One Four Challenge – March Week 2

Good morning from me everyone and welcome to week 2 of our March challenge!!

~ Could I just use this line to grab your attention to some important reading for April’s review month – in case you aren’t aware of it yet. Please read about it further down in this post (repeating from last week). April will not be a usual challenge month, but instead a review month and I think it’s going to be fun looking back.

There are a few still unaware of this variation, so I’m adding it again in this post.  April is coming! ~

Ok, on with week 2 😀

#One-Four-Challenge_March-Wk-2_2015_Robyn-Gosby

This week I’ve been doing some looking back too – going through the weeks of February that I have missed… and catching up. We’ve all been trying and creating some pretty wonderful stuff!!

Keep at it you guys – there is much creativity happening and yes still experimenting. I love that! It’s all a fabulous learning curve.

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!

Review month for April

Just a repeat from last week’s post about our upcoming review month in April (not a challenge month).

April is going to be a review month  for the One Four Challenge – and not our usual editing posts. Play along if you can. It will be so good to look back at our work.  You could even start planning your post/s now if you want – what and how you will share – Read on!

The review month is a new addition to the One Four Challenge and our first review month will be in April – these are my thoughts on a review month and the options open to us. You choose.

1. We’ll post a gallery showcasing our work from the previous months.

Share a gallery of some or all of your previous One Four Challenge images on your blog in April – choose some of your favourite edits from Nov, Dec, Jan and Feb OR the months you have joined us.

2.  Rework or Revisit some / any / none of your previous images. This is optional and the choice is yours. Maybe there’s one image (or more?) you’d like to have another go at – this is the time to do it and share with us!

3. You could use the review month as a ‘down’ month, just sharing a gallery and getting outside, taking lots of photos 😀

I’m pretty sure this is the option I’ll be choosing… ( maybeee )… I want / need to get out with the camera – Autumn is here!! ..April is Easter time and I’ll be hosting a Birthday party in my house as well!

4. We will share our One Four Challenge review posts, by linking up to my April review post and tag (as we usually do), so we can all find each other and see what others are doing for the review month.

5. Post whenever you like throughout April – weekly or once only. It’s up to you.

I’m going to start with one main post for April, where everyone can link up with all their gallery and review posts – and if you or I do more than one post in April, we’ll still link back to this one main post.

As April will be a variation on our theme, everyone’s link will be able to be found in one place (my post) plus Reader of course. Please tag as usual.

Thanks for reading this blurb – if you have any questions, please ask me. It’s a pretty flexible idea, within this framework.

My image:

Back to my lovely bunch of daisies this week, with a different look.  I know this won’t be everyone’s cup of tea – but I like it. This image process takes me to the 1980s – where they loved adding a light filtered look to ‘sort of romantic style’ images – my memories. Yes I was alive in the ’80s 😉

Please click for a larger, sharper view

#One-Four-Challenge_March-Wk-2_2015_Robyn-Gosby

I had no idea where to start this week, or even an inkling of what I might do – so I went exploring the Plugins and discovered I have Topaz Detail.  I didn’t know what I could do with that, so I started clicking buttons – a very high tech approach 😉

I came across a preset called Desaturated Blush. I liked the washed out look and saw a hint of purple in the shadows (being the complimentary colour of yellow) – Using the tint slider I raised the purple until I thought it looked right and exited Detail. It really brought out the detail in the flower stem too.

Next I went into Color Efex to add a ND layer ( I could have used a gradient in PS). The white flower on bottom left was stealing my attention, so I added a diagonal ND filter across that corner. Back into PS again.

Two Curves adjustment layers were next – one Contrast and one Red RGB adjustment – and finally a crop to finish.

Kind thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Wonder what you’ve done this week? Looking forward to seeing your 2nd edition!

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Have another great week and do hope you’re looking forward to our review week – I know I am 😀

97 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – March Week 2

    1. Oh yes I do agree about April Stacey – good morning 😃
      Thanks so much – I didn’t know what I’d do with my other 3 edits. This month will be one will be one of pure experimentation and play for me.

      Like

  1. I do like it! Maybe I’m simply revealing that I too was alive in the 80’s… But the pinky glow does feel very romantic. As much as I loved the sunniness of last week, this feels good for a different kind of occasion… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was alive in the ’80’s too! lol You caught the era perfectly with this look. I couldn’t help but chuckle at your high tech button clicking in Topaz Detail – I did the same thing this week in OnOne Software. Sometimes clicking gets the most interesting of results 🙂 I think this week is my favorite so far of your edits! Looking forward to the next couple of edits. And thank you again for this challenge, it is really helping me learn processing skills.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The other did get lost Chris – got this one though. Good morning!!
      Thanks so much. I had no idea what I might do and was happy to find something I liked. Glad you like it too 😃

      Like

  3. Hello Robyn!

    I’m digging this week’s edit of yours as well. It certainly does have a romantic look to it. Given your up close perspective, looking through the bouquet if you will, and the highlight on the biggest flower, this edit makes it that much more artistic. I can see this in a collection of wedding photos, or part of a movie montage where the main female character thinks back to their early days of love. It’s soft, it’s gentle and it’s thoughtful.

    Or it could even be used as a sympathy card. I think the edit enhances the emotion. 🙂 Thanks for the April Review Month Reminder btw.

    Here’s my link to my Week 2 for March:
    http://littlefacepublications.com/2015/03/one-four-challenge-wk-2-mar-2015/

    Like

    1. Hello eLPy 🙂 Thank you for your thoughts and as always the time you take to write what you are thinking.
      I’m glad you like the image and I really like your thoughts. This one really does evoke different emotions.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well thanks Janis – such a nice compliment. I like variety, hence the challenge I suppose 😉 I’m very glad you’re learning from it all. I know I am 😀

      Like

    1. Thanks heaps as always Sarah and for your thoughts.
      The monitors do make a huge difference don’t they? On my monitor, the image is warm tones of soft purple and yellow.
      I know if I’m viewing on the iPad, it looks completely different. This image might be one of those.
      I will mess around in the background and try your suggestions to see what happens. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Calibration on monitors is something that all pro photographers advise but our smartphones and tablets are just the way they are I think? It makes it very hard to know just how your image is going to appear on someone else’s device! I’m going to try a few edits that were suggested by others on previous images for the April review month 🙂

        Like

  4. Love the color hues! It does look like an 80’s photo 😉 Great idea, Robyn. The perspective on this image is so eye catching, I really like it. (which I think I said last week, but it is still true!)

    Like

    1. Ha ha.. Fun! Me too 😜
      Thanks Lore, Im very glad you like this one. I was surprised and happy with this one. Its turning out to be another tricky one though. Trying different things presently.
      Cant wait to get outside a bit more – its been such a hot dry summer. We are seeing some gorgeous morning and afternoon light now and the days are not so hot.
      Enjoy April 😃 I think its really important to recoup and refresh and we’ve done 5 months straight!
      Time to step back for those who need it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha.. another 70s, 80s person 🌟🌟
      Thanks Nic – once I saw the pale yellow, I thought the purple was the way to go. Glad you think so too.
      Im really pleased you’re up for a break in April – as I said to Lore, its been 5 months since we began. Phew!
      An amazing 5 months but I think a break is important too. Good to step back and catch our breath…and review.
      I had no idea the challenge would grow so much, so again a break (however we use it) will be good. Its amazing!!
      Its not good getting behind. Its the same for me here presently. Hope youre able to catch up soon.
      Looking forward to your cup of coffee this week ☕️☕️😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

