One Four Challenge –July Week 1

Hello and a warm welcome once again to the One Four Challenge.. and the 1st Monday in July.

I hope you’ve enjoyed an extra week this time around and have found something interesting to work with for July…

One-Four-Challenge-July-Wk1-Ducks-in-a-row-RobynGosby-2015

I’ve chosen something that I think will be a challenge for me this month… an everyday kind of image….

A quick reminder too, that August will be our next review month. Read more about our review months further down in this post.

Let’s go for July 😀

Tagging:

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

This time around I was hoping to find something a bit different. I really do like ‘everyday’ images – quite often we miss them.  This family of ducks caught my eye the other day – they were bathing and preening in the golden morning light.  I stood for ages watching them.

They have such character – the way they walk and watch each other. I really wonder what they were thinking 😀

Please click for a larger, sharper view

One-Four-Challenge-July-Wk1-Ducks-in-a-row-RobynGosby-2015

For this first week, I adjusted highlights and shadows and added some clarity in ACR.

In PS I added a Curves layer with a slight touch of red. Next was to add a touch of selective focus and a vignette.

I felt there was something comical and very disorganised going on in this image – it seemed to me they were trying to ‘get all their ducks in a row’..or not?

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

Over to you once again – this time for July 🙂  Looking forward to seeing your chosen image and your processing this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s

The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about our review months ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Wishing us another fun and rewarding month, with plenty of experimentation and learning 😀 😀

Robyn xx

80 thoughts on “One Four Challenge –July Week 1

    1. I so agree Eliza 😃 I watch birds whenever I can. They are so interesting and enjoyable with their own ways.
      These ducks were characters.
      Looking forward to another Monet!!

      Like

    1. Morning Chris! 😃
      It certainly was bright – love it when the sun creates fabulous colour after rain.
      Looking forward to another challenge month 😃

      Like

    1. Love your lake and your image!!
      Ha ha thanks- yes I do hope to have some fun 😀 I’d really like to try being creative with the image.. we’ll see what results my experiments give.
      As I said, you’ve inspired me!!

      Like

  1. All your ducks in a row, indeed! I’m going to to duck out of this month, I don’t feel inspired by post-processing at present – perhaps back later in the year…. 😧

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes ducks in a row… perhaps? 😉
      Oh Sue I do understand – it’s so hard to create when we’re not inspired.
      We will certainly miss you and your fab editions xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Debbie – I can’t wait to see what I do with it either 😉
      Just an inkling of an idea presently 😀 We’ll have to cheer each other along ‘out of our comfort zones’ 😀
      Looking forward to seeing your flower. It is so good to try different things!

      Like

    1. Hello Cee 😀 Glad you’re back again for July.
      Thanks – I do hope this will be an interesting image and a fun one to work with. I do have a random idea for week 2 – let’s see if I can make it work 😀
      Looking forward to your July image.

      Like

  2. I adore ducks, we have a lot of them here in the City cos we have two big rivers running through it and lots of streams. Several times they land in my street and wander about the place exploring and giving the cats heart attacks. Its fun to go down to the river and like you say, just sit and watch them. I find ducks oddly calming for some reason 🙂

    This month I did something different, I have used a friends image, she is just starting out learning photography and I offered to edit a couple of her pix in LR so she could see the difference, and I liked one so much I decided to nab it for this months challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome back Stacey! Great to have you joining us again 🙂 Hope all your studies went well.
      Yes I too love watching ducks and chooks! A great past time.. a great leveler when things are busy or just anytime. Funny about the cats…lol
      Ooh, can’t wait to see your friend’s image – that’s a great idea 😀

      Like

      1. Yes ducks are big enough that the cats think twice about jumping on them so they kind of hover at a safe distance, thinking about it really hard 🙂

        Glad to be back!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. What a cool picture, Robyn. Ducks are such funny characters. These look like a group of teenagers about to get into some mischief. I love the lighting in your photo. I wonder where you will go this month with your edits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 😃 Honestly I have no firm ideas as yet. Doing a bit of experimenting. Good luck with 3 and 4 and good that you have wk 2 worked out already 😃😃

      Like

  4. Everyday images hold their own challenges. These ducks look interesting and I am sure you will work your magic as you always do! Looking forward to seeing where you go with them, I love watching ducks wander…well not as much as my youngest, he is a much bigger fan than me 🙂 They do have a way about them that is wonderful to take the time to take in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right Carrie – everyday images can be tricky.
      I’ve really had to think with this one (for week 2) and I’ve done some learning this week. I love that!! Such a generous comment – thank you as always 😀
      Ducks are just fabulous.. and so are chickens/hens (Chooks to us). Your youngest has great taste. Gotta love watching ducks 😀
      Thankyou Carrie 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Ben – have been trying a few thing, but nothing I’m happy with so far. Do like this week’s.. Need an infusion of creativity!!

      Like

Comments are closed.