One Four Challenge – May Week 1

Hello everyone!!.. and welcome back to the One Four Challenge.. I do hope you enjoyed our April Review month 🙂

One-Four-Challenge-May-Wk1a-RobynGosby

I’m feeling refreshed after a break and hope you are too ( although I’m currently battling the flu ) ..lol.. oh dear.  April did turn out to be a very busy month for me, so I was thankful to take the break.

Are you ready for May?  Hope so 🙂 Come and join in if you can!

A bit about the review month/s

I really enjoyed seeing the way people approached the month and I was glad to see others taking a break. I grabbed the chance to revisit one of my images and that was fun.. Going back with different eyes was great!

The review month was, I think,  a success – I hope you’ll agree. As usual I have a bit of catching up to do with our challenge posts, but not too many 😛

I’d love to hear your thoughts..

One thing I became aware of throughout the break, was that others were feeling tired and I was too. We did 5 months straight! An awesome effort for us all.

With that in mind, I’d like to keep going with the Review month. Not yet of course – we’re back and ready to go again!!

This is what I have in mind – and this way we can plan ahead.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

I do hope you like this idea. I think it will keep us refreshed and the creative juices flowing!

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you! (Note: some blogging platforms will not allow comments from mobile devices).
  • It’s great to have everyone joining in!! 😀

My image:

For my image this month, I’m starting with B&W.  To be honest I was looking for something that was ‘less of a closeup’ but that wasn’t to be this time around, due to limitations with the weather and my health (just the flu).

Please click for a larger, sharper view

One-Four-Challenge-May-Wk1a-RobynGosby
Autumn in a vase

To achieve this look, I started in Camera Raw – raising Clarity and Shadows.

Next out in PS, I added a Curves Contrast layer, a Black and White layer, Sharpening and lastly a Red Filter layer.

That’s it for this week.  Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Are you ready to get back into the challenge?  I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has decided upon for their May image.

Lets go again!! Ready, Set, Go 😀

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Have a great week everyone… thanks again for reading this post.

79 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – May Week 1

    1. Good morning Chris 😃 It is good to be back isn’t it?
      Thank you. Im so pleased you like my start for May in mono. Trying to think outside the box 😉

      Like

  1. Hi Robyn, it is nice to be back. I enjoyed the break and I think it is great to have those breaks built into this challenge. It’s true, it is challenging coming up with so many edits each month. So much growth potential but always good to fill up the creative juices again too.
    I am enjoying your image for this month, I really like how the focus on the leaf brings your eye into the corner of the images. Since my eye instantly goes to the white portion of the image it works perfectly. I also like the bit of red tone to the black and white, it is just enough. Oh and the leaf shapes are so lovely too. I am going to enjoy this image over the next month…I can already tell. Nice pick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Carrie – it is nice to be back 😀
      I’m so pleased you agree about the Review months – good to keep those juices flowing!
      Thank you. I’m glad you like this first process. The Autumn leaves have been so lovely this year and I thought I’d celebrate Autumn with this one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Our first One Four Challenge was right in the thick of Fall for us, my first image was leaves too, I love them. What a treat to get to see them as we are in the thick of spring 🙂
        Yes on the rest time, great plan! I didn’t even realize how much I needed it. I was ready to dig in again and excited to post today!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Been a while for me here too, but I’m on again this month, Robyn. 🙂 I’ll add a post today.
    This is a great image to resume the challenge — the light and contrast are just wonderful. Waiting to see what you have in store for the next three weeks…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really pleased youre joining us again Anita Welcome back! 😃😃
      Will look forward to reading your post.
      Thank you – Im pleased you like my choice for the month. The light grabbed my attention. Not sure where it’ll take me, but it will be fun!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Cee 😃 So pleased you like it. No idea where it’ll take me. It will be fun exploring. Thanks!!
      Look forward to seeing your May image.

      Like

    1. Hi Klara – leaving you a message here. Im unable to comment presently on your blog.
      I love your choice of image this month. Wonderful image, like liquid silver 😃

      Like

    1. Hi Debbie – thanks 😃
      Its funny – even though I know what the colour looks like, I agree with you. The b&w allows the shapes and light to be the focus.
      Look forward to seeing yours. The title sounds intriguing 😃😃

      Like

  3. The black and white toning is delicate and the split tone is soft enough that it brings out the details in the leaves. very nice edit.

    I did like having last month to look back at my edits and I can understand why you would want to make those breaks regular. I feel that if they are too regular the challenge could loose momentum, people take a break and then forget that it started up again ect. I can also understand you wanting a break from running the challenge as it can be time consuming. Personallyi think review months every 6 months would work well, as enough time has passed from the last review and the images, that readers will be seeing the post with less memory of what you did before This is just my 2 cents.

    Like

    1. Hi Ben – this is my second attempt at replying – computer keeps spitting me off..
      Firstly, thank you. I appreciate your comment regarding the B&W – I felt that’s where I wanted to start this time 🙂
      I’m glad you like it.

      Secondly, thanks for taking the time to write down your thoughts regarding the challenge and the review months.
      I’m glad you enjoyed looking back. I certainly enjoyed your Ultimate edits and I still have one more to comment on as yet 😉

      Those same thoughts have crossed my mind, but I’ve been listening to people and I felt like many of us thought 5 months was too long… (I know some didn’t and missed the momentum). The review month doesn’t need to be a break away – but time to revisit the 3 months images.
      Another reason I wanted to do 3 monthly, is because it fits nicely into a year (12 months) and we know which months are challenge months and which are review months.

      Yes, it’s grown, much to my surprise – I thought a few people might join me…lol
      I’m all for balance though and for keeping something going, rather than becoming tired and losing interest.
      I wonder – would you mind if we try it this way for the year and see what we think? I’m happy to adapt if necessary.
      This is not discounting in any way your thoughts. They are important..
      Thanks Ben – what do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Robyn this is your baby, and I am happy to go with the flow and appreciate that you have taken the time to listen to the community of bloggers who have joined this challenge. Let’s keep to this plan and in a year we can look back and see if something needs to be tweaked or not.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.