One Four Challenge –June Week 2

A belated good morning from me and welcome to week 2!

#One-Four-Challenge-June-Wk2a-RobynGosby

It’s great to have new people joining us and it t was good to see everyone’s images for June.  Looking forward to the changes and different editions.

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

As I said last week, I’m going to try some experiments with light and surface with this image, to see what I can find.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

#One-Four-Challenge-June-Wk2a-RobynGosby

Edit: Adding my description for processing this week…

My aim this month is to try and experiment in ways that show surface.  This week, I’ve been experimenting with bringing out the bottle that is in focus and to make it seem more tactile.

Starting with the same PS file as last week (the base image) I went to the Plastic Wrap filter in the PS photo gallery to try and bring a raised effect to the glass. After applying this, I then created a mask to take away this effect from all but the bottle.

Next I adjusted Levels and raised the yellows in Hue Saturation. I cropped the image and added selective focus using Analog Efex with my own created preset.  Back in PS, I’ve been fiddling around with Gradient Maps and I found I liked the Purple Yellow addition to this image.  It seemed to make the bottles more ‘amber’ which is what I was wanting here.

Lastly I created a highlight in the left top corner with the paintbrush.  That’s it 🙂 Truly lots of experimenting this week.. and fun!

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Over to you again and looking forward to seeing what you’ve done this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s
The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about it ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.
  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Be inspired this week!! 😀

Robyn xx

64 thoughts on “One Four Challenge –June Week 2

    1. Thanks Marsha – that’s exactly what I was going for here… to make it feel tactile.
      A much darker image than I would normally offer, but that’s what we are doing – trying different stuff 😀

      Like

  1. Well my comment is exactly what I expected it to be. I loved the first week’s processing so much that I didn’t think you’d be able to unseat it as my favorite. This is a close second, though. There was just something about the sepia tones over old fashioned glass bottles in week 1. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Emilio, I’m pleased you have a firm favourite! To be honest I think it’s going to be tricky to do better, but I will certainly give it my best!! 😀 😀

      Like

    1. Thanks Kirsten – yes I see what you mean. It does have an old time feel. I’m glad about that 🙂
      This image was taken at a birthday party in April… I’m unsure as to whether I took any of the bottles lined up.. I’ll check it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I liked the softness of last week, the contrast and saturation as well as the details you have extracted this have really made the image pop. I quite like it, I have never though of using plastic wrap this way,it is something to think about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ben – it really was an experiment. I was trying to think of things that would create surface.. it did seem to work I think.
      Glad you like it and that it’s given you food for thought 🙂
      Next week’s is completely different!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is amazing, Robyn! You can really feel (er… see) the texture of the bottle and cap that is in focus. I really like the amber effect as well, I’m craving a Root beer now! 😀

    I meant to stop by yesterday, but I got wrapped up in a project right after I hit publish on my own post. And I just realized a few minutes ago that I was linking to your last week’s post, so I just fixed that. I don’t know if the ping-back will work on an edited published post, so I’ll add my link here (even though you’ve already visited me this week).

    http://photography-by-nic.com/2015/06/08/one-four-challenge-june-week-2/

    Like

      1. Thanks for letting me know about the ping-back… sometimes you just don’t know what is going to happen to all the links when you edit a published post. 😀

        Like

    1. Klara, I really like your image this week! The split toning seems to bring out more detail and I like the depth it has given to the hinges and the timber. 😀
      I did try to leave you a comment on your blog too.

      Like

Comments are closed.