Australian Native Plant Study

This past few days I’ve been setting aside some time to take a closer look at some of our wonderful Australian Native flowers and foliage…

au-native-flower-study-1_robyngosby-2016These are not my own subjects, but a few stems purchased from a florist in town.

Taking a closer view always surprises me, especially with our Native flowers and foliage – they are so intriguing.

I got so excited about seeing the different shapes and textures, that I don’t even know what the lovely purple head is named.Β  I must find out. There are only 3 stems in this bunch including the purple heads. The others are Blue Gum and Banksia (not their botanical or official names).

Here’s what I found in my first study.. hover on the images for descriptions.. and click for larger views.

Banksia
Banksia

Seeing the curious shapes and textures reminded me of the fantastic and sometimes unusual work of Artist Margaret Preston.

The painting below is one of my favourite artworks by Margaret.

Margaret Rose Preston (29 April 1875 – 28 May 1963) was an Australian painter and print maker who is regarded as one of Australia’s leading modernists of the early 20th century.

source: Wikipedia

Western Australian Gum Blossom by Margaret Preston 1928
Western Australian Gum Blossom by Margaret Preston 1928 – image property of Art Gallery NSW

‘Western Australian gum blossom’ is one of a group of paintings by Margaret Preston from the late 1920s, remarkable for their simplicity of design and restrained use of colour.

source: Art Gallery of NSW

I chose to de-saturate the colours in this study. It seemed to let the subject shine through with their unusual viewpoints, instead of being overwhelmed by the richness and sweetness of colour.

I hope to take another look at these fantastic subjects very soon.

Reminder: The last One Four Challenge for 2016 begins on the 7th November – I hope you’ll join me πŸ˜€

 

31 thoughts on “Australian Native Plant Study

  1. So lovely, Robyn. I love each one for different reasons and especially enjoy the careful consideration of art mixed with details. Gorgeous textures and unique subjects. A wonderful closer look!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so miss not going to my fav gallery, the NSWAG – so thank you for showing us a glimpse of the wonderful Margaret Preston!
    I find with each viewing of your work, more to see and wonder at. Your work has a soft beautiful grace, that always seems to Invite… the viewer in gently.
    These, are no exception. Beautiful. Once Again. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I don’t get to the AG NSW very often at the moment either Debi, so I can understand your withdrawal πŸ˜€ It is such an inspiring place! My SIL and I try to go at least once a year or more often when possible.
      I missed the Archibald this year, which is a shame as I always enjoy it immensely.
      I love Margaret Preston’s work and these natives reminded me very quickly of her work. Next year there is an exhibition at the AG NSW featuring Margaret Preston, Grace Cossington Smith and Georgia O’Keefe. I’d really like to see that one!
      Your thoughtful comments and support are always so appreciated and I’m so glad you find something in my work that appeals to you. Thanks so much! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.