One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 3

Hello everyone, I’m still alive! .. and it’s week 3 of October’s challenge 😀

Do hope it’s been another good week for us all. My week has seen me moving forward and for that I’m thankful.

Ok, I have some news to share!!

I’ve been feeling pretty terrible about cutting the challenge short so quickly, and my head and my back have been fighting over this.  I’m still going to take a break… but… the news!

Nic has kindly agreed to host the One Four Challenge for November.  This means the challenge goes on for November and instead of leaving links on my site for November, you’ll leave them on Nic’s corresponding posts and she will visit your posts and I know she’ll do a better job than I’ve been doing lately visiting all of the participants.  I’m still coming! I hope you will join Nic for November 😀

I will schedule posts for the first Mondays in November to point you to Nic’s site. November has 5 Mondays, but we’ll play for 4 and they will be the 2nd, 9th, 16th and 23rd.

After that come December, we’ll be back on my site with the review month for December…and it will begin on the 7th December.

I’d like to use December to wrap up our challenge for now ( I’m thinking we’ll return at a later date with the challenge [ if there is interest – we did say it was for a time ] – and as yet a time undetermined ). I know many of us who began at the start of the challenge are now feeling it’s time to take a break. Enjoy it!  It’s been such fun doing this with all of you 😀

I’m hoping that all of us who’ve played along might be able to jump in for December’s review month and talk about our favourite images from the whole year, stuff we’ve learned etc. perhaps even a favourite editing trick we’ve learned and now use often or regularly. New software we’ve found etc. It’ll be great to have the participation if it’s possible for you.

Another reminder too from last week’s post:

As the One Four Challenge will be taking a break, I’d like to give you some options for a couple of other fun editing challenges.. and I know you’ll be welcome to join in.

  1. After Before Friday is a weekly editing challenge hosted by Ben – you can read more here and..
  2. One Photo Focus is a monthly editing challenge hosted by Stacy – you can read more here.

If you’d like to keep being challenged, I hope you’ll give one or both of these a go – they are fun and hosted by some very nice and talented people 😀

I hope all of this makes sense and now it’s onto week 3.

My image:

Oct-One-Four-Challenge-Wk3b-McRetro-RobynGosby-2015

Please click for a larger, sharper view

Ta da!!  I decided to go ‘properly’ retro this week. Rounded corners and all, as they were often in the 70’s.

So for this week, I started with my week 1 PS file again, de-saturated the blues and a probably half of the yellow.  I removed the bar code and added another flare – this time a sunburst in Auto FX and then I tweaked the colours to retro using this tutorial by Spoongraphics, which is done with curves.

Finally I added a fair bit of grain using the Filter Gallery in PS.  This kinda feels right to me. I wonder what you think.

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Your Image:

It’s over to you again and to your image 😀

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month). Others show theirs from the start. The choice is yours.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.

Please Tag and Link up – this makes our challenge work.

  • For WordPress blogs – Tag all of your One Four posts with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in the WordPress Reader. See this tutorial on how this works.
  • For Blogger and other platforms – If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • For everyone joining inplease leave a link to your post, under my corresponding blog post for the week.
This has been an ongoing challenge.  We’ve been playing / experimenting since Nov 2014!!  It’s been such fun, but now it’s time to take a break. We will continue into December with the review month (see details above) and then take a break for a while. We shall return at a later date if the interest is there.

I’m going to take some time out in November ( I’m sure I’ll schedule some posts 😉 ) and then return for the Challenge review for December.  Our final month for the time being.  After that I’ll be on holidays with my family over January, just taking some time off work and hopefully walking around properly by then, so we can do some holiday things.

Gosh! Christmas and the New Year are on their way!!

Have a great week.

Robyn xx

48 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 3

  1. All the best, Robyn, hope you continue to feel improvement in your health! I’ve not been taking part of late as I have moved home and life is busy…. I did really enjoy this while I was taking part, a great idea! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Robyn for hosting this challenge for the time you did. It’s been the most wonderful experience and has introduced me to so many incredible photographers. Enjoy your much deserved break! 🙂

    Like

    1. Joanne, I’m so happy you joined us in the challenge and I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed it.. and especially that you’ve connected with other photographers and like minded people. That’s awesome!!
      Thank you x 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s a great girl Stacey – I know you know this 🙂
      Ooh yes, extra special sounds awesome! Love your work.. and play!
      I am being kind to my back – thank you xx

      Like

      1. That would have been terribly hard. Yes you do understand! All of this has been quite a surprise for me, but I’m learning lots right now, specially about me 😃 Onward 😃

        Like

    1. I know what you mean about Christmas..lol Worked it out at work, looking at dates 😉 Too soon!
      Glad you like my ‘retro’ – It’s been a kick back and just play this month with this image. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  3. Thanks again, Robyn, for trusting me with your challenge for the month of November! 😀 I hope to do you proud!

    I didn’t realize that the challenge started in November, I started participating in December — I’m so glad I found you and the others. I have learned lots, not only from changing software (from PS to GIMP), but also from the other participants. I have really loved pushing myself to get out of my comfort zone and try new things with my photography. Many thanks for that! I have also enjoyed finding other bloggers/photographers who are willing to do some interesting post-processing.

    While I do agree that we all need to take breaks and refill our creative cups, I do hope that the challenge will continue some time in the future. 😀

    But most of all, I want to thank you for hosting this very fun challenge. And I hope that the much needed break will help you heal and give you the time you need to refill your creative cup. 🙂

    I really like the retro feel of your image this week, the muted colors and rounded corners are a great touch. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its a pleasure Nic – you’ll be great!! Thank you for hosting 😀 xx
      Yes we started in November ’14 and I agree – it’s been such fun – the best part for me is getting to know you all – I hope to continue our associations and friendships 😀
      ..and of course, the challenge in the future!
      I do need a break – lots of sitting is not good right now. It’s been ongoing for a while.
      I’m still going to blog by scheduling posts while I’m away and will pop in occasionally.
      Glad you like my retro image – it’s been quite a light hearted image after last month’s ‘battle’? 😛
      Thanks again Nic – you’re awesome!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It might have been nice of me to visit occasionally even though I wasn’t playing. But a lot has been going on with me, too, and I think I might have alienated quite a few people these past two months. Health issues and people issues and money issues. I think they call it life. Oh well, I like your image- even though I hate McDonalds. Your processing certainly takes us back to a more carefree time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is life my friend and we all have our difficult times for sure.
      As for alienating people… No way! You’re a fabulous person and we know it.. visit when you can 😃
      One foot in front of the other when it’s life this and hang on.
      Do take care.
      I don’t like Maccas either. Ok, I like the bacon and egg mc muffin, but that’s it.. Anyway this has turned out to be a fun random photo to play with 😃😃
      Glad you think it’s a more carefree time. Maybe that’s why it appealed to me. Thank you!!

      Like

    1. Thanks for your get better wishes Nora – I really appreciate them 🙂
      Ah yes Nic is such a sweetie keeping this going for us while I take a break..
      Late is fine Nora – join in when you can. Looking forward to it.
      The rounded corners were something I’d attempted before but didn’t do so well on – (Im using CS6) this time I found a tutorial (will see if I can find it for you) I hacked my way around until I ended with this result.
      I believe it was done with a Vector mask which is not something I had done before.. so learned something new 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

