creating Still life.. with white perspex..

A while ago, I purchased some white perspex as a backboard for my watercolour painting…

(after writing:  Apparently I had a lot to say here, so please grab a cuppa if you’re interested in reading on… and.. thank you for reading)

I haven’t used it once for painting that I can remember – I seem to be doing more dabbling, than painting presently – but I have been using it as a background for photographing some natural light, (mostly) high key images..

macaroon4_robyngosby-2016These past weeks have been busy with work, which hasn’t left a lot of time for creating, so my images are ones that I can shoot (once again) within my own space… and with the time that I have available to me.

I thought I’d share a a little bit about the process of shooting and editing – perhaps you might be inspired to try something too.

macaroon1_robyngosby-2016The Macaroons – we artists / photographers see the world differently and can find so much potential in simple things..

On the way home from town one day, my husband and I decided to stop and grab a coffee.. When I was placing our order, I spied these gorgeous colours and decided right then that I needed some… to photograph. They were calling me with their circular shape and soft pretty colours.

I’ve been doing some experimenting with the white perspex and macaroons and enjoying the simplicity.

The perspex: measures approximately 60cm x 45cm (24in x 17.5in), but any size would suit.

My situation: for these exercises I am using the end of my dining room table. It sits in front of a North facing window and gives me beautiful light most of the day (and presently, no direct sunlight). the dining room also has sheer white curtains which I find filters/softens and brightens the light.

The light: the light I am using is natural light from the window (with the sheer curtains) and the dining room light overhead which simply fills the shadows a bit. I am shooting towards the light.

Settings and lens: my settings are ISO 160 (with tripod and remote), F-stop of 5.6 – 3.2 ..and shutter speed to suit me. The lens I am using is my favourite 60mm as it gets in close to fill the frame. Again, you could choose any lens and settings to suit you.

The combination of the backing light, sheers and white perspex, create a shadow in the foreground, which I like.

Composition: I tried different compositions..

Editing: my editing was done in Lightroom..

Exposure: For most of these images I adjusted the exposure, either up or down – depending on what the image needed. The light was constantly changing.

I did try ‘Matching the total exposures’ (see Settings – Match Total Exposures), but it darkened all of the images too much, so I probably selected an image (to match) that was too dark to start with.

Clarity and Contrast:  Most of the images have been adjusted using the Clarity and Contrast sliders. Mostly the contrast is down.  The Clarity was dependent upon the image.

The Gradient tool:  This has got to be my favourite tool in Lightroom presently. It can do so much. You can create a gradient and choose part of the image to adjust – a lot like the Adjustment brush I guess – used similarly in some instances and very different in others (my thoughts only).

examples – you can raise the exposure in a corner to emulate light, deepen or lift shadows, soften and much much more..

Colour: In all of these images, I chose to soften the colour… they were too rich for my liking. I de-saturated most to a level that was appealing to me.

I think that’s about it…

Note: These are my thoughts only and not absolute ways of doing things.. I hope an idea might create a spark and that you’ll have fun trying new things too… or perhaps revisiting old things.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Robyn xx

9 thoughts on “creating Still life.. with white perspex..

  1. Oh, beautiful images, Robyn! White Perspex, what an idea….I like to use natural light, and have an off-white blind which is great for high key backlit shots in bright sunlight, and I use a white tablecloth as the base. And sometimes a white backdrop when using sidelight ….

    Like

  2. Robyn this is so good!
    First, your photographs are wonderful..light and soft and so delicious 🙂 Next, thank you so much for sharing the tips and the steps. White perspex… gosh, why didn’t I think of that ?! loll super good post and one I’m going to come back to a few times, until the info sinks, in.
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh the bottle in the bo sounds so pretty! Doesn’t the white add to the light?!! Any pics?
      Glad I’ve given you food for thought 😀
      The perspex was just from Bunnings or the Hardware store… Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

