Seeing Differently Challenge – 4 and 5 of 15

Today I’m sharing my 4th and 5th images of this challenge.

Yesterday I was experimenting with Still Life for a course I am doing with Kim Klassen.. and I wondered if I could find something that I thought fit ‘seeing differently’.

I chose these two images below, because a few ideas popped out at me.

Image 4 of 15

seeing-differently-4_robyngosby-2016

Image 5 of 15

seeing-differently-5_robyngosby-2016

The ideas:

  1. Illuminating your subject
  2. Choosing your focal point
  3. Shooting at eye level (approx).

My thoughts:

Illuminating your subject really draws the eye right to it – then you begin exploring the rest of the image.. Try using the light if appropriate to experiment with ways of doing this, within your composition.

Choose your focal point – instead of letting the camera do it. You might choose an unlikely focal point. Experiment with different focal points within your image. Debi gives some thoughts on this alsoΒ  πŸ™‚

Shooting at eye level, ground level or top down – these are different ways of viewing your subject and give very different results. Brenda has a wonderful post today about shooting from a toddler’s view.

As I said, just a few thoughts. I hope they give you something to ponder and / or to try for yourself.

If the challenge (idea) appeals to you, please jump in. You are welcome πŸ™‚ We will be exploring throughout October.

Tag with #seedifferently2016 so we can find your post.

To read about this challenge for October – see details here

12 thoughts on “Seeing Differently Challenge – 4 and 5 of 15

  1. Love what you’ve done for today Robyn. Especially the second one. Yes I’m going to join in the fun πŸ™‚ but instead of a daily post I always intended to do a gallery of all fifteen at once. Hope that’s allowable?
    BTW my looking differently is to “look up” I spend so much time looking where I put my feet (so I don’t fall over) I thought it was time to stop and “look up”.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you Lee – I’m finding this fun and challenging and great to be back observing on purpose πŸ™‚
      So glad you’re joining in!!! Post whenever you like – there are no limitations – just whatever suits.
      Looking forward to them. I love looking up too πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

