One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 4

Good morning from me everyone 😀 Hasn’t October gone by quickly too? I know it has for me.

It’d be so good if you could read this post please ( grab a cuppa maybe? 😉 – yep grab a cuppa – loooong post!).. it affects all of the One Four Challenge players – things are changing!

Have you had a good week with ideas for week 4?  I know I’ve been fiddling on and off this week with my image and thought I’d end on a quirky note once again, considering that my October images have been fun..fun..fun!!

Those of you who read my blog, know that I love a bit of silliness thrown in here and there.

Oct-One-Four-Challenge-Wk4-McRetro-Spider-sml-RobynGosby-2015
~ Mr McRetro Halloween Spider ~

More on my image further on in this post 🙂

News!!

As you’ll know if you read last week’s post – Nic will be hosting the One Four Challenge throughout November, while I take a break. Thank you Nic! 🙂

Please read the blurb below.  It’s about the challenge for November and December. Thank you!

Nic has kindly agreed to host the One Four Challenge for November.  This means the challenge goes on for November and instead of leaving links on my site for November, you’ll leave them on Nic’s corresponding posts and she will visit your posts. I hope you will join Nic for November 😀

I will still schedule posts for the first Mondays in November to point you to Nic’s site.

**November has 5 Mondays, but we’ll play for 4 and they will be the 2nd, 9th, 16th and 23rd.

After that – come December, we’ll be back on my site with the review month for December…and it will begin on the 7th December.

I’d like to use December to wrap up our challenge for now ( We’ll take a break and see where we go after January in 2016 – I have an idea brewing presently 😛 ). I know many of us who began at the start of the challenge are now feeling it’s time to take a break. Enjoy it!  It’s been such fun doing this with all of you 😀

I’m hoping that all of us who’ve played along might be able to jump in for December’s review month if possible.

Here are some ideas for December’s review month.

  • We could talk about our favourite images from the whole year and stuff we’ve learned etc.
  • Perhaps even a favourite editing trick we’ve learned and now use often or regularly.
  • New software we’ve found etc. Feel free to share what software you’ve been using / found helpful in comments too, so that others might try them.
  • ..and of course reviewing / revisiting our images if we’d like to do so.

It’ll be great to have the participation if it’s possible for you.

Another reminder too from last week’s post for a couple of other fun editing challenges:

As the One Four Challenge will be taking a break (after December’s Review month), I’d like to give you some options for a couple of other fun editing challenges.. and I know you’ll be welcome to join in.

  1. After Before Friday is a weekly editing challenge hosted by Ben – you can read more here and..
  2. One Photo Focus is a monthly editing challenge hosted by Stacy – you can read more here.

If you’d like to keep being challenged, please check them out and join in – they are fun and hosted by some very nice and talented people 😀

I hope all of this makes sense and now it’s onto week 4. Please ask me any questions if something is still unclear after reading my long blurb.

My image:

Oct-One-Four-Challenge-Wk4-McRetro-Spider-sml-RobynGosby-2015

Please click for a larger, sharper view

I’ve gotta say – I’ve honestly had the most fun this month, with this random image that caught my eye.  I walked past this view a few times and wondered what I found appealing.  Something I continue to learn in Photography and Art is –  never discount anything. Sooo I actually composed the shot and took it, not knowing what I would ever do with it!! I’m pretty sure it was the original mix of colours that appealed first – red and cyan are opposites on the digital colour wheel, so they create a dynamic feel when combined – plus they’re two of my favourite colours.   Then it was the random mix of items that make up this image.

They are: the McDonalds bag.  A custard cup / panacotta cup. 2 phones and a Jamie Oliver recipe book 😀 Why were these things all together? Ummmm…

So this week, I started with my week 1 PS file again.. and I’ve done so many things I honestly don’t know what they all are… but here are the things I do remember.

  • I used a gradient map to give the image the orange and purple toning and to be honest I was aiming first for a much darker result (still with quirk), but apparently I don’t do ‘dark’ very well at all 😛
  • Then I played with brushes in PS.  The water runs and the repeated lines are brushes.
  • The I went into Analog Efex and added the splotchy grunge (see right hand corner).
  • I’m sure there was a subtle vignette too.
  • Now comes the part that really surprised me!!  This week I downloaded the Stackables App (inspired  and spurred on by Eliza’s experimenting) and proceeded to play – my end results here added some more subtle texture and adjusted the colours so that they weren’t so ‘flat’..
  • I exported it back to PS, adjusted levels, did some dodging and burning.. and lastly added the little spider (not my own).

Now I honestly haven’t a clue really about how to use Apps, but they really are fun.  My only frustration is a smaller screen, but I do like my end result.

I wonder what you think about this week’s image…

Your kind thoughts and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

Here is a gallery of my image at different stages throughout October. Hover for descriptions.

Your Image:

..and once again, it’s now your turn 😀

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month). Others show theirs from the start. The choice is yours.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.

Please Tag and Link up – this makes our challenge work.

  • For WordPress blogs – Tag all of your One Four posts with One Four Challenge, so we can view your posts in the WordPress Reader. See this tutorial on how this works.
  • For Blogger and other platforms – If you are on another blogging platform, please leave a link in a comment on this post, so we can find you!
  • For everyone joining inplease leave a link to your post, under my corresponding blog post for the week.
This has been an ongoing challenge.  We’ve been playing / experimenting since Nov 2014!!  It’s been such fun, but now it’s time to take a break. We will continue into December with the review month (see details above) and then take a break for a while. We shall return at a later date if the interest is there.

I’m going to take some time out in November ( I’m sure I’ll schedule some posts 😉 ) and then return for the Challenge review for December – our final month for the time being.  After that I’ll be on holidays with my family over January, just taking some time off work and hopefully walking around properly by then, so we can do some holiday things together.

My many many thanks to Nic for hosting November and to each and everyone of you – thanks just for being YOU! 😀

Also, my many thanks too if you’ve read this far.. Have another great week!

Robyn xx

45 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 4

    1. I’m delighted to hear that you’re doing more in your work now Sarah. For me that was the aim too. To learn and apply.
      No worries about Nov – I think we can do these things for a time in the same way.
      Yes, it’s really been a fun, not thinking too hard month for me with a silly ‘still life’ 😜😜

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so glad you’re having fun with Stackables, and the results are delightful. As a side note, I use it on my iPad Mini so the screen is not super tiny. Although I originally bought the iPad for blogging while travelling, I find myself using it more just to play on. And when I have problems with my upper back and knees from using my big computer too much, I arrange myself on the sofa with a ton of pillows and just play with the apps…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Playing is great! It is fun to kick back and see what we can do 😃
      I was complaining about my older iPad. Still fine, but I prefer the big screen 😜😜
      The one thing I notice about the iPad is the colour and contrast maybe. It’s not right. Too dark or light and doesn’t show images properly, so working on them might be a lucky dip!
      Thanks heaps – it’s been fun and thanks for the inspiration!!!

      Like

  2. Love the edit! It is like magic indeed. I really need to up my skills in editing. You have set a high bar. Thanks for all the hard work on this challenge. It is so much fun and has become a staple on my blog:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha, thanks Michelle – so happy you like it – I thoroughly enjoyed this one and I’m so glad it’s become something you enjoy 😃 It’s been such a pleasure seeing everyone embrace my idea!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did love it. So many little effects that it just all snapped together perfectly. I bet it is fun to see some many do the challenge, and overwhelming a bit too!

        Like

      2. Thanks Michelle – it was a fun one.
        Challenge isn’t overwhelming, just takes time to get around now as we’ve grown so much from our early days 🙂
        I’m sure I’ll be lurking next month while Nic is hosting – lol – bet I won’t be able to help myself 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

