One Four Challenge – May Week 2

Hello again everyone!!.. I do hope you’ve had a good week 🙂 Mine has been predominantly a working week, but it was productive, with fun stuff thrown in so that’s good… and I made time to work on my One Four Challenge image, so even better!

Please click for a larger, sharper view

A hint of Autumn
A hint of Autumn

It’s great to see so many of our challenge players back again, after the break and some very nice chosen images too.  So looking forward to seeing how we all process them this month.

I haven’t got lots to say this week… well so far..lol

I’m leaving the blurb below about the review month and how it’s going to integrate and become part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. Some kept going with their challenge posts, revisiting and continuing with previous challenge images and experiments – others took a much needed break – the idea was to make the month our own, using it how we wanted to – it was great to see the different approaches.. and ideas!!

A bit about the review month/s

I think it was a success – I hope you’ll agree. What did you think?

One thing I became aware of throughout the break, was that others were feeling tired and I was too. We did 5 months straight! An awesome effort for us all.  With that in mind, I’d like to keep going with the Review month.

This is what I have in mind – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

I do hope you like this idea. I think it will keep us refreshed and the creative juices flowing! We’ll try this until say, January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you! (Note: some blogging platforms will not allow comments from mobile devices).
  • It’s great to have everyone joining in!! 😀

My image:

Last week I started with B&W and going forward this week I decided to keep it fairly subtle again.. Kind of building up to Autumn colours – I think anyway..

Please click for a larger, sharper view

A hint of Autumn
A hint of Autumn

I kept going forward from last week’s image.

I reduced the B&W layer in blending mode so that about half of the colour shone through from the previous layer. I removed the Red filter for this one and cropped the image. Using the paint brush I brushed out part of the leaf behind the main front leaf.  It was too heavy for the crop.

I’m pretty sure that was all I did for week 2.  Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated! I think the leaves seem to dance more now…

Your Image:

It always exciting to see our chosen images for the new month.  It’s fun to be back and to see what everyone is working on.  Looking forward to seeing your second editions this week 🙂

It’s also great to have some new people joining us again. Welcome!!

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Here we are at week 2 already – phew!  Have a great one and have fun along the way!!

Robyn xx

112 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – May Week 2

    1. Oh thanks Nic 😃 Im really glad you like this version and glad also, that you can see them dancing!
      Good on you for taking time out. Hope you feel refreshed. I do the same – its good for the soul 😃
      Thanks for your feedback on the review month. Im happy you think it will work for you too.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning Chris 😃 Thank you. The Autumn leaves were so pretty this year.
      The B&W layering doesn’t work with every image, but I felt it did work in this one.
      It can add depth, but it may also lighten the light areas too – I tend to play with blend modes and opacity to find what I like…and to see if it will work with an image. You can always mask out stuff you dont like too.
      This time, I wanted to make the colours more subtle, so I used the b&w layer for that, with the original colour layer underneath.
      Hope this makes sense 😜

      Like

    1. ..and good morning to you! 😀 Thanks, so glad you like it – of course, the colours were stronger in life, but I’m working up to that 😉
      So happy to be of inspiration… you certainly inspire me! Have fun with it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Morning from me Laura 😀
      What you are seeing as shadows are leaves behind other leaves.. The only shadows are on the leaves themselves.
      Must pop by and see if you posted your flash image… are you enjoying it?

      Like

      1. Morning Robyn. :)) Ahhh…thank you for that explanation. And silly me I forgot to say the most important part: beautiful photo! I posted one flash image so far. I was testing it out yesterday and reading about flash which is getting me to learn more about exposure. I must admit I’ve been a bit lax because I’m trying to get my fine art america store up and connected to smugmug via LR. It’s tedious but it’ll be nice when it’s done. Thank you for asking! Hope you had a nice Mother’s Day. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s a pleasure Laura and thank you.. yes a lovely Mother’s Day. Hope you had the same xx
        I didn’t find your maple image on your blog.. perhaps somewhere else?
        Good luck with setting up your store – it’s a huge job.. and kind of an ongoing one!!
        Wishing you every success 😀

        Like

      3. Oh I confused you…I do that sometimes. I didn’t post the maple flash. I didn’t have the best branch and meant to get a new one but I haven’t been around much today. I will do it soon! Thanks for the wishes. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Lovely autumn shot Robyn, being down Gulgong and Orange way I really loved all the colour and snapped away… I wish we had it up here but not the cold 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes the temps dropped on Saturday and its cold.
        We run colder than Lithgow. Highest temps today, about 9 deg C 😳 Wood fire makes it very pleasant though 😃
        Do hope we can catch up sometime and have a yakkathon!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the subtle colors in this version, Robyn! The play of light is different from the monochrome of last week. It’s already getting difficult to decide which one I like better, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love the coloring of this image. Those details in the leaves are reminding me of beautiful hand stitching for some reason. Really lovely image. You get so much controlled softness in your images, I am always impressed with their feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carrie – I always appreciate your comments.
      Fine detail is something I love. I have done fine embroidery work most of my life and I know it affects how I see.
      Feeling my images is also very important to me. If I dont, its not what I want or I havent gotten there yet.
      This is a bit garbled, but hope it makes sense.
      Thank you very much. You have hit on the things I strive for 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jackie – so glad you found the challenge and that you’re joining us! Welcome!
      Hope you find this comment… Just to let you know, I do comment on blogspot, but seem to have trouble leaving comments and I’m never sure if they go through.
      I will always leave a reply on my post (for blogspot links), as a reply comment to you 🙂

      Like

  4. I often do several versions of an image and have my wife critique my work. Sometimes I listen to her if I didn’t have a clear direction in the first place- sometime’s not. I think I want to join in with you guys again if you have the room. I will ping back when I have something for you.! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Emilio 😃
      Very nice to hear from you!
      I think its great to get a second opinion / set of eyes when you need them.
      Sometimes I’ll ask for opinions here too.
      You are very welcome to join in with us anytime! We do have room 😃

      Like

  5. How rude of me not to even comment about your post. That’s what I came here for but carried away with the fun. A hint of Autumn? What are you thinkig? We’ve only just started with spring! But I do love the colors. What’s more, I think the background you chose really accents your focus. A really nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha.. Thats fine 😃 It is fun!
      I know, the opposite seasons seem crazy. Autumn was very short, but gorgeous this year. The colours were fantastic and so pretty. Thanks for your comment 😃

      Like

    1. I love Autumn colours too.. and thank you Michelle – such a nice thing to say 😃
      Sounds like you had the best time away with friends and do hope your shoot went well. The One Four is not as important as that 😜
      Looking forward to your post!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello everyone, My name is Jenny and I have a little blog I like to call Bulldog Travels. I recently stumbled upon this great One Four Challenge and thought I had a fun photo to contribute. Please check out my motorcycle photo submission which I edited on my iPhone with an app called Enlight. I am pretty amazed and how easy it was to edit my photo within this app all on my PHONE.

    I took the liberty of attaching all of the images in one post. Sorry for that but I hope you enjoy it for the spirit in which it was intended…

    Happy Travels!

    https://bulldogtravels.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/captivate-me-one-four-challenge-country-road/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Robyn, the image above is gorgeous! I always love your work. I have been amiss from the world of blogging as I have been so busy with life – family and work – the past two months. I am so glad you stopped by my blog tonight, which brought me back to your blog for the refreshing beauty found here! XO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robyn, so great to hear from you! 🙂
      Being busy with life can be very good. Saw your gorgeous flower this morning. As always, beautiful!
      Thank you for your lovely comment – so appreciated! xo 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.