AB Friday – One Photo Focus – September

The first Friday of the month (almost Saturday for me) means that it’s AB Friday, One Photo Focus hosted by Stacy.

I’ve been away from One Photo Focus for a few months – time just hasn’t allowed, but I’m happy to be back… again πŸ˜‰

When I saw that the chosen image to work on, was Ben’s this time ’round, I knew it would be fun.. and I thought – something challenging. Β Surprise! Ben offered us a fabulous 3 bracketed image to create with if we chose to – I did!

First I turned Ben’s bracketed images into one HDR image… this was my result below.

OnePhoto-Focus-Ben-Pendennis-Castle-HDR-merge

I started experimenting next, as I wasn’t sure what I was hoping to achieve.. I decided to go into Topaz Restyle for some inspiration and it worked. I found a preset with an almost fluroΒ green in it – I don’t usually like green, except on plants πŸ˜‰ Note: I’ve been working on a laptop that show colours in a weird way – so lol… IF it’s over the top, I don’t know about that yet.. he he…

Somehow I got a ‘Steampunk’ kind of feeling from the ‘green-ness’, the structure of the building and the clouds.. and decided to go that way.. a little bit.

Here is my final result using Ben’s image and these are the steps I took to arrive at this result:

OnePhoto-Focus-2-RobynGosby-September15

I can’t quite put my finger on what ‘style’ this really is – is it Steam punk or is is something else? Β I can imagine men with top hats and swirly moustaches.. and ladies in long dresses with bustles and hats and umbrellas.. and perhaps a dragon?? ..and some magnificent flying machines! πŸ˜€

The formal garden beds with new daisy plants were some I photographed last week, on my way home from the Art Gallery. I thought I’d try them here, hoping I hadn’t forgotten my perspective lessons from art school.

I’ll try to remember what I did.

Lightroom – I merged the bracketed images in Lightroom. Made some adjustments to exposure, shadows, highlights and clarity.

PS – When I got to PS, I hopped straight into Topaz Restyle and found I liked the green, so I went back to PS.

I cropped the image, added the garden beds and the ducks and did some selective dodging and burning.

In brief, that’s really what I did. Β Plenty of fiddling around, trying other things to finally decide I liked it best the way it was. Β I wanted some kind of formal structure in my edition to work with the wonderful castle.

Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed working on someone else’s image – thank you Ben πŸ™‚ –Β and it’s great knowing that there are others working on the same image too – it is challenging and fun! Β You can view them all on Stacy’s blog at Visual Venturing.

I hope the link will be correct (I am scheduling before Stacy’s post). If not for some reason, click here πŸ˜€

..and many thanks to Stacy for hosting this fun!

30 thoughts on “AB Friday – One Photo Focus – September

  1. This edit turned out great, Robyn. I really like edition of the ducks and the garden. It does have a steampunkish feel to it :-). Topaz Restyle is a fun filter to use for photos. Great job this month!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like it Kirsten – I kind of thought so too. If I’d kept going and added cogs and whirring machines etc., it might of been more evident. I needed to stop somewhere 😜

      Like

  2. Okay, so you taught me something new – steampunk! I’ve never heard that term, but when you described the scene you were imagining, I instantly got it. I also have to tell you I laughed when I opened your email and saw the ducks/geese. I immediately thought of the swapping experiment between you and Emilio πŸ™‚ Creativre, imaginative edit with the skills to pull it off! Thanks so much for participating, Robyn πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes more ducks…lol Gotta love em and they’ve certainly featured lately 😜
      Thank you Stacy – I appreciate your kind words πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ
      Steampunk is such an interesting style. It brings back all those wonderful old things with a modern twist. Love it πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

Leave a Reply

