One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk4

Hello everyone! I’m pretty excited writing this post, the 4th and last of the One Four Challenge for February. It’s been a great month.Β  As the One Four is now a Quarterly challenge, the next time we meet on the blogs will be the 2nd May, so please write that on your calendar.

** Reminder: The challenge is running on the blog for Feb, May, Aug and Nov only this year…and in the Flickr group all year. Please make sure you read the changes below for the One Four and that you’re up to date with how we’re doing things this year..

The 2016 One Four badge..
The 2016 One Four badge..

How it works:Β  4 times on the blog this year…and running simultaneously on Flickr in the new One Four Challenge 2016 Flickr group… for every month of the year in 2016. Don’t be shy about adding your images to the group – jump on in and say hi! πŸ˜€

You can read all about it by clicking on the One Four Challenge page in the menu above or click here

Please do what suits you best and join in however and whenever you can.

Tags: Our tags for this year, wherever you post are #onefourchallenge and #onefour2016

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks OR taking 4 versions of an image at the time of shooting (eg. different settings, lens etc.)
  • We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.Β Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.
  • Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Links to my blog are welcome.

My Image:

For this last week, I decided to go with another textured version.Β  The first thing I did was go back to iColorama and combined edits with the Stackables app. Once I found something I was pretty happy with, I decided to recreate this in Photoshop as best I could.

Combined App Image:

I’m not too sure what my steps were for the Combined App image – using the week 2 image as my base, I played until I found something I liked. Once again though, the device screen is not calibrated and when I moved it to my computer I was shocked at how BLUE! it really was. So the App version shown here has been de-saturated, brightness has been lowered and I added a small amount of contrast.

The PS layers Image:

For this image, I started with the original file (shown below) and added a small amount of contrast and 4 different texture layers (paint and paper), changing the blending modes and brushing out what I didn’t want or need. I did try a halftone layer (fine dots) but it wasn’t right with this one.

I then added the text layer.

At the finish, I’m happy with this one.Β  I do not love blue, but I do love teals and turquoises, so I like the direction this took. It’s quite a large file, so I’m going to make it available as Canvas and Metal prints. I think this will suit πŸ˜€

I look forward to hearing your thoughts once again.

This is how February finished for me… a fun month I must say. Such a ‘still’ image – one I enjoyed giving some life.

Do you have a favourite from my images this month?Β  I’d love to hear if you do. I’m not going to include a poll, but please let me know in comments πŸ™‚ Which one is my favourite? I think it’s actually week 3.

Now over to you again and I’m very much looking forward to seeing your next edition and how you finished February too.

Remember, we meet again on the blogs in May!!Β  Hope you’ve had an enjoyable month πŸ™‚

Robyn xx

47 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk4

    1. Oh thank you Desley Jane – I just found this comment in spam.
      So glad you like it πŸ˜€
      I’m actually hoping to share some LR Presets sometime soon – I’ve been working on – just figuring out a few final details.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your thoughts Chris πŸ˜ƒ
      I do know you like the realistic versions for this month’s image and I like that you know your preference.
      I too like the warmer images as my favourites for the month, but I have to admit, it was fun trying something different here too.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. hi Robyn, I really did like that color of blue! …. but, for some reason the tonal values of the image came out so much darker in it, than the gun grey/with text on it. The one with text, has a far lighter range of tones – is how my eye is seeing it. So for that reason, I prefer it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are spot on Debi. The processing with the app did create a very different result to a the one in PS. I’m not usually heavy handed either, so that is probably reflected in the PS image πŸ˜ƒ
      I enjoy reading your thoughts as I miss having these kinds of discussions.
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. whew, after I clicked… I second guessed how it sounded! glad it was ok. And, I certainly know, from your images… just how delicate and sensitive a touch you have with photos. πŸ™‚ I really did like that pretty indigo blue color.

        Like

      2. Hey Debi – all is well… I appreciate the time you take looking at the components in an/my image and I appreciate your thoughts!
        You know.. I’m not a blue lover at all (as I said) – but I did have fun with that blue – interestingly though my own persuasions took me to a colour I do like, without meaning to.. Int-er-est-ing πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Louise πŸ˜ƒ It’s awesome that you and a few others like week 1 as their fave. Look forward to seeing your week 4 version too!

      Like

  2. Last week was so busy I’m just getting around to looking at everyone’s One Four Challenge a week late. I do especially like the blue combined app one, but was interested to hear that you recreated the effect, only more to your taste, in Photoshop. I’ve tried recreating things in Photoshop too – I find it a great way to learn the more obscure methods of working in the program. I also like your font choice – your final for the week would make an interesting book cover!

    Like

    1. Hi Eliza – I’m still catching up from wk 4 also.
      The recreating trial was interesting – as you say you learn so much along the way.
      Thanks for your thoughts. I always enjoy reading how you see things.
      A book cover. Yes I can see that, but not something I had thought of. Thank you!!! πŸ˜€

      Like

Comments are closed.