One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk1

We are back and I’m posting a day early this week!!  The One Four Challenge is on again for 2016 and welcome to the 1st week of February.    I hope you can join us 😀

A bit of a blurb about this year, before we begin.. Please grab a cuppa.. and read on.

We are doing things a little differently this year..

The 2016 One Four badge..
The 2016 One Four badge..

Simply, the One Four Challenge will be hosted as usual on my blog only 4 times this year. Once a quarter – being February, May, August and November for 2016.

This means I’m not sitting lots, which selfishly is better for me and clearly I fell down on getting around to all the blogs last year.. 😉 My apologies x

The differently part: Also this year, the One Four Challenge will be running simultaneously on Flickr in the new One Four Challenge 2016 Flickr group… for every month of the year in 2016.  If you wish to join in there, you’ll be most welcome.  My thinking on the Flickr group is that all of our images will be in one place for viewing and commenting.. and we don’t have to go into lots of detail, unless we want to. I’m hoping the blogs and Flickr will work alongside each other.

No pressure – please do what suits you best. I’m also hoping this opens our challenge up to people who are not on WordPress as well.

So – 4 times a year on the blog and all year on Flickr for 2016.

I’m open to ideas on our Review months too.  We could do a review in between months or twice a year?

Please ask me any questions and lets see how this goes.

Tags: Our tags for this year, wherever you post are #onefourchallenge and #onefour2016

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks OR taking 4 versions of an image at the time of shooting (eg. different settings, lens etc.)
  • We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week. Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.
  • Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Links to my blog are welcome.

My Image:

I’ve had a very inside kind of summer this year. Quite a few of my image choices include nature, but this time I’ve opted for a man made item.  A tiny little sewing machine clock that was given to me years ago.  I love this little clock and the detail.. and it’s shiny! 😀

I’m sharing my original images first this year… so here’s the original..

OneFourChallenge-Original-RobynGosby-Feb2016

..and here’s my first edition below..

OneFourChallenge-FebWk1-RobynGosby-2016

The original image had lots of little dust spots on the clock (not the lens), so I cleaned them up, added a soft texture to the background and used a Spectrum Gradient that introduced the gold.. giving an antique feel.

That’s it for my first week.

Now over to you! I’m looking forward to seeing how you approach this first month of the year.

Thanks so much for joining me and a HUGE thank you to all of you for your support, your enthusiasm and offers of help. It means a lot.

Lets Go! 😀

46 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk1

  1. Love the image, both original and the edit! I didn’t realize you were starting up again. I am so excited. Ironically, I was going to start my own edit, version one, this week just to get back into the groove. Now, I have even more of a reason! Look forward to the posts from everyone. I will have to check out the Flickr…

    Like

    1. Ha ha, that’s great! I’ve been pondering how to keep moving forward with our challenge without the intense, sitting, visiting etc.. but sill wanting to catch up with everyone. Hence, quarterly and the group idea.
      Good to see you in Flickr and will look forward to seeing your choice for Feb 😃
      Thanks for your lovely comment Michelle.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been pondering Flickr. I used it in the past for my Army unit. So, this will let me experiment with it some more as I may need to use it again for my new unit. So this is fun AND training! Now THAT is multitasking.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lore – sort of is pretty ok 😃😜
      Glad you like my image.. Thank you. I’m on an inside or outside hunt for anything presently within my circumstances!! It’s fun…mostly 😜

      Like

  2. I wasn’t sure if I could pull off a multiple edit on the image I wanted to work on…I am very out of practice. But, I took some time and felt it would work out! So looking forward to participating in this challenge this month and watching your edits progress. Beautiful antique tones on the edit, I always appreciate your soft style and color hints. Thanks for keeping this going, Robyn. I am looking forward to it.

    Like

    1. It’s so good to hear from you Carrie and to read your thoughtful comment.
      I’m glad you like my ‘style’ – it tends to be where I lead and end happily – mostly.
      I definitely try other things, but they don’t always see the light of day…lol
      So pleased you’re happy the challenge is going on (things are a being done a bit differently this year, but the essence remains). I truly felt out of practice too, but I’ve seen your wonderful image choice (will comment soon) and it’s gorgeous!!

      Like

      1. Oh thank you, glad you like it. Always a pleasure to connect with you. Looking forward to everyone’s week 2! Glad to know you have a lot of experiments left for your eyes only too. 🙂 I do appreciate this challenge for the opportunity to share more of those than I normally would. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.