One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk3

Hello everyone! Hope you’ve had a fun week processing or taking your images.Β  I’ve been away from the screen this week, except for a mobile device, so I decided to go with the flow and try something different… more on that further on πŸ™‚

Hope you’re enjoying February with the challenge. I know I am and it’s great to see new and familiar faces joining us! ..and it’s good to see the group numbers growing too. Welcome everyone!

** Reminder: The challenge is running on the blog for Feb, May, Aug and Nov only this year…and in the Flickr group all year. Please make sure you read the changes below for the One Four and that you’re up to date with how we’re doing things this year..

The 2016 One Four badge..
The 2016 One Four badge..

Soooo…Β  4 times on the blog this year..

…and running simultaneously on Flickr in the new One Four Challenge 2016 Flickr group… for every month of the year in 2016. Don’t be shy about adding your images to the group – jump on in and say hi! πŸ˜€

You can read all about it by clicking on the One Four Challenge page in the menu above or click here

Please do what suits you best and join in however you can. I’m also hoping this opens our challenge up to people who are not on WordPress as well.

Reviews: Perhaps those of us who enjoy reviewing our images can use the in between months to revisit, review?

Tags: Our tags for this year, wherever you post are #onefourchallenge and #onefour2016

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks OR taking 4 versions of an image at the time of shooting (eg. different settings, lens etc.)
  • We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.Β Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.
  • Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Links to my blog are welcome.

My Image:

As I said above, I’ve been away from the screen this week, except for a mobile device, so I decided to play with an App to see what I could come up with.

I will say up front, that this couldn’t be an exhibition print as I started with a small file, but it was fun to let go and just play. For this edition I used iColorama on the iPad.

One thing I am aware of is that the iPad screen is always much darker than other screens, so it’s always good to see it on another, to get a fresh perspective.

OneFourChallenge-FebWk3-RobynGosby-2016

I used 3 overlays in this edition.

  1. An artistic scratchy layer with some opaqueness.
  2. Explosions! I love this, because it’s what I love to do with watercolour and it’s taken away some of the hard edges in this image.
  3. A light leak on the left hand side.

As I write this today, I’m back on my laptop, so I took it into PS and adjusted the exposure and added a bit of contrast. I know this isn’t an image with lots of clarity, but this time around I like this!

I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

These are my February images so far..

Now over to you! I’m looking forward to seeing your next edition.

Lets do week 3! πŸ˜€

48 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk3

  1. The layers place the image in a whole different category for me. The first versions are sort of factual, an antique piece taken from an interesting perspective. This week’s layers add a story to the image. Like opening grandmother’s trunk and being touched by her life’s stories. I don’t know if I’m getting my thought across very well …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I meant to say earlier that I quite liked this; it has a quirky creative feel. Looser approach. My digital attempts are not loose and splashy….but I still don’t ‘do layers’ yet either, lol. Yours has a nice sense of freedom to it I like πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. This is such a lovely comment, thanks Debbie πŸ™‚
      Hooray for a looser approach and honestly quirky suits me just fine- so funny cause my ‘Analogue’ approaches are not loose… Well, I’m sure some must have been. Need to spend so much more time and the last years have only been sporadic (due to restrictions with health), so I understand. Your ‘analogue’ works are lovely with the freedom that makes them fresh and inviting. They make me want to pick up my pencil and brush.
      I really do think layers help in the digital realm. I do like LR, but I usually finish of in PS. Can’t help myself πŸ˜€
      Thank you!!!! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. you are so welcome Robyn!
        I must get the hang of this Layer business…
        one day, when I finally can come to NSW to Just Debi -dawdle about, I must let you know.
        I’ve wandered around that area so often, when I lived over there. Love it. And I think you’d be alot of fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d love to meet up when you are over this way!! Do let me know please and we’ll co-ordinate. Funny, I was thinking the same.
        This year I’m going to be back and forth between city and country, all being well πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      3. that would be Lovely! Its not likely to be any time soon…. But I adore NSW, It Is Home to me. So I will get over there, and make it a point to tell my son there, “I have ART Meetings scheduled!”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

