One Four Challenge –July Week 2

Ok, well here we are at week 2 of our challenge already for July.  I do hope you’ve had some time to try new ideas with your July image this week.

Ducks in a row?
Ducks in a row?

We have some new players joining us this month – welcome! .. and some of our regular players are taking a rest break. Do enjoy and know you’ll be missed!

Reminder: August will be our next review month -this means time out OR time to review something we’ve worked on previously – the choice is ours, but our regular weekly posts don’t happen over August. Read more about our review months further down in this post.

Looking forward to seeing what everyone has done again this week. 😀 😀

Could I please ask everyone to make sure they are tagging in their One Four posts – I’m missing posts. I know sometimes we do tag and they still don’t show up in Reader. It’d be great to check that we are tagging please and hopefully they will show up in Reader (when tagged). This way it’s easy to find all the One Four posts in one place. Thank you! 🙂

Tagging: (the usual blurb)

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

I started week 2 with no clue as to how I was going to proceed… suffice to say I tried quite a few things – many I didn’t like at all. I just wasn’t sure where to go with the image. I needed to stop and think about what I really like and what appeals to me.. and then I started wondering about a wide view to bring us in closer to the ducks (which is how we view it anyway – wide- with our own eyes), which then led off into research on Composition.  I love weeks like this and I really liked the wider view.

Please click for a larger, sharper view

Ducks in a row?
Ducks in a row?

So for this week my steps were:  Crop first this time and get happy with my composition. In last week’s image there was too much foreground, which was the ratio from my camera.  I then added detail and some selective focus using my own recipe in Analog Efex. I could do this in PS, but I have this preset already set up, so I like to use it, when needed. Next I went into Topaz Adjust and selected a toned pink adjustment, which I suppose is really split toning using red and green.  I like the way this knocks the image back to almost monochrome, but leaves a hint of colour.

I did some cloning, dodging and burning and added a touch of ‘water splash’ brush over the top to mimic the duck in the background shaking off water… which is hard to see.

I enjoyed working through this week to achieve my result.

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Here are a couple of links – on widescreen ratios and composition. Worth a read to see if they might resonate in some way with you.

By Scott Kelby. By Ming Thein.

Your Image:

Over to you once again – and looking forward to seeing your processing again this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s

The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about our review months ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

Hoping you’re enjoying the month so far 😀

Robyn xx

PS: We have some wintery weather forecast for this weekend, moving into the beginning of the week. Sometimes it can affect our internet access, so if I don’t appear on Monday (writing this on Saturday), I’ll show up as soon as I’m able.  Looking forward to seeing everyone’s posts for week 2 🙂

64 thoughts on “One Four Challenge –July Week 2

    1. Morning Chris 😃 I have Internet access for now. Not yesterday though. We are not stranded thankfully. Roads are closed. We still have snow, some rain and ice. Cold and so pretty!
      I’m really pleased you like my choices for this week. Thank you 😃I did lots of thinking, experimenting and learning. Awesome!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I like this a lot, it almost looks a bit tilt shifted and the colours work really well. So glad you cleaned up the foreground, its a big improvement 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Stacey – yes I agree about the tilt shift although that was a by product to get rid of some of the foreground. Glad you like it 🙂 Wonder what’s next?

      Like

  2. I do like the desaturated look and almost old photo appeal. Crops can be very effective. Oh I think you’ve missed my week one because I didn’t link!! What!! no comment from Robyn!!? lol. No worries- here is my link to week two.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, we had the same idea this week. Isn’t it great when you manage to change the image by doing something you usually overlook? Your image looks great in this edit, it really works, the crop and the slight burn effect.

    Like

    1. Yes we did 😃😃
      This one needed change 😜 My point of taking the photo was fixed and so was the lens, so I was as close as I could be. The foreground as it was, was distracting, so I do think this worked.
      Glad you like it – thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really love the crop you did on this week’s edit, Robyn! It makes me see details in the photo that i didn’t notice last week. I like the tone too. I apologize for not participating this week. I will play catch up next week 🙂 I’m working on a project to raise money for my photography trip to Australia. It’s kind of consumed my time.

    Like

    1. Hey Kirsten – a late reply with my thanks!
      Ooh, I hope we might get to meet up when you come out here… I can get to Sydney, so fingers crossed xx
      You’ll have an awesome time with L 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That would be such fun to meet up with you in Sydney! It will be so wonderful to faces to names and such. I’m so excited about hanging out with Leanne for a couple of weeks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.