One Four Challenge – May Week 4

Welcome to another week, One Four Challengers!

I hope you’ve had some fun this week discovering something new or finding an end result that you really like. I found some time to experiment with something new 🙂

Please click for a larger, sharper view

One-Four-Challenge-May-Wk4-RobynGosby

This week I followed a tutorial to give me my week 4 end result… more about that further on.

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

As I said above, I used a tutorial this week which created a graphic version of my Autumn leaves.

Inspired by Lynne who’s been using the median filter this month- I wanted to give it a try for myself.  With no idea where to find it and not having used it before, I did a search on how to use it in PS.  I found it under the Noise filter and also found the tutorial that uses it to create a water colour effect. You’ll find this tutorial here.

I’m starting with last week’s image file again. I added a couple more very soft water colour marks into the background.

Next (using the tute), I created a layer using the Filter Gallery – Cut Out – Blend mode / Luminosity 50%.  Again another layer using the Filter Gallery – Dry Brush – Blend mode / Screen 100% and finally another layer – This time using Noise, Median – Blend Mode / Soft Light 60%…and finally I reduced the brightness.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

One-Four-Challenge-May-Wk4-RobynGosby

This is my final result for May.  As Nic suggested, I was going for a very colourful finish!!  Good guess Nic 😀

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

..and because it’s week 4, I’m including a gallery of all of my images for May.. I’ve really enjoyed this image.  It hasn’t been a hard one to work with. Phew! 😛

I’m also including a poll, so that you can vote for your favourite, if you’d like .

 

Your Image:

How did you go?  Looking forward to seeing what you’ve done again this week and your May finale!!

I am still making my way through everyone’s posts – please do bear with me – I’m a little busy with my day job presently 😉

Ok, let’s finish May in grand style and cheer each other on 😀

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s

The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about it ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Have a great one!!

Robyn xx

71 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – May Week 4

    1. Ha! I was just thinking about you 😃😃
      Yes Im well thanks. Hope you are too x
      Really pleased you like it Lis. Its an interesting one and worth a look I think. Its always good to learn 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love this weeks image Robyn and thanks for the tute to be able to have a go ourselves. Still trying to make some sense of the shots I took while away but life’s good, hope all is well on the slopes and plains.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I may be going out on a limb here, I really like the original image. Although, I love the effect you pulled off this week, it is really beautiful. The light and pop of everything is beautiful. The original image has hints of orange that give an extra level of season and naturalness that I would love to see with this week’s effect. I hope I am making sense? Anyway, beautiful efforts this month Robyn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that completely makes sense! Hi Carrie 😃
      Art is in the eye of the beholder and Im really pleased you like the original. I did try the oranges first, but preferred the reds myself.
      I appreciate your thoughts and think we could keep going with more editions…ha ha!

      Like

    1. Thanks very much Katie – Ive enjoyed this image. Wasnt too sure I would for a whole month 😃
      Hope you do enjoy the tute. Tonight Ive been using it on another image and it seems to work. I like it. Have fun with it 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Ben. The median filter is an interesting one and I do like the combination of the 3 filters. I think I’ll do some more research and experimenting with this one.
      The image wouldn’t have been my first choice, but I hadn’t been out with the camera for ages – its turned out to be quite fun to work with 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

