One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 1

Welcome back to the One Four Challenge – the first week back after our August Review month!  I hope you really enjoyed the time out.  I know I did! 😀

One Four Challenge Sept Wk1 - RobynGosby 2015

I’ve seen some great reviews across the blogs and it’s been good to look back and revisit some favourite images and to see them in a new light. It amazes me how subtle (or not) changes can make an image look new and fresh to us.

A warm welcome too, to the new folks joining us! Jump on in and experiment – visit around the One Four blogs and be inspired!

My image:

This month I’ve chosen a sunset to work with – but I guess it’s not a typical sunset.  This one was taken across a river, looking through trees on the riverbank.

I’d like to try to bring out the detail this time around, while staying true to what I saw on the day (although I’ll probably need to do an arty version as well). It’ll be interesting to see what happens and what inspirations come.

One Four Challenge Sept Wk1 - RobynGosby 2015

Please click for a larger, sharper view

For this first week, my steps were:

Start in Camera Raw.  Adjust lens profile correction, which removed some vignetting. Raise Clarity slightly.  Then out to PS. Add a Curves layer and reduce noise (due to low light).

That’s it for week one for me.

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Change it up?

If anyone feels like adding an extra layer to this challenge for this month – please feel free to find one partner (within the One Four Challenge) and swap/combine images, to see what you can come up with by week 4. (See July week 4 – Emilio’s and my combining of our two images).

This is not a requirement at all, but just an extra if you’re looking for an added challenge layer 😀

Your Image:

Once again, it’s over to you, to see your chosen image and your first edition for September. Have fun!!

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month). Others show theirs from the start. The choice is yours.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.

Please Tag and Link up – this makes our challenge work.

  • For WordPress blogs – Tag all of your One Four posts with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in the WordPress Reader. See this tutorial on how this works.
  • For Blogger and other platforms – If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • For everyone joining inplease leave a link to your post, under my corresponding blog post for the week.

(Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work – others have found the same – so look for them here please).

This is a ongoing challenge. Experiment, play, learn and have fun! We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month..and if there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4. Enjoy!
The review month
The review months are a regular part of our challenge.  In the review month, the One Four Challenge takes a break from the regular schedule to revisit some of our previous images, or simply to take some time out for a month.

This is how it works:

  • May, June, July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

Also a note to say that as we grow, getting around the blogs is taking more time to leave a comment.. but I will get there. I don’t want to miss any 😀 Thanks for your patience.

I’ve been trying to work out a way to see all of the posts for the One Four Challenge in one view (WP and other blogging platforms), as well as seeing them in WP Reader and I’ve realised that Bloglovin’ does the same thing…and I’m sure there are other feeds as well.  I’m going to try Bloglovin and see if it works for me this month.. I’ll still be using WP Reader too.. We’ll see. What do you do to keep a track of the blogs you read/follow?

I hope you’re excited about another round… I know I am!

Robyn xx

82 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 1

  1. Nice rich sunset , Robyn. Good to be back in the normal rhythm and looking forward to seeing how your image develops. I have prepared my series in advance which I am glad I did, given what is happening in my life at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the sunrays, look forward to how you work on this. I had an image I was working on last night that was perfect timing to bring into One Four this month 🙂

    As for reading blogs – I go into WP reader on my PC and have One Four Challenge saved as a tag, and bring up all the posts under that and read them, so long as they are tagged correctly I should see them all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Stacey – yes I’m excited about those rays. Hope to do it justice 😃
      Looking forward to your image. I’m intrigued 😜
      Thanks for your input on WP Reader. Yes I do the same. We are getting a few non WP blogs too now, so I’m hoping BL works for that.

      Like

  3. It sounds as if this challenge is taking off, which is great! I use Reader to keep up with blogs and in this case I check the One Four tag (I confess I’ve never heard of Bloglovin).
    I’m back with another flower shot. I had intended a different kind of photo, but once I started playing with this one the possibilities popped into my head. Looking forward to seeing where your sunset shot goes!
    https://flowersbykaz.wordpress.com/2015/09/07/one-four-tibouchina-1-dreamy/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WP Reader is the best I think. We can view, like and reply and yes find our tags. Thanks for your input.
      Looking forward to your next flower – yes sometimes our images choose us 😃 have fun Kaz!

      Like

    1. Thanks so much Ida, I’m glad you like the sunset… it was such a pretty one!

      Everything looks great – have been to your site and left a comment – fingers crossed. Will also leave it here, below in this comment as said in my post. Hope you find it 😀
      Tagging really only applies to WP blogs – we do it because it helps us to track the One Four posts in Reader.

      My reply to your One Four blog post:
      Hi Ida and welcome to the challenge!!
      Such a lovely first edition of your photo. Very nice!
      There are a few in our challenge who do not have LR or PS and use free Software and some folks enjoy experimenting with them, so you’re in good company 😀

      Like

      1. Thanks so much Robyn. I did get your comment on my post itself. I could not reply to it though as you are set at (No Reply Comment). I appreciate your encouragement and your visit to my blog. This is fun and I look forward to seeing what others have done. – Have you ever though of using a “linky” tool so that everyone’s post would be at the same place?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Glad you got my reply Ida 😀 I’m happy it worked. It really is a fun project!
        The linky tool doesn’t work with WP, that I’m aware. I did do some research on this when it first started. I used to be on Blogger myself and used it regularly.
        On WP we have our own reader which operates like the Linky and BLoglovin combined. It’s pretty good and this is why we tag our posts on WP also.
        As this began on WP we’ve just used that.
        As we move out onto other platforms (Blogger etc)., I think the best option is BLoglovin or another feed reader. This way we can enter in all the urls for the One Four blogs and follow them that way. I’ve been trying that this week and it’s working, although a bit laborious to begin with..but worth it.
        Hope this all makes sense 😀

        Like

    1. Welcome back Debbie – it has been good to have a break and get ready to go again! 🙂
      Thank you. I hope to bring our more of the detail I saw on the day.
      I really like your image!

      Like

  4. Hi Robyn. Nice image. I’ll look forward to what you do with it. I can see perhaps cropping out some of the trees, leaving enough to frame the image, and really upping the contrast on the sun and clouds. Also look forward to a black and white edit. Re: Following. I try to use email following, so I get an email when someone I’m following does a new post I get an email. I don’t use the Reader for anything but the One Four Challenge. I gather images with the #OneFour tag and go through those. I should give Bloglovin a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joanne 😃
      Those are my thoughts exactly – thank you. Will see how I go.
      Thanks for your input on Reading. I’m actually finding Bloglovin is working for me. Everything is there until I mark it read (in one place). So far I’m liking it. I also use Reader for the One Four and in general.. and also emails. It’s good to have options 😃

      Like

  5. Ah, it’s always nice to see my name in print on someone else’s blog other than my own. Does that make me a narcisist? I don’t think so. Heck, I can’t even spell it. Maybe just borderline egocentric! Anyway, I came to read what day you posted each week’s challenge because, having been off for one month, I forgot. Imagine if you took two months off? And then I saw my name right in the direction’s on how to “change it up”. What fun. Anyway, can’t wait. I think I’ll try to catch up by viewing some of those who have already posted. Thanks, Robyn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He he he.. Posting for the One Four starts on my Mondays Emilio and we have until the following Sunday to post for the week.
      It’s good to be a spectator sometimes. Do jump in though if you’re up for it 😃😃
      So, is that like seeing your name in lights? 😜
      I need to email you soon. Think I’ve finally figured out my image for our next Swap Edit 😇

      Liked by 1 person

  6. And I never said how much I liked your image this week. The adjustments are subtle but they really add clarity and color to a beautiful sunset. At the same time I looked at some of your older posts and- in case I never told you before- damn, you’re good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

