One Four Challenge –June Week 1

Hi everyone and welcome to June’s One Four Challenge!

Bottle tops
Bottle tops

I know I kept saying it, but I really felt like the month of May just flew on past.

It was good to see everyone’s images for May – I always enjoy seeing ‘our choices’ for each month and this one will be no exception. Let’s do June 😀

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

This month I’m going to try some experiments with light and surface to see what I can bring out of this image.  I’m not sure why, but I find this image kind of curious.. I think it is the light and all the surfaces that grab my attention.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

Bottle tops
Bottle tops

For this first week, my changes were fairly simple.

In Camera Raw, I raised Clarity and Shadows.  Out in PS I added a B&W layer at 50%, added a Curves layer, then took it into Topaz Adjust to create a Split tone effect and a touch of HDR to bring out some detail.

That’s a pretty basic explanation of my process this week.

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Now over to you for June 🙂  Looking forward to your image and your processing this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s

The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about it ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Wishing us all a fun month and plenty of experimentation and learning.  Let’s go again! 😀

Robyn xx

93 thoughts on “One Four Challenge –June Week 1

  1. Love it, Robyn! There is an element of mystery about it – I think it’s the light on the metal and those shadows behind. It’ll be great to see where you go with this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Such a nice comment 😃 You are right. No mystery as to what is is – but I think it will be interesting exploring the surfaces within this image. A different approach this month 😃😃

      Like

  2. What consists of normal life for me resumes in July, I have an exam and stuff next month so I may not be playing again, but I am around and will be back, promise! I miss my Monday One Four updates!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is some great light and those sliver surfaces and shapes of the bottles are intriguing. I can see why you want to play around with this image. This is such a great edit, I can see it HUGE in a restaurant or modern bar, easy. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The light was fantastic Carrie. It is what caught my eye + shiny things..lol
      Oh cool! That is such a nice compliment. Thank you 😃

      Like

  4. Wow Robyn … I never knew bottle caps could look so good. BTW … I stopped and said ‘wow’ as soon as I saw this. Clever you … Photoshop seems so darn daunting to me. But I’m having a lesson with Leanne this week … yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jules 😃
      PS takes time, but is so worth it. I think we’re always learning!
      Have the best time learning with Leanne – you’ll learn heaps 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Chris – I have no idea as to the Genie yet, but it should be fun 😃
      Im having issues commenting from mobile device also…and done 😜

      Like

    1. Your image this month shows some intricate detail in the carving and I do like the split tones. Is it a door? Lovely workmanship 😃

      Like

    1. Thank you Kirsten 😃 Glad you think so. It caught my eye, with rhyme or reason, except perhaps shiny things…lol

      Have to tell you, I love what you are doing on your blog. Beautiful 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like shiny things :-). What I really like about it is that I wanted to know more. Such as: what is in the bottles? Why were they all lined up? Is there a party going on in the background? That you so much for your encouraging words about my blog. I’ve been kind of struggling what to do with it. I’m still not sure, but I’m just trying to go where I feel led 😃

        Like

      2. Keep trying with your blog Kirsten – I really like the direction you are taking presently. I think it’s tricky finding our place – especially conveying online visions with all that we do in our artistic endeavours.
        I’m so pleased you had questions about my image – I love that 😀 Yes Shiny things…lol!!
        Hopefully I’ll find some interesting directions from this one.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know you will take us on many more visual adventures over the next couple of weeks with your image!! I think blogging is helping me to figure what kind of artist I want to be. Over time I will settle into a niche that is my very own artistic personality. Until then I will keep experimenting 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Lore – lovely to hear from you. Hope you had a great holiday!
      I’m hoping this will be an image that I can learn from and experiment with. Thank you!

      Like

  5. Oh I really like your image this month. This week’s version is really cool, I like the red-tone of it all. I like the shallow depth of field here, it makes me think of a bottling factory conveyor belt, probably because there are 7 bottles, six surrounding the one, rather in a 6-pack placement. Anyway, I really like this image. 😀 I’m excited to see what the next three weeks will look like.

    Here’s my submission this week… http://photography-by-nic.com/2015/06/03/one-four-challenge-june-week-1/

    Like

    1. Thanks Nic – I’m glad you like it… I took this because of the light and shiny things 😉 I kept thinking about it. It does have the feel of a bottling factory doesn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This challenge has really grown since I was last here. I am looking forward to participating again. It was really a wonderful learning experience last time. I have linked to the challenge and your blog. Off to check out the other participants.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.