One Four Challenge – Feb Week 2

Hello and welcome to week two of February’s One Four Challenge!

Blackberry Shimmer - Saccharine
Blackberry Shimmer – Saccharine

So great to have you playing along again this week… I’ve enjoyed visiting around the blogs and posts via Reader and links, to see what everyone has done.

Please keep tagging so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too 😀

Shake it up 😉

Last week I asked for your thoughts on a Review Month for April. This would replace our usual challenge for that month. Quite a few people think it’s a good idea and so do I, so we’re going to go ahead with it.  It’s good to go back and review our work.

April is going to be a review month and not our usual editing posts, for the One Four Challenge.

What is a review month? Well, it’s a new addition to the One Four Challenge and these are my thoughts on a review month and the options open to us.

1.   We’ll post a gallery showcasing our work from the previous months. Share a gallery of previous One Four Challenge images on your blog in April – choose some of your favourite edits from Nov, Dec, Jan and Feb OR the months you have joined us.

2.  Optional:  Rework or Revisit some / any / none of your previous images. The choice is yours.

3. You could use this month as a ‘down’ month, just sharing a gallery and getting out taking lots of photos 😀

4. We will share our One Four Challenge review posts, by linking up to my post and tagging (as we usually do), so we can all find each other and what we are doing for the review month.

Presently I’m thinking that I will do one main post for April, where everyone can link up with their gallery and review posts – and if you or I do more than one post in April, we’ll still link back to this one main post.

Note: Post as many or as few posts as you feel like. It’s up to you 🙂

As April will be a variation on our theme, everyone’s link will be able to be found in one place (my post) plus Reader of course. Please tag as usual.

I think this will be fun.

My image:

As I said last week, for this month I really ‘needed’ to get back to nature. So here I am again with my second edition of my blackberries for Feb.

This image has a slightly ‘frozen / ice cave’ or ‘sickly sweet’ feel about it to me.  For some reason I find this edition very appealing – perhaps more restful because of the tones. Of course I know this will NOT appeal to everyone. What are your thoughts, if any?

Please click for a larger, sharper view

Blackberry Shimmer - Saccharine
Blackberry Shimmer – Saccharine

This was another fairly simple edit..

Again, clarity and contrast in Camera Raw –  then into Color Efex and added the Varitone preset and just a touch of Lighten / Darken – back out to PS and added a Black and White layer to tone down the sweetness, but then balanced the image with vibrance to my liking.

That’s it!  Still enjoying playing with bright, light and fresh 😀

Kind thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

..your turn again… and looking forward to your number 2 edit this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Have another great week and have fun working on your 3rd edition for Feb 😀

101 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Feb Week 2

  1. Morning Robyn, I like the gentle tones and was interested in the process you used to get these, particularly the B&W overlay to soften, a technique I would not have thought of – so thank you for this. With the overall image, I find my eyes drawn to the ‘in focus’ part of the plants: the ripe blackberry first, then the pink one in the middle, then the leaf on the left, but find the bottom left side of the image a little distracting. But that’s me… The main thing: I learnt something this morning! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Afternoon Chris 😃 I appreciate your thoughts. Glad you like the tones and the process. Hopefully you can try the BW layer sometime when your experimenting. Are you working in PSE?? Think you can play with layers..
      I can see how you find the bottom left distracting. Its filled with light, colour and shadow – all strong elements.
      The image is split diagonally into light and darker tones.

      Like

  2. A review month sounds great. I didn’t see your comments about it last week for some reason, sorry. I really like the idea of revisiting and enjoying past work. When you are in the moment it feels too close to review. Great idea 🙂

    I love your edit this week. I loved the color pallet last week, so warm and inviting and this week your color pallet is fresh and cool, but I really like the leaves in particular. Their minty look is very appealing. I always appreciate the subtle softness to your images like beautiful whispers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carrie 😃 Oh Im glad you like the idea of the review month. No worries at all. It was right at the bottom of the post 😜 I think it will be fun and rewarding.
      Such a lovely and very generous description of my work and intentions too. Thank you xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful. Makes it seem almost wintery. Will have my image up soon. It feels like it’s been a long week this time. Not sure why. Every other week seems to have flown by. Maybe because I actually got my edit prepared in advance for once!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks and will look forward to yours 😃
      Yes Ive been away so had mine prepared also. I think doing it through the week is perhaps more engaging.

      Like

    1. Ha ha I love that. It means it looks good enough to pick and eat I hope 😜 I totally get the minty feel.
      Look forward to seeing your 2nd edition!

      Like

  4. I actually like this version better. The other is nice because it is warmer. But I like how cool the background is. Kind of makes the berries stand out more. I personally like cooler images when most probably tend to like warm ones. But this version has a more wintery feel. It’s awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the softer tones in this, makes the dark berry stand out that much more and reflects the colours in the still ripening one.

    No entry from me this week as away at a conference but maybe two next week. I want to do a proper job on fixing the block in mine so will wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like this one more than the first edit actually. 🙂 The cooler temperature is appealing to me. It does have a frozen feel to it, not unlike the first frosts in Fall. Nice choice.

    Like

    1. Thanks Georgia 🙂 I am hoping to pick a few this coming season. I have to beat the weed’s man though – they are considered (and are) an awful pest here.
      If I get enough to make a jar of jam I’m happy.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with your description of it, Robyn – it somehow does have a sickly sweet look and for that it’s probably not my favourite but I do like the lovely soft focus and shimmering effects. It all depends on what our goals are – if sweet was your goal then the edit is a huge success. And it’s good to know when sickly sweet is required you can produce it :0 Could be great for desserts in food magazines 😉 Here is my week 2 with the only goal to produce something abstract in a pleasing arrangement of colour and shape. https://lynneayersbeyondthebrush.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/one-four-challenge-feb-week-2/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looking forward to your 2nd abstract Lynne 😃
      Yes my aim was sickly sweet 😜
      I rarely choose cool tones over warm, but I find this cool version, somehow appealing with its sweetness…this time 😊
      Thanks for your considerations Lynne.

      Like

    1. Morning Sarah – I like the tones too and yes Chris said she feels it distracts her too. I do love that red 😛
      Will take notice of that for next week’s edit… thanks for your input.
      I really like Varitone… have really only just started playing with it and it doesn’t suit every circumstance. I did like this one though 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes definitely a summer and winter feel 🙂 Hi Ben!
      Varitone is something I only discovered recently and I’m enjoying it – I like it for changing up an image – sometimes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kate – the B&W is a layer, above the colour layer and opacity lowered to my liking. I find it takes the stark colour away sometimes if it’s too over the top. Looking forward to yours 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Im still making my way around too – youre not late 😜
      Thank you – Im glad I found these little beauties. Pity I couldnt mail you one (joke). Unfortunately they are a real pest for farmers over here, but still taste delicious 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.