One Four Challenge 2016 – May week 2

Here we are in week two and it’s good to see the One Four posts appearing in the Reader again for May.. and in the group πŸ™‚ Welcome to the second week of the One Four Challenge!

Have you found an image to work with yet?Β  I do hope so.. be sure to visit around the blogs too, or in the Reader to see other’s chosen images for the month.

All are welcome to join us throughout May πŸ˜€

The challenge is running on the blog for Feb, May, Aug and Nov this year… We’ll meet quarterly on the blogs and in the Flickr group all year.

The 2016 One Four badge..
The 2016 One Four badge..

How it works: You can read all about it by clicking on the One Four Challenge page in the menu above or click here

Please do what suits you best and join in however and whenever you can.

Tags: Our tags for this year, wherever you post are #onefourchallenge and #onefour2016

 

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks OR taking 4 versions of an image at the time of shooting (eg. different settings, lens etc.).. and sharing them over the 4 weeks.
  • We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.Β Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.
  • Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Links to my blog are welcome.

My Image:

This month I’ve chosen an image that was a ‘split second’ image and this week I wanted to take a closer look.

I knew I had the detail to go closer, so I decided to crop and in doing so, I’ve taken away just over half of the image. I had to be sure, but I think it works.

Gerbera preset and crop..
Gerbera LR preset and crop..

For this week I worked between LR and PS – starting with my LR preset, ‘Gerbera’ and a crop.

Using ‘Gerbera’ introduced some grey/black tones that I didn’t like, but it did introduce the sugary pinks and greens that I did like. So I did some dodging and burning and used a levels adjustment to make the image lighter (with more depth) and more to my liking. I like the way this lightened the ant and gave him more definition.

This week I also used Analog Efex by Nik to bring up the detail.. I like the way this works and the control it gives me.

Note: Did you know that Nik by Google is now available for free? There’s a link on my sidebar…(edit: and here is a video to show you how to access Nik.)Β 

You might also be interested in my first free Lightroom Presets – see this post.

So that’s it for me this week. What do you think? Kind comments are welcome!

..and here’s the visual story so far..

Looking forward to seeing your next steps or your 2nd edition πŸ˜€

I should say too – I’m going to be scarce for the first half of the week, so I’ll approve comments and reply as soon as I can. Have a great one!

Robyn xx

26 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – May week 2

  1. I like the crop, it really focusses on the important parts of the image and I like how you can see the tiny dewdrops of moisture in more detail.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Stacey πŸ™‚
      For me the image is all about the little ant having his morning beverage in the morning light – I was glad to have the detail to get up close.

      Like

Leave a Reply

