One Four Challenge – March Week 3

Hello hello and welcome to week 3! Wow, March is flying by..

What sort of week have you had?  Hope it’s been a good one and that you’ve had a challenging week deciding what to do for week 3 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you’ve done.  Mine has certainly been a challenging one, trying different things for this week’s edition!

Reminder:  April will not be a usual challenge month, but instead a review month and I think it’s going to be fun looking back.

#One-Four-Challenge_March-Wk-3_2015_Robyn-Gosby

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you! It’s great to have everyone joining in and to see what everyone is doing.

Review month for April

Just a repeat from last week’s post about our upcoming review month in April (not a challenge month).

April is going to be a review month  for the One Four Challenge – and not our usual editing posts. Play along if you can. It will be so good to look back at our work.  You could even start planning your post/s now if you want – what and how you will share – Read all about it here!

My image:

Phew… I’ve tried many things this week and it took me ages to decide what I liked.  I finally settled on this soft ethereal approach. Somehow this flower keeps taking me in that direction.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

#One-Four-Challenge_March-Wk-3_2015_Robyn-Gosby

To achieve this look, I started with the base image again from last week.

  • I went back to Topaz again and this time to Restyle, to change the colour of the flower from yellow to pink.  I tried doing this in PS with Hues, but I preferred the ‘full’ result in Restyle.
  • Back out to PS – a Shadow/Highlights adjustment and a Crop.
  • Added a BW layer at 50% opacity
  • Next I added an Action (layer) from the Coffee Shop blog named Rosy Light (this added a radial gradient of yellow, pink and purple). Blend mode – Luminosity at 56%.
  • Repeat Rosy Light Action with Blend mode – Screen at 40% and masked out centre to bring back detail.

That’s it for this week and it really did take a while to get here. I didn’t want solid detail in this image.  Once again, I was going for a softness with an ethereal feel.

Kind thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Wonder what you’ve done again this week? Looking forward to them all 🙂

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Remember one more week after this and then our review month in April 🙂  Have a great week!

100 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – March Week 3

    1. Oh geez Stacey, Im really glad youre ok and hopefully not too sore.
      Sorry about the car, but Im glad youre ok.
      Pleased you like the softness and colours. Thanks. Take care x

      Like

      1. Good news is I got the car back, still needs to be fixed but now I have a vehicle to drive which is the important thing!

        I really liked what you did with the gradient with this one, I need to try a softer image like this but my style seems to be more structural with a strong main object focus. Maybe should get that macro lens out of storage LOL

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Really pleased to hear you got the car back. Hope its all resolved soon for you 😃
        Thanks Stacey – Im pleased you like this one with the gradient. I do think we find our own styles and way of doing things.. but its such fun to experiment! By all means, unpack the Macro and have fun with it.
        Its good to look with different eyes 👀 he he

        Like

  1. I really like the color pallet this week Robyn. I also find myself looking more directly at the underside of the gerber and it feels like there is more space in the image, giving it a little more room to breathe. A beautiful edit, my favorite thus far…I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Carrie – I prefer these tones too. Yellow is not a favourite of mine, so its been challenging working with yellow.
      Pinks, reds and oranges are favourites 😃
      The under side of the gerbera was challenging too as its the darkest part of the image. Glad you think it works and thanks for your thoughts 🌸🌷🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Robyn, I love the soft pastel pink look of this one! The hairs on the stem look so delicate. 🙂 Great edit! My post is scheduled in a few minutes so you can enjoy the next version of the crocus soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely stunningly beautiful! I love love this. Restyle is a cool filter. It seems we have the same filters! I’ll have to check into those overlays. i have some but I’m not happy with them. I’ll enjoy seeing this image in other ways in the future! I’m sure you’ll do wonderful things with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well thanks heaps Laura – glad you like it 😜
      Restyle was good for this, as the original (wk 1) is soooo yellow!
      I might have 1 more edit for this one… Lol… Hope so. Fingers crossed xx

      Like

      1. Restyle is great but I’m not fond of their new interface with those flyout presets. Plus on the mac they don’t always work smoothly. I’ve already even talked with someone at Topaz about it LOL. Evidently I’m not alone but it may or may not be fixed. Alas! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Klara 😃
      Really pleased you like it!!

      I have to wait to comment on your site (need to be on a computer). Blogger wont let me comment on a mobile device (I tried). Really like both your weeks 2 and 3!!

      Like

  4. This is quite pretty, I think you succeeded in getting the soft ethereal effect you wanted. It really makes me think ‘wedding’, almost instantly. It’s amazing how some photos are what they are and you can’t change their emotion. I can see this photo always wants to be soft, gentle and thoughtful. I think this version is more feminine as well. Interesting edit. 🙂

    Rather late this week with my 3rd edit but here we have it:
    http://littlefacepublications.com/2015/03/one-four-challenge-wk-3-mar-2015/

    Like

Comments are closed.