly some small tweaks.
      Hope this helps 😀 Thanks for your interest 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

