The ‘Seeing Differently’ challenge for October

I’m issuing a challenge for October – to myself and to you too – if you’d like to join me – to find 15 images within our own circumstances (whatever they are).. only for October. All are welcome!

seeing-differently-button_robyngosby-201615 images that interest or inspire us – to get us to look at everything – and to look in a different way than we ever have before… or to stop and take notice when something catches our eye.

Look at ordinary things – look at objects, people or animals, reflections, movement – watch the light and shadow – look at textures (on a tree or a wall or textiles?) – look at organic and man made – look closely and look far away. In focus or not in focus.. Moody or a lighter feel (try different exposures and aperture too). Experiment. Find what appeals to you. It is very different for everybody.

..and don’t feel that it has to be a special way of doing things – just try different things!

autumn-leaf-and-bark-still-life_robyngosby-2016
Simply an old Autumn leaf and a piece of bark, on a shelf in the morning light. I love collecting these things of nature!

Try to see things differently and see what we can find. Set up a Still Life, especially if you never have before and try shooting near a window, even on a dark grey day. Pick up a leaf – you might be amazed. Check out a spider web or a car headlight..

Try shooting in portrait and landscape ratios.

Use what you have – phone, camera, tablet.. however you shoot.

I’m issuing this challenge because I’ve noticed there are people feeling like me.Β  Perhaps a bit uninspired by the weather (me) or their circumstances… or even the Season.

It’s good to see differently and to try different things… It really doesn’t matter if it’s a dismal failure – at least we’ve tried something different or new and this may lead us to seeing differently the next time… or we might make a great discovery of a different style we quite enjoy.Β  This is what I find anyway.

Try different things with processing the image too!

So, because I’ve even been a bit unmotivated with blogging lately (not much to talk about.. and now 2 posts in 1 day!), I’m going to see if I can find 15 images this October for this challenge – there are no limitations as long as it is interesting (to me) and a bit of a discovery – whatever that means.. πŸ˜‰

If you do join me – Tag with: #seedifferently2016Β  so we can find you..

..and share it on your Blog or Instagram, Facebook, Flickr? – this way we can check out your posts.Β  Link up to my post too, so we can find you.

If you’re interested and you know someone else who might be too, please share this post.

I hope we can inspire each other to see differently throughout October.

Here are a few images that were seeing differently for me – ordinary, everyday things, because those are my circumstances.

Take a photo even on a windy or rainy day!

Anyone is welcome to join me and if you can’t I hope you might be inspired to try something new!

I hope to make some discoveries – even if just finding some beautiful light. That’s the best discovery!

So, I’m off to find my first image of 15 for October πŸ˜€

 

106 thoughts on “The ‘Seeing Differently’ challenge for October

  1. Great idea Robyn, I’ll join you πŸ™‚ Love the water tank and the gate with the shadows. We haven’t had the grey weather you seem to be experiencing but beautiful sunny warm days, harbinger to a hot summer perhaps!

    Like

    1. Hello Lee – it’s been ages.. I’ve been terrible at getting around these days.
      So glad you’ll join me – yes grey grey grey!… and cold! Enjoy those gorgeous days.
      Look forward to seeing your discoveries too πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. How did you know…I’ll try to participate. I’ve been “seeing differently” lately but have been a bit shy to share. This is great motivation for that. Love those images Robyn especially that black and white shadow of a fence. All emotional and touching, thanks for sharing and inspiring!

    Like

  3. What a wonderful idea..my blogging has hit an all time low..loss of a pup another dying has really hit me..so naturally i have been putting my camera aside as i felt i could not do it justice..but have had reflective moments and then found something different in my surrounds to shoot..will give it a try πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Pingback: See Differently |
    1. Awesome to hear that you are inspired.. Fantastic Jules.. and I have to tell you, I always enjoy your photography πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ
      It’s always good to try something new though! Have lots of fun.. and thank you x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great idea Robyn. One of the ways we cultivate the art of ‘Seeing’ or mastering the ability to See (as some call it) is by setting ourselves challenges. Before I read this (I am rather behind this week) I had an interesting two day pottering about slowly, finding an unusual image or two. Some time this month I’ll put them in a gallery for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Andy I’m so glad you’re going to join me in this little adventure. Welcome!
      When I was learning B&W film photography – my teacher used to encourage us all the time to ‘observe’, so it’s like going back and I wholeheartedly agree πŸ˜€
      Will definitely look forward to your images and I must pop by to say hi very soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

