One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 4

Wow! Another week has flown by in my part of the world – and here we are once again in our final week – week 4 for September. Hope it’s been another good and productive week for us all – I know I’ve learnt new things, but they’re not what I expected… more on that further on.

I do want to say up front I’m way behind in reading – my apologies – it’s been a very full week, with not a lot of spare time… I will catch up!

My image:

As I write this, I still don’t know if I have a week 4 image as yet or not.  My image has proved to be a tricky one this time around… It’s now late and I’ve finished with an idea that I think has merit… so my post is scheduled as usual.

I hope it’s ok – I’m going to post this so you have a post to link up to.. and I’m going to come back soon and write about my very last minute image. Editing and description below now 😀

One-Four-Challenge-Sept-Wk4-RobynGosby-2015

Please click for a larger, sharper view

Ok, I’m back to edit my post on Monday morning.

Working with this image has been a learning curve.. and a good one I think.  After the second week, I realised that my image did have noise, but it was different.  The bottom part of the image showed strong banding when I tried to open the shadows, so that wasn’t an option.  I could have dealt with some of the noise, but it would have softened the image… and I wasn’t looking for that, so it left me pondering and wondering.

I tried many different things this past week, but the biggest thing I think I’ve learned is that maybe some images don’t have 4 edits in them??  Maybe? BW wasn’t an option  with this one either, which surprised me – the image is actually unbalanced – heavy at the bottom, light at the top.

Finally I opted for a split tone edit and then I added a texture layer and cropped closer.

I’m not rapturous about this one – I wonder what you think this time around?  Kind comments and thoughts are welcome 🙂

I’m hoping to really find some inspiration for October!!

Your Image:

Looking forward to seeing your image again!

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month). Others show theirs from the start. The choice is yours.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.

Please Tag and Link up – this makes our challenge work.

  • For WordPress blogs – Tag all of your One Four posts with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in the WordPress Reader. See this tutorial on how this works.
  • For Blogger and other platforms – If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • For everyone joining inplease leave a link to your post, under my corresponding blog post for the week.

(Note: if you are on Blogger – I will reply to your One Four post here on my blog, under your comment / post link.  I am unsure why, but my message replies don’t seem to work – others have found the same – so look for them here please).

This is a ongoing challenge. Experiment, play, learn and have fun! We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month..and if there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4. Enjoy!
The review month
The review months are a regular part of our challenge.  In the review month, the One Four Challenge takes a break from the regular schedule to revisit some of our previous images, or simply to take some time out for a month.

This is how it works:

  • May, June, July – One Four Challenge
  • August – Review month
  • September, October, November – One Four Challenge
  • December – Review month
  • January, February, March – One Four Challenge
  • April – Review month… and so it goes 😉

See you soon! I’m aiming to catch up with everyone this week. Have a great one!

Robyn xx

46 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 4

    1. Thanks Debbie – such a nice thing for you to say 🙂
      I wouldn’t include this one in a portfolio though 😉 It is rather wintery and subdued.
      We are so not bored with your image. I love that you chose it. Very much a design piece for me!

      Like

    1. Thanks Jules – glad you like it 😀
      You can create a very similar Split Tone effect in LR. Have your image open and under Presets (columns on the left). Look for Section titled Lightroom B&W Toned Presets and choose Split Tone 4.
      Now adjust play with your sliders on the right to adjust the image to how you like it. Have fun Jules x
      Would love to see what you do 😀

      Like

  1. Robyn, I like week 2 the best, I think it shows the rays of the sun behind the clouds to best effect. The other edits do tend to look a little artificial. I have found sometimes with images like this, it’s a beautiful image, you can’t wait to edit it, and then it turns out to be a difficult image to edit in different ways. Kind of a “one trick pony”, if you know what I mean. The sun and clouds here are great, but how do you improve upon nature? 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks heaps for your thoughts Joanne – we all see things differently for sure. So funny really as week 2 is the one I feel is the most manufactured…lol
      This one was certainly tricky and I think really it came down to the discovered noise/banding in the shadows. I’m looking forward to the next one 😀
      I think you are so right – how do we improve upon nature? 😀

      Like

  2. I found for me an image works best when it has a strong central object or focus point that can be creatively interpreted. For me the less structured images don’t necessarily stand up to repeat approaches ie don’t necessarily have 4 different edits in them.

    Like

  3. This week’s grey/pink with texture is somehow soothing and I really like it… as for my favorite this month… that’s a difficult call, I like all four weeks. 😀

    It’s interesting that you started to ponder if an image had 4 edits in it… that’s what I like most about this challenge, the 3rd and 4th weeks usually make you get out of your comfort zone and really experiment, and sometimes if you are lucky something magical happens and you get the best image of the month. Sometimes you don’t have your creative cup filled and then things get frustrating, but the challenge is still the best for getting you to try new things.

    My week 4 submission went in a silly direction, but sometimes we need silly in our day. 😀
    http://photography-by-nic.com/2015/09/30/one-four-challenge-september-week-4/

    Like

    1. Looking forward to your silly direction Nic.. I like a bit of silly 😉
      The challenge really is good for trying new things.. love that!
      This month my creative cup has been low with other stuff taking my attentions. Think I might play a little next month!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.