September ’16 – Behind the scenes…

Hello and welcome to another Behind the Scenes post from me.

This first month of Spring on the tablelands has been very cold, rainy, blustery and grey – thankfully with a few gorgeous sunny days dotted in between.ย  On those sunny days (or when the sun shows itself), we see the beautiful long shadows…

Before sunset Panorama
Before sunset Panorama

..and the glorious light that I love so much about this place!

Blossoms on show at sunset
Blossoms on show at sunset

The Spring blossoms – ..are gorgeous and I so enjoy watching the stages of blossoming and being close to nature, especially when they are such brightness on a grey day. It always feels like such a privilege.

The Changing Seasons – I’m still in the countryside. For Max’s Changing Seasons I had been photographing one tree throughout the year – but that came to an abrupt halt when I needed to be on the farm for calving in June. So I began looking at another tree – the same type, just in a different place. There is nothing marvelous about this tree (here). It finds it hard in the cold climate…

Here ’tis anyway… the tree’s point of view and a closer look at the bark for this month.

Still LifeI’ve been continuing my Still Life studies and experiments. It’s been so good to have something to focus on (photographically) when it’s so ‘yuk’ outside.

I must say I really have to think about this – I’m used to natural settings but not really creating my own – so… it’s great having the challenge and as usual, I love the light.. and finding it!

Just a few randoms.. and there are plenty that don’t make it ๐Ÿ˜‰

InstagramStill enjoying Instagram – I can honestly say – I didn’t know I would.ย  It seems to be a condensed and abbreviated version of blogging.. Once again you’ll find me over there as @robynwashere ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly for this month’s behind the scenes – just a little find that I think is amazing!ย  A very tiny weed on the side of my driveway. I had to get the macro lens to ‘see’ it.ย  The flowers are only about 3 – 4mm (maybe 2/8 of an inch?) across.. Once again it was very windy day, but here’s what I found by looking closer… Even beauty in the weeds.

Well, it’s now October..

If you’re like me and the grey and cold weather is not your favourite time of year – try finding what is right in front of you – again, like me you might be surprised ๐Ÿ™‚

So… have a great one, wherever you are!

15 thoughts on “September ’16 – Behind the scenes…

  1. Hi Robyn, Appreciate the reminder to find indoor projects for the ยดyuk’ days! Mine is a photobook of my best bird images… enjoying going through my photos and playing with layouts. Love your weeds… very delicate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So good to have something on those days when we don’t ‘have’ to do anything.
      I love your bird images Chris – and it is fun to try different things.
      Thanks heaps ๐Ÿ˜€ The weeds are so teeny.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks heaps Julz – Instagram is fun! I forget about Flickr now and then.. he he Terrible ๐Ÿ˜›
      The Still Life is enjoyable and challenging.. and it is great seeing all the different approaches.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you mentioned giving yourself little ‘assignments’ (still lifes while the outdoors is not so nice)… I really need to do that too! Also, I love the light and delicacy of the flower and tree photos.

    Like

    1. Barbara, thank you for your lovely comment ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes it is good to have challenges and assignments / tasks, to work towards.
      I’ve just started a new challenge today – you’re most welcome to join if you think it suits.

      Like

    1. Thank you Max ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I’m delighted that you enjoyed the gallery and especially those two.
      I know what I like seeing in nature, but am still working on still life… so again thanks ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      Like

Leave a Reply

