One Four Challenge 2016 – August Week 1

Hello everyone! The One Four Challenge is back for August… and all are welcome to jump on in and join us.

Welcome back πŸ˜€

The challenge is hosted here on the blog throughout the year in Feb, May, Aug and Nov and… in the Flickr group all year.

The 2016 One Four badge..
The 2016 One Four badge..

How it works: You can read all about it by clicking on the One Four Challenge page in the menu above or click here

Please do what suits you best and join in however and whenever you can.

Tags: Our tags for this year, wherever you post are #onefourchallenge and #onefour2016

 

About the challenge and how it works:

  • This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks OR taking 4 versions of an image at the time of shooting (eg. different settings, lens etc.).. and sharing them over the 4 weeks.
  • We will allΒ  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.Β Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.
  • Try new things, experiment.Β  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be. All skill levels are welcome.
  • Links to my blog are welcome.

My Image:

This time around I’m using an image that I took back in January this year.Β  The image kind of intrigues me, but the result wasn’t ‘too’ fabulous as I was asking a zoom lens to do what I usually do with a macro lens. Can’t help myself – I love seeing a closer view.

I do like those rich colours, the chillies themselves and the shadows. Hopefully I can find a pleasing edition (or more) working through these next 4 weeks.

To start – here is the original image..

Chillis on Cloth_RobynGosby 2016

..and then my first edition..

Chillis on Cloth_Wk1_RobynGosby 2016

I made some adjustments this week using Lightroom. Just some subtle changes (I think).

I lifted the exposure slightly, adjusted shadows, highlights and curves.Β  Added a touch of clarity, a vignette and reduced the saturation very slightly too.

That’s it for my first week in August. Your kind thoughts and comments are welcome πŸ˜€

Your image:

I’m really looking forward to seeing your images for the week and your choices for August too.

Be sure to pop around the blogs and even onto Flickr if you like, to see what others are doing and to share an encouraging word or two πŸ˜€

I know you’ll be inspired. We see some amazing creations in this challenge.

Well that’s it – the ball is now rolling for August. Have a great week everyone!!

Robyn xx

23 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – August Week 1

  1. Hi Robyn – thought I would let you know that I won’t take part in the challenge this month. I am flying back to France at the end of this week to be with my dad for 3 weeks. So I will focus on family matters. All the best though -hope you get lots of participants on WP.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi πŸ˜ƒ Really like your chosen image and glad you like the chillies! Wasn’t sure what to work on this month. Will see where it takes me πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  2. I love chiles – photographing them and eating them – I saw this image and immediately went downstairs and whipped up some salsa. Your photos are always so interesting to start with and when I think ‘whatever can Robyn do to make them better?’ you come up with something that works it up a notch. The changes are subtle but those chiles just glow after your edit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thanks Eliza – your generous comment made me smile. I’m glad you think I manage to bring them up a notch (sometimes it takes time to figure it out) and am also glad you think my subtle edits worked here. It needed to be ‘lifted’ and given some life πŸ˜ƒ
      Hope you enjoyed your salsa!! Funny how some things can really motivate us.

      Like

    1. The background are freshly picked Spanish onions, covered in a fair bit of dirt. A gift from my neighbour last summer. These were all sitting outside, drying out after some rain.
      Backgrounds can be tricky. Here’s a couple of thoughts for you regarding subtlety… You may have tried this already. You could..
      – Try a larger f stop/aperture (lower number – eg 5.6) to bring focus to only part of your image.
      – If you can’t control your aperture, try adding in your own bokeh/blur in the editing.
      The latter will work better with some images than others. Have fun πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

      Like

    1. Thanks Cybele – so happy you like it!
      Wishing you all the best with the move. Am out of touch, so hope you found a place by the lake xx
      The next round will be in November πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.