One Four Challenge – December review – looking back..

This week I decided to take a look back at some of my favourite images from the One Four Challenge..

The first faves that come to mind are the ducks and the old truck:

Week 2
The ducks.. July 2015

I learned so much with this image. I remember feeling at the time that this was an unusual photo choice for me, but something I’ve always enjoyed watching as an onlooker. I think I simply hadn’t had the chance to ‘be there’ before to take the shot.

This image was where Emilio and I swapped images too and brought them together – with similar final results, un-beknowns to us both. That was fun!!

It was a challenging image (knowing what I could do with it – not just for the sake of doing – I was very stuck after week 2), a fun one and a huge learning curve.

I also remember at the time, I was trialing Topaz Impressions and I was experimenting trying different painterly versions. I thought this image really lent itself to this style,

 

Dec 2014 and April 2015 – the old truck/jalopy. Another favourite.

I learned a lot here too!!

With this one it was all about trying new things and finding my way around new (to me) parts of Photoshop… and how to do things a better way. I don’t even know that I got it exactly right, but again the learning curve was very valuable!

Other images that I really enjoyed creating and playing with were:

Nov 14 – the seed head – my first image of the challenge.

With Macro being a firm favourite of mine, I found this image easy and inspiring to work with. I love the details!

May 2015 – the Autumn leaves – another fave because of the detail and the fabulous Autumn colours.

These are the one that I really enjoyed through the challenge πŸ™‚

I thought I’d also share some of the software/plugins I used throughout the challenge too.Β  In the beginning, I was happily trying plugins, but as the time passed I realised I wanted to learn more myself, so put the plugins and actions (mostly) away and focused on Photoshop itself and what I could do with this amazing platform.

Some of what I used:

  • Photoshop
  • Topaz Adjust – I find this a very versatile plugin.
  • Topaz Impressions trial – I really like this one!
  • Nik Color Efex –
  • Coffee shop Actions – I used a Black and White one for the Nov 14 seed head.
  • I probably used Analog Efex at some point too.

For me the learning part of this challenge has been so good. The plugins are fantastic and I like having them as part of my ‘tool bag’, but the best part really has been knuckling down and learning the software itself.

I wonder if you feel you’ve benefited too?Β  I sure hope so πŸ™‚

Ok, well have a great week and will look forward to reading some of the reviews this week.

Robyn xx

24 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – December review – looking back..

  1. So many different variations and so much learning went into this year – I also fell in love with Impressions – it was my first Topaz purchase πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Raewyn – it has been a great learning year I think for us all.
      How great that you now have the Nik suite. Enjoy it and enjoy creating πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  2. It’s interesting that the hardest ones are sometimes end up the favourites – I suppose it’s those ‘a ha!’ moments! I see you’ve listed a whole bunch of programs that you’ve used – I haven’t tried any of them apart from Photoshop so perhaps there’s a Nik Efex or Topaz in my future….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so true about our favourites πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ
      Oh yes, the plugins are great and do try them!!
      After trying the plugins, I tried to find ways to do it myself in PS too.. Kind of defeats the purpose of using them, but I enjoyed doing both. Have fun with them!!

      Like

  3. This challenge has really encouraged a lot of learning, thanks for creating a forum for us all to gather. I think it’s great that you found a plugin function and then tried to figure out how to do it yourself manually – it will help you create new ideas for the future to have that foundation. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.