One Four Challenge – Feb Week 4

Hello again and welcome to our final week of February’s One Four Challenge!

#One-Four-Challenge_February-Wk-4_2015_Robyn-Gosby

Hope it’s been a great week for you and a creative one!!

Another quick word

Another quick post from me this week. Things are still busy here (with work) and it’s ongoing for now.  Should be back to normal hopefully by next week.  Just letting you know as I still haven’t been around everyone’s posts from this past week. My apologies 🙂

Really looking forward to a catchup to see everyone’s 3rd and 4th images.

My image:

I really didn’t know what to do this week, so I ‘hummed and hahed’ and finally decided on a light painterly approach.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

#One-Four-Challenge_February-Wk-4_2015_Robyn-Gosby

Using last week’s base image in PS, I went straight into Topaz Simplify and chose a watercolour preset. Back to PS and added a light vignette, but then reduced the brightness all over, so that it wasn’t overpowered by the whiteness.  A bit of dodging and then I adjusted the midtones, desaturated the pink slightly  and cropped the image.

At the end of this process, I’m not too sure if I like it – (I’m not rapturous about the colour – maybe I need to step back and re-view it – will do that tomorrow) but this is due to my time restrictions this week. I was looking for a suggestion of the image.

I haven’t included a poll this week, but I’d love you to tell me which image (if any) you prefer for February. Thanks!

Kind thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated!

Edit – Monday 10ish am – I forgot to add a gallery – you can tell where my head is presently 😉 Here goes..

Your Image:

..your turn again… 😀

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Hope to catch up very soon. Thanks for your patience with my busy-ness. Next week is March!!  Wow, this year is going faaaasssst 😉 Have a great week!!

114 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Feb Week 4

  1. Hi Robyn, you have treated us to four beautiful edits this month, they are all lovely in their own way. If I had to make a choice, despite the fact that I love the colours in the image, I would choose the black and white version (week 3), the tones are really nice and highlight the black blackberry perfectly.
    Like you, I can’t believe its week 4 and will be March next week! Enjoy your week, hope its less stressful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Morning Robyn ! Know what you mean about busyness,,, It all piles up and becomes a bit overwhelming! I don’t mind your ‘simplified’ version, it seems to bring the focus on the ripe berry whilst leaving the rest subdued. My favourite though is your B&W version. B&W always seems to bring out details without the ‘noise’ of colour.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Chris – yes things do catch up 😃 Just using all of my time presently. It will pass soon enough.
      Thanks – yes I do agree with you about the BW. Actually I thought it would be the one I liked the least, but it did bring the detail forward without distractions.
      Your thoughts are always appreciated 😊

      Like

  3. This week’s is terrific! I think that the image doesn’t work quite as well as it could because of the sharp angles and multiple lines. But the soft pastel treatment this week offsets that quite well. It’s very nice.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the link Ben 😃 Will pop by asap.
      Yes this one has journeyed.. in saying that, strangely Ive had the feeling of being limited.
      Im so glad you like the original tones – it was such a pretty sight on a lovely morning. Thanks Ben 😃

      Like

  4. Very nice work with Simplify. I really love them all but #2 stands out to me. I think because of the tones. I’m loving Topaz because of Impression, Glow and Simplify, oh and Denoise lol. Adjust and Lens Effects not so much. I love seeing what you do with the images!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Laura 😃 Glad you can pick a favourite.
      Topaz is definitely a great tool. I don’t use the arty plugins lots, but do like Adjust and Clarity…lol
      The webinars are great – they give you lots of hints and tips.
      Glad youre enjoying them 😃

      Like

    1. Oh thank you!! That was what I had in mind.. and subtlety, but I started doubting.
      My brain is taken up by other things presently… Not creative things. Its very much the war of left and right en force 😜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get that horrible doubtful feeling a lot! I think there are a number of us with lots on our minds and not all of it good stuff. Throwing myself into some of these edits has been a really cathartic exercise for me, a distraction from stresses I could do without!

        Like

  5. My favorite is week 3. The richness of the monochrome image is beautiful. Thank you so much for hosting this challenge. It has been great to get people’s constructive comments. As a photography newbie, it has been a blessing to get other people’s input and suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kirsten, Im really thrilled to hear you are getting constructive and helpful feedback 😃 Thats awesome!!
      Its truly a pleasure, although I am sorry not to have visited you much yet, due to my work commitments. I will get there.
      So pleased you’re enjoying yourself 😃

      Like

      1. Ugh…I just saw this comment…geez. Please don’t worry about not being able to visit – I completely understand about work commitments. I just enjoy doing your challenges and I’m looking forward to March and getting all 4 edits in 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. No worries, we all get busy (or stay busy!).

    When I first saw this week’s edit of yours I had to stare at it a bit longer to figure out exactly what I was seeing (prior to my reading about how you edited it). I think it’s an interesting and artistic take, especially since it did require me to give it a long stare. It certainly makes the berries stand out even more.

    That said I like the Original and Week 2 best. The original is so now, and vibrant, while week 2 takes us to a different time. A time that doesn’t really fit the presence of berries, because for me week 2 makes me think frost and cold, so I like this contrast. But I maintain that this last week has an unknown quality that helps it.

    😀 Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

