One Four Challenge –July Week 4.. and a poll

It’s week 4 once again.. of our One Four Challenge.. and we are already at the end of July!  I hope you’ve made some great discoveries this month – I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s week 4 images.. and I have a few things to tell you about, in this post. Grab a cuppa! 😉

One-Four-Challenge-July-Wk4 Ducks-in-Las-Vegas-RobynGosby-2015

The Ducks have been to Las Vegas!! More on that further on 😉

August Review Month

Ok, next month will be our 2nd review month, so the challenge won’t run as per usual throughout August.

This review month is all about looking back at our images and what we’ve achieved so far in the One Four Challenge… ( and if we are inclined – to revisit / rework, some of our images – this is optional ). The Review Month is open to ALL participants of the One Four Challenge – whether you’ve only joined in once or every month!

Throughout August, we will share a gallery of our works – from the editions we have created so far – from May to July – or whenever you joined us.

Ideas – these are additional to a gallery and completely optional.

  1. Rework or Revisit some / any / none of your previous One Four challenge images. Maybe there’s an image that you’d really like to go back to and have another go – this is the time to do it and share with us
  2. A Down Month – You could use the review month as a ‘down’ month, just sharing a gallery and getting outside, taking lots of photos!
  3. Post whenever you like throughout August – weekly or once only – link up to my review post ( I’ll post at the beginning of August – and tag as usual ), so we can still find each other’s posts throughout the month.

There were some wonderfully creative posts in our last Review Month – April.. Lots of folks used it how they wanted and it was such fun seeing what everyone did.

Voting.. and a Gallery

Just a little info for our newbies 😀 Typically we vote on each others images this week, for our favourites from the month.  Be sure to let each other know your favourites, whether it be in a poll or in a comment 🙂  You can create a new poll through Feedback on your WP menu.  See my poll further on in this post.

This is also the week to share a gallery of the month’s editions and I like to share my original too at the end of the month.. we each do what suits us.  Be sure to check out the galleries too!

Tagging: (the usual blurb)

Please keep tagging your post with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in Reader… and link up here too – leaving your post link in comments!

  • If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • (Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work, so look for them here please).

My image:

I kinda knew, when I chose this image for the month, that I was making work for myself, but I liked the image and I remember the mood and what I saw on the day. I’m not someone who generally visualises what I’m doing ahead of time – usually I like to experiment, play and learn along the way.  I certainly did that this month with added time restrictions imposed by my schedule.

..and this week Emilio and I added an extra challenge for ourselves – we decided to swap our images.  I had ducks and Emilio had water 😀 We weren’t sure whether we’d combine the images or simply process each other’s images.  I’m very much looking forward to seeing what Emilio has done with the ducks.  Hope they weren’t too much a headache for you Emilio 😉

One-Four-Challenge-July-Wk4 Ducks-in-Las-Vegas-RobynGosby-2015

– Click for a larger view

I really wanted to combine our images.. it nearly didn’t happen…lol.. I tried so many different things, wanting the elements of the two, to be coherent / to be able to be read as one. To finally pull them together I combined them all as a painterly layer… there were many steps prior to this! 😉

I know I won’t remember everything this week, but here are the basics.

Open Emilio’s image in PS – crop and straighten – select, copy and flip the top half of the image. Create and add a glass ripple effect using the Filter Gallery. Experiment with Blend modes and Opacity. Mask out unwanted information.

Open my base image in PS – select the ducks and copy onto a new layer. Position where they looked best…fingers crossed! Create and add shadow layer for the ducks.  Added a warming Photo Filter.  Dodged and Burned where necessary.

This week I’ve been trialling Topaz Impression, so I thought I’d take the combined image into Impression to see if I liked anything… I tried a few presets and I have to say I’m amazed at how this program emulates real art media.  It’s pretty good.  I must confess too that I usually feel like this is cheating – Oh I know – a can of worms (for another day) – but… I allowed myself to enjoy this experiment and after trying a few things, I chose this Van Gogh selection  (the real Impressionists are some of my absolute favourites) made some adjustments and decided after standing back to view it for a while, that I was happy.  I think it works.

What are your thoughts if any? Kind comments are always appreciated.

Emilio 🙂 I hope I’ve done your image justice and I must say, “I think the ducks enjoyed their visit to Las Vegas.” You’re fun and generous. Thanks! 😀

Now onto my gallery of images for the month..

… FYI – the Ducks did not get themselves organised and into a row! 😀

Do you have a July favourite? Mmm, my poll isn’t working so if you do have a favourite, please let me know in comments. Thanks 😀

Your Image:

Over to you all once again – and looking forward to seeing your processing again this week.

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.
Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).
Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.
Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.
This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.
A bit about the review month/s

The review month will be a regular part of the challenge from now on. I hope you like the idea and make it work for you.. You can read more about our review months ‘here
This is how it will work – and this way we can plan ahead, knowing what’s coming up.

  • May, June and July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

We’re going to try this until January 2016 and see what we think then 🙂 I hope that works for you. Your thoughts and comments are welcome!

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.
As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

 

Phew! If you’ve read this far, you deserve a medal and another cuppa 🙂 Thank you!

I’m going to take some time off again over August – I must say I’m looking forward to it very much.  I’ll still do my review post at the beginning of the month and will be approving comments.  I hope you have a fun month, whatever you decide to do – Now on with week 4. Lets go!! 😀

Robyn xx

95 thoughts on “One Four Challenge –July Week 4.. and a poll

  1. Robin what a clever concept to put the ducks into another image. I like that you just took some of them to make a statement grouping and it works beautifully.

    I trialled impression and simplify from Topaz but couldnt seem to find the option to play with all the settings so I didnt have a good experience. I adored Glow tho but need to wait til I have more $$ available – been a few expense lately 😦

    Like

    1. Hi Stacey – thank you – it was kind of a random idea that evolved into a collaboration… Love that!
      My first go at Impression, as I said was enjoyable… I do have Simplify but rarely use it as it’s a bit contrived for me – that is until I learn how to use it properly 😉
      Have you tried the Topaz webinars? I will regularly do their webinars – they’re great for learning and.. they always offer some discount on some or all of their software.. I will buy then if I’m looking for something. FYI, just in case you didn’t know.
      blog.topazlabs.com/webinars
      Glad you like what we did 😀

      Like

  2. I love this week 4 Robyn. The combination of Emilio’s and your work looks great, I’ll have to see what he did with it too! Very imaginative and it works , for me 🙂

    Like

  3. Everybody, this here Robyn is a woman who knows what she’s doing. Look at how she added her ducks to my image and read her explanation of what she did. This is a woman who knows her stuff. She’s talented and probably gorgeous, too. Don’t you just hate people like that? Now, I want to take my feeble attempt down but I’m no fool. I’ll probably get more views this week than any other. Just because I’m hanging with my friend Robyn this week. I love how she thought it through and took the time to add a reflection of the hotel in the water. And then a shadow to the ducks. I never even thought of that. Shows you what an amateur I am. And of her four versions this month, I liked the second the best but now it’s a toss up between that and this weeks. Thanks, Robyn, for a great lesson in humility! 🙂 You’re a great sport. And I mean it, a super talent!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. How do I respond to such a generous comment, except to say a BIG THANK YOU! 😀 😀
      I’m very glad you like what I did – as I wrote it took a while to work through and I too chose to ‘paint’ it to bring it all together.
      Really pleased you like the reflections and the shadows.
      I thought it was amazing that our results were so similar. Fun!!
      I’m also pleased that this week’s (with your image) is one of your favourites. You’re a great sport too… thank you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, what a great idea adding your ducks to Emilio’s image! Marvellous work, and I had a good chuckle reading the banter between you and Emilio! Now I am off to see how he combined those images…..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We’ll be glad to have you joining us again Dianna.
        The challenge is taking a break over August. Join us when you are able 😃😃 I do understand about busy presently 😜

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like it Kaz – it was fun, with lots of learning 😃 Week 2 does seem to be a favourite for the regular image with week 4 introducing a fun factor 😃😃
      Looking forward to your rose!

      Like

      1. Aha! That explains why I like it. Brilliant effects. Your Photoshop knowledge is very different to mine, but I’ve never used it for the sort of treatments you do. It would be an interesting thing to get into.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks. Photography for me is part of my Art and PS is an amazing tool with so many possibilities and it’s fun exploring them 😃 Enjoy Kaz!!

        Like

  5. Well that was a stunning end to the month. And way beyond my capabilities.
    I think week 2 is my favourite – I like the tones and the crop works well with a reduced foreground and a glimpse of bushes to the left.
    A great month Robyn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really glad you like it Debbie! I admit, it was a big learning week – but I finished where I was happy, so that felt good 😃
      Week 2 was another week with lots of learning and Im so pleased it’s a fave for you. It is for me too. Thanks for your thoughts 😃😃

      Like

  6. Wonderful end to the month of great editing, Robyn. I’m sorry I haven’t kept up well this month. I’ve been so busy photographing and trying to get things up and running. I’ve really enjoyed looking at what everyone has done this month. Great idea to swap pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Robyn. I hope I’m getting some great images too! I’ve been portrait shoots for friends which waaaay out of my comfort zone. I like flowers because they just sit there and look pretty! Lol but seriously it has been fun!!

        Like

  7. I love collaboration! It brings out so much. Fun to see your take on Emilio’s image as well. I have enjoyed your ducks each week, felt like I had a peek into an everyday moment. This latest offering is like dessert!

    Like

    1. Its so true Carrie! I enjoyed it very much.
      Im glad you’ve enjoyed the ducks..and I’m glad you like this last one.. its been quite a challenge finding different ways to interpret it.
      It was one of those special moments.. actually time stood still for a minute or two 😉

      How’s the desktop? Enjoy!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh the desktop is amazing. What a new brilliant perspective looking at my images on a 24 inch screen. I can really see them!
        You have a wonderful way of sharing those “quiet” moments, a true strength of your work.

        Like

  8. Robyn, I just came from Emilio’s post and am loving the collaboration between the two of you! Now having seen the original duck image, I can certainly understand why selecting them in PS would be a difficult challenge! But that you and he came up with the same solution to apply a painted look works brilliantly 🙂 Great, fun exercise, and for that reason, I vote for your week 4 as my favorite!

    I really do wish I could find the time to participate in your challenge. It is such a great idea! Someday … 🙏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stacy, it was such fun collaborating with Emilio.. I think we both agreed it wasn’t an easy project, but such a worthwhile and amazingly similar result without consultation 😃😃 So funny!!
      I so understand about time and being busy. You’ll always be welcome whenever and if ever you can join us.
      This project really has turned out to be very fun and such a great learning tool.
      I have much blog catching up to do, so looking forward to visiting sometime soon.
      Always love receiving your comments 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

