One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 2

Welcome again to the One Four Challenge and here we are at the beginning of week 2!

One-Four-Challenge-Sept-Wk2---RobynGosby-2015

How has your week been?  Hope it’s been a good one – and hope you’ve been making progress on your image in a direction you’re happy with 🙂

I think I’ve even managed to get around most of the blogs this week. Hooray!

It’s been so good to see what everyone has been working on and your chosen images for this month. There’s some fantastic variety!!

My image:

So, this month I’ve chosen a sunset to work with – taken across a river, looking through trees on the riverbank and my aim is to try and bring out the detail, while staying true to what I saw.

Well it’s proving just a little tricky. I had low light, but was only using ISO 320, so not too much noise.. and handheld (which was amazing for me..lol).. But I didn’t really get the colour I wanted on the evening. It was more red.

So.. here is my week 2 attempt at bringing back the colour to this pretty sunset.

One-Four-Challenge-Sept-Wk2---RobynGosby-2015

Please click for a larger, sharper view

I have to say, I’m  still not sure if this is what I was going for… but here is week 2 edition/attempt.

There are some things I’m not happy with: the ghosting around the trees and there’s a slight feel of grunge in the sky and a touch of vignetting?

This were my steps this week.

Again, I went back to the beginning and started in Camera Raw – adjusting lens profile correction and raising Clarity slightly. Back out to PS…and lots of steps.

Remove the bird and add another. Crop. Add Selective focus and detail. De-saturate. Add a yellow, orange, red gradient. Reduce yellow saturation. Add a BW layer, set to blend mode Luminosity and adjust colours slightly.

2 Levels layers. Hue Adjustment to red. Sharpen and Reduce Noise… and that’s it (mostly) for week 2.

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Change it up?

If anyone feels like adding an extra layer to this challenge for this month – please feel free to find one partner (within the One Four Challenge) and swap/combine images, to see what you can come up with by week 4. (See July week 4 – Emilio’s and my combining of our two images).

This is not a requirement at all, but just an extra if you’re looking for an added challenge layer 😀

Your Image:

Once again, it’s over to you, to see your chosen image and your next edition for September. I’ve enjoyed the week one editions. Have fun!!

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month). Others show theirs from the start. The choice is yours.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.

Please Tag and Link up – this makes our challenge work.

  • For WordPress blogs – Tag all of your One Four posts with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in the WordPress Reader. See this tutorial on how this works.
  • For Blogger and other platforms – If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • For everyone joining inplease leave a link to your post, under my corresponding blog post for the week.

(Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work – others have found the same – so look for them here please).

This is a ongoing challenge. Experiment, play, learn and have fun! We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month..and if there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4. Enjoy!
The review month
The review months are a regular part of our challenge.  In the review month, the One Four Challenge takes a break from the regular schedule to revisit some of our previous images, or simply to take some time out for a month.

This is how it works:

  • May, June, July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

It was great to read your feedback too thanks, on how you ‘follow and read’. I’m still using WP Reader for WP blogs and Bloglovin has been fantastic this week across the board for all of the platforms – just in case anyone is interested 😀

Week two is here – lets do this and have a great one!

Robyn xx

79 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 2

  1. So, Robyn, has anyone ever told you you’re good? I really like what you’ve done this week and though I really didn’t study your image before reading your post, the items that bother you I didn’t even notice at first. Can’t wait to see next week’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the edit looks great! I take it that you normally use a tripod? I’m pretty uncoordinated so I don’t use the tripod much. (I always end up tripping over one of the legs when I get into taking my pics :-P) I can’t see the ghosting on my screen – btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kirsten 😃 I mostly take the tripod with me these days in case I find something macro which I’m always looking for. If I need it, I have it 😜 I am shaky some days, so it helps there too.
      Lol, I know what you mean about tripping. Oh dear. My tripod is one with the arm, which I find much better for what I’m doing.
      Re the ghosting: I am still using a laptop screen this week, so I could be seeing more, but I think it’s there. I have another idea though, so fingers crossed xx

      Like

  3. Wow, way more dramatic! You not only brought the colour back in, those rays that have showed up really add to the image. Were they there already, just hiding until this edit brought them out? I know with my image that certain programs brought out reflections that didn’t show up at all in the original…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Eliza – yes the rays are in the original, just not so pronounced. Raising detail and/or clarity brought them out and then it was a matter of finding a balance so the sky wasn’t overdone. I probably would go slightly less – I could have kept fiddling, but needed to stop.
      What I needed was to ‘not see it’ for a while, but I didn’t have that chance this week. I do have an idea I’ll play with for another edition 😃😃

      Like

  4. I love the edits! The picture is just so peaceful too. I could see this hanging on a wall 🙂 I am working on my edits now but will have to return to it later today as I need to take my dad on some errands. But see you soon. And I totally love the partner idea!!! Anyone want to join me? Thanks for all that you do Robyn! I look forward to your posts and your challenge:)

    Like

    1. Thanks Michelle – it was such a peaceful time of day 🙂
      See you when you get your post up and I hope you do find a partner to join you. It’s fun to stretch 😀
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the journey too – thank you x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ben, I will try those things. While it’s a move in the right direction, this edition isn’t quite right to my eye. Just me. Will keep going. It’s good to have time with this one 😃

      Like

    1. Thank you Jules – it was a very pretty sunset. The warm hues are lovely, but it’s not quite as I remember so will try again – just subtleties 😃😃
      Yes hand holding…lol.. I understand. I was seriously leaning on a post while shooting this one.
      Hope you’ve had the best holiday and feel refreshed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

