Watercolour – Autumn Mist

This past few weeks I’ve finally picked up my paint brushes again after 4 years! The time has flown by.

I love painting and I’m still learning and I think I’ll always feel that way. I’m so rusty!

This painting was inspired by the wonderful Autumn mists at sunrise from over the past few weeks. At the moment I’m just looking – I’ll add a few final touches.

Autumn Mist Watercolour RobynGosby 2016

It’s best viewed in person, but of course that’s not possible, so I’m posting a smaller file, because that’s the way you’d view it. I can’t guarantee colours are accurate either, but you get the gist of what I’m doing.

Sharing this, honestly makes me incredibly nervous. Apparently my painting is a very emotional and personal thing.. but here you go!

There is no art without emotion, without dedication, without passion.

I’m back on the painting wagon and that makes me very happy – bones and all!

Materials and colours:

Saunders Waterford 1/4 sheet, Permanent Rose, Cobalt Blue, Burnt Sienna, Raw Umber and White Gouache.

59 thoughts on “Watercolour – Autumn Mist

  1. Your painting is so delicate and airy! I am so glad that you did share it. I understand exactly what you mean, art is very personal and it is a vulnerability in showing it. I applaud you and look forward to seeing more of “you”! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Margaret I’ve just been looking at your beautiful art and I want to thank you for your very kind comment and encouragement. It means a great deal πŸ™‚ Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I meant every word of it and I am looking forward to seeing more! Join me on my challenge if you want. I decided for the month of May to paint solely in watercolor. I work mainly with soft pastels and feel quite at home with them but watercolor is my first love. I am not as proficient with watercolors and I decided to take the bull by the horns and learn it to the point of feeling just as confident as I do with pastels. This has been a deal for me because I am very shy and hard on myself. For me to post my watercolor paintings is very humbling but I am determined! So very happy to meet you and thank you for the follow! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes I could tell you meant it and I appreciate it.
        I shall be painting along, but no challenges this time ’round as a few things have cropped up this month.
        Perhaps I shall join you again sometime though.
        Oils are my preferred pastel medium (again it’s been a while) and I think your art and soft pastel paintings are wonderful.
        I like your determination and I will enjoy following along watching and sharing your art journey.
        Thanks again Margaret πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad you dared to share your watercolour. It is very gentle and you have created a lovely mood. I love seeing other aspects of your creativity. I too have dabbled with watercolours for botanical work. So difficult! I come and go with it, which is probably not the way to improve technique, but you have to feel right, slow yourself down and surrender with watercolours… not what I am able to do right now. I hope you will share more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know Chris – that is so right. Surrendering, having some time, slowing down – although I must confess to doing bits and pieces as that’s how I can do it these days and with watercolour, I can do just that. Come and go.
      We seem to share a lot in common, you and I – quilting (mostly past tense for me now), painting, photography πŸ˜€
      Botanical art is beautiful. I hope you find your way back to it one day – when you are able.
      I really appreciate your comment xx πŸ˜€ Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Enchanting. Captivating.
    Robyn, I can’t take my eyes off the sky and trees as they vanish …. into the mists. You have not lost your touch. There is great sensitivity to your painting. I look forward to seeing more, and thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this light and airy painting, lovely ‘feel’ to it! Sadly, I can’t paint….lovely to see you back witH your brushes – thanks for sharing this, Robyn πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Robyn this is beautiful, serene and such a personal work. Thank you for sharing it with us and I hope you will post more and not be afraid to do so. I never could work with a paintbrush (I can paint walls and houses though) that aspect of creativity eludes me which is why I love seeing other peoples wonderful works. Keep it up please Robyn.

    Like

    1. Hi Lee – as always, thanks for your kind words and encouragement πŸ™‚ It is appreciated.
      I’m so glad you like it and you are so right – it is personal. It’s good to be getting back to it!
      Somebody needs to paint walls – lol – I avoid that wherever I can (it doesn’t work πŸ˜‰ )

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I could stare at this picture for hours. It has a very calm feel to it! Thank you for sharing 😊

    Like

  7. This is a great watercolor artwork!
    The misty mood and autumn colors – you have painted this perfectly – I love this painting.

    Like

  8. Beautiful job, Robyn. I love your statement “I’m still learning and I think I’ll always feel that way”. I feel that way every day of my life. I think that’s why I’m so excited to wake up and jump out of bed each morning. Keep showing us what you learn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Emilio πŸ˜€ I love learning!! I’m glad you like my painting and I love your upbeat comment, enthusiasm and outlook. Awesome!

      Like

  9. Your happiness at painting again comes shining off the screen. Don’t put down those brushes as they are happy to be back in your hands. Looking forward to what’s to come. If Autumn Mist is just the beginning we are in for a treat. Best wishes Robyn πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is such a lovely and thoughtful comment to start my Sunday Andrew.. My many thanks πŸ˜€
      I know you share my passion for painting and your comment means a lot! It is good to be getting back to it again.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.